We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but don't eat in hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but don't eat in hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Hotels good and we went back for second time. My only criticism is that they do rip you off with added expenses. My advice is don't eat in the hotel, breakfast and lunch are very expensive especially when you ave so many places just a stones throw away.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Moshe613London,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience with the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. We value your feedback and would like to address your individual concerns.

Overall, with regards to our pricing, we are competitive to hotels of our caliber in both Miami and Miami Beach. We are constantly checking to make sure our competition is not outdoing us in both service and overall pricing.

You mentioned that dining within the hotel was expensive, especially when you have so many places nearby to choose from. While you are right that there are many options to choose from in Miami Beach, we here at Loews pride ourselves in providing a full-service atmosphere so that our guests do not have to leave the premises to enjoy a delicious meal, but instead can order from the comfort of their room or head down to one of our various Food and Beverage outlets throughout the hotel. We have a wide variety of menu items so that our guests don’t have to go out searching for the closest locally inspired Seafood restaurant, but can enjoy the exquisite taste of our Ceviche Sampler in our relaxing Hemisphere Lounge while listening to live nightly entertainment, or indulge themselves in Japanese decadence with a perfectly delivered Ocean Drive roll from our famous Sushi SOBE. Whatever your desire, Loews Miami Beach has it!

Again, we appreciate your feedback. It is your feedback that helps us to address the praises, the concerns, and the issues to better your individual needs. If we can be of assistance in the future, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,073
    374
    137
    138
See reviews for
1,007
955
77
581
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I needed a quick get away during the hectic holidays. Spoke with Magellan travel and told them I wanted to be right between Lincoln road and South beach and they put us in Loews. I never had to touch my car again. Perfect walking distance to everything. The hotel is spotless, high end and attentive service. The pool is spectacular and right on the beach. I even recommend the sushi in the lobby, high end and creative. For a down side they charge for everything. Almost forty dollars a night for parking (cheapest in the area is twenty) and cabanas by the pool. It is a little corporate and there were a lot of kids, but hey it was Christmas. Overall an amazing stay and Loews was the foundation of a perfect trip

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is indeed a very beautiful hotel and has no faults what so ever. The staff are very helpful people. There is a downside to the hotel though, it is very good but very expensive and they charge you for everything , beach towels , gym, internet in rooms (in the loby was free) and so on. Dont get me wrong we payed for these as you only pay for the best at Lowes. Im just saying it is expensive.And also you have this lovely hotel here and around it does not look safe but this is not their fault. In conclusion we love Lowes!!!! And we will definitely come back!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors like 17 and 18 have AMAZING VIEWS
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Only thing I disliked was the price gouging. $250/night a month ago. $800/night now, over Christmas break. $36 for parking. $15/ Internet. But the Service is excellent. Waiters and waitstaff are all extremely well-trained and will do anything to accommodate. They wanted $800 for private Cababas by the pool. Was $200 30 days ago. Pool was crowded. Lots of kids. Wife mentioned that it'd be better if there were less kids. We need to come back in May or Oct. Not so crowded, better priced and warmer! But still the best place at SoBe. Rooms were very clean and roomy. Food by the pool was as good as anywhere I've been. Wife said they charged for beach chairs. $18/day

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel. it is a great location just steps to the beach and has a good pool too. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were all helpful. I guess due to its location, everything was expensive, so don't expect any bargains. However I would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel and property. Got a great deal on room from Expedia. Was disappointed to see it was hard to get a chair at the pool. We were on the lawn facing a wall. Beach was beautiful. Costs $10/chair and $18 an umbrella at the beach per day. Gym also costs $10

Would rather pay a little more for the room and have that stuff included

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My mom wanted to have a nice birthday weekend near home , so we decided why not stay at Lowes , after paying more than $1000 for the weekend , I can say I would've rather stayed elsewhere.. We ordered room service for breakfast lunch and dinner for two days.. My mom's chicken was raw , we let room service know and asked if we could take it back to cook , to wait another two hours .. My mom's appetite was already lost.. The sushi and breakfast was ok. Overall the location , yes you are next to the beach and the staff is nice and if you have a dog they give you treats and even have their own room service menu :) , but the rooms are normal the view is ok , and the food is not the best... Not worth what you pay for ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.