We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but lots of little costs every way you turn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #34 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but lots of little costs every way you turn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel and property. Got a great deal on room from Expedia. Was disappointed to see it was hard to get a chair at the pool. We were on the lawn facing a wall. Beach was beautiful. Costs $10/chair and $18 an umbrella at the beach per day. Gym also costs $10

Would rather pay a little more for the room and have that stuff included

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    1,071
    374
    137
    138
See reviews for
1,006
955
77
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My mom wanted to have a nice birthday weekend near home , so we decided why not stay at Lowes , after paying more than $1000 for the weekend , I can say I would've rather stayed elsewhere.. We ordered room service for breakfast lunch and dinner for two days.. My mom's chicken was raw , we let room service know and asked if we could take it back to cook , to wait another two hours .. My mom's appetite was already lost.. The sushi and breakfast was ok. Overall the location , yes you are next to the beach and the staff is nice and if you have a dog they give you treats and even have their own room service menu :) , but the rooms are normal the view is ok , and the food is not the best... Not worth what you pay for ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in December 2012. The service staff in this hotel are over and above any I have ever encountered during my travels. From the doorman, the front desk, pool staff, waiters, even security staff.... everyone was so friendly, helpful, generous and pleasant. They all went out of their way to make our stay extra-special. Many times I was even addressed by name! I was so impressed that they took the time to try remember a guests' name!
We had a couple minor room issues (mold on the shower curtain, damp comforter on the bed), but they were corrected immediately and the staff apologized profusely. They even took the time to call the room later to ensure the issues were taken care of adequately.
The pools are open 24hrs a day - which is a great bonus. To come back after a long, late dinner and be able to relax in the hot tub.
This was my 5th visit to South Beach, and I can say for sure that I will not stay anywhere else next time I am in town. Only Loews Miami Beach for me. It is was really that amazing.

Room Tip: Ocean view with a balcony was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsMiamiBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear JohnandEmily_10,

Thank you for your recent visit and for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are delighted to hear that you will be joining the Loews Miami Beach family as a repeat guest in the future.

The caliber of our staff and the quality of service they provide to our guests is incredible indeed. It is our priority to exceed any and all guest expectations by delivering exceptional service, and we are glad that you had the chance to experience the genuine Loews hospitality.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it was a great place for kids! The pool was great, food was excellent. The hotel is on south beach with a long boardwalk to walk/ run on. As with anything Miami everything is expensive but I did feel we received a good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a few days on work trip in Oct 2012. Pool and service around it are great. Beach access is perfect and the rooms are big and clean. Steps away from Lincoln Road. Would come back for a longer, relaxing visit if I could.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I traveled with a bunch of my friends and we were lucky enough to stay in this hotel. All the staff knew our names and were eager to help us with anything. The doorman was exceptionally knowledgeable on things to do and was a great source of information for us. Anything he didn't know, he took the time to discuss and confirm with others.

The hotel is incredibly well-maintained and grounds manicured. The pools are no exception. The only issue I have is actually with GUESTS. Please, DO NOT bathe your child in the pool. A man was changing his infant daughter's diaper, and took her (stark naked) into the pool and visibly began washing her private areas. Grotesque.

The room was clean but small. I am used to sharing a Queen-sized bed with someone else but these beds were smaller, probably full-size, not queen. We had a great view of the city and the beach. This hotel is truly oceanfront and really well-located.

Highly recommend this hotel to all sorts of travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Loews Miami Beach is in a great section and rooms overlook the beach. I was staying in the 2nd building, which clearly is a bit older and in need of a refresh.

My biggest complaint, though, was about the WiFi.

I was at the hotel on business (for a conference). I had a free hour, so thought that I'd grab a little pool time. The pool WiFi was unusable and that location seemed to get no signal from either AT&T or Verizon, so to access my email I had to leave the pool and return to my room. When I asked the staff around the pool, they just nodded, saying "yeah, the wifi's no good here". To me, that's simply unacceptable. WiFi was also a challenge in and around the meeting rooms.

Overall, the staff and service were great and this could be a great hotel. But the rooms need a refresh (at least in the 2nd building) and a very modest investment could solve the WiFi issues. Until that's done, I won't return.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.