We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Food
Ranked #37 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“what fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This well maintained hotel has it all. The location near Ocean Drive is near a lot of the fun restaurants without having to put up with party noise all night long. There is a gorgeous pool and nearby access to the beach. Security is attentive without being oppressive.

Room Tip: better value facing west-you can still see water without the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,520
    938
    339
    131
    126
See reviews for
870
824
70
472
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here on business the first time and found the hotel and resort to be simply excellent. My wife accompanied me for the secound time and i was able to enjoy South Beach and Miami so much more. This is a world class experience. The grounds and facilities are almost bey9und words. If you come to Miami and seek a fine extablishment, this is it. You will not be disappointed. Their restaurant is Emmeril's ......it's supurb.....drinks by the pool.....too much fun.....and you can walk on the beach in seconds.....

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Ocean. You can easily walk around South Beach from here to take in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a gorgeous hotel! And the staff here are amazing! Every single person who works here is so friendly and they go out of their way to do anything for you. Our room was very nice. We had a ocean view which I would highly recommend. Anything below that one isn't as nice. My only suggestion is for the rooms to all have a mini fridge. Only the highest price rooms have them or you can request one for $30 a night which is outrageous! All hotels have a mini fridge in the rooms, it's the standard. I would expect the same at loews and really suggest they change this. Especially since the room where the ice machine is smells like a dumpster, really badly! I almost threw up every single time I went to get ice.... I recommend you eat outside of the hotel for everything. It's extremely pricey for anything there. The pool is very nice. Very big pool and lots of chairs. Of course the beach is amazing! Loews has chairs, umbrellas, and cabanas you can rent. It's definitely worth it. We rented chairs every time and they are soooo comfortable! Worth the money. People walking around offering tanning oil, frozen fruits, and servers that you can order food from nautilius. Their food is amazing! Very expensive but taste so good. I recommend you request a room in the main tower and not the st mortiz. The st mortiz is the second building and it was not built with the original building but was an old hotel that loews but and remodeled.you can tell its older as its not as nice as the main tower. They tried to make it as nice but its not and the walls are very thin in the st mortiz. We were in the main tower and it was beautiful. You do have to pay for everything here, even wi fi and the gym. They ate $10 each per night and they have valet parking for $38 a day, take the walk and park your own car. The a garage on the corner of Collins and 13th and also 2 garages right across the street on 16th before you get to Washington ave. 2 of the garages are $20 a night and 1 is $16 a night. Definitely worth the small walk.

Room Tip: Main tower only, full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just got back from a weekend stay at the Loews. Overall, it was a fine hotel with very little negatives. The rooms were clean and the beds and bedding comfortable. I wish I could say the sleep was perfect, but the walls seemed very thin to me, unless it was just a noisy group of people coming in at 5:30 am. The location is perfect because it's directly on the ocean, and next to Lincoln Road and Ocean Blvd. A car is not necessary. The one drawback is the pool area. It gets very crowded so you need to get there early to get chairs. There is a small section that gets sun all day, otherwise it's mostly shaded because of the towering hotels nearby. If you want sun, your best bet is down on the beach. You need to pay extra for chairs on the beach but apparently all of the hotels do that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was the second time this year that I've stayed at the Loews, and probably the fifth time overall. Each time, I leave feeling very refreshed and appreciative of the oasis the property provides in the sea of energy that is South Beach. The property is close enough to everything, and we walked wherever we wanted to go.

One thing that stands out for me at the Loews is the quality and quantity of staff! South Beach in general is not known for over the top service, but at this hotel there is a noticeable focus on customer service. Be it the attentive pool staff or the presence of staff in the lobby, you are never left without someone to assist with any questions or directions.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Luxury King, had partial oceanview with a balcony, great view!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were originally booked in for 4 nights but checked out early because it was not in anyway relaxing being at this hotel.The main problem was the building work going on next door which we could hear whether we were in our room or by the pool.

The room itself was a good - nicely done with enough space to not feel cramped and it had a balcony albeit one that you could barely move on.

The pool on the other hand was a disappointment. The photos of it show the actual pool itself which is nice enough but what you don't see is that there are just rows and row of loungers with no space around them so you feel like you're in a battery farm. Really unpleasant and not somewhere to chill out. This was made worse by the staff who constantly kept coming round and asking if we wanted anything. I know some people wouldn't mind that as it would save them having to get up but honestly, one day we were asked 3 times in the space of an hour.

We considered going to the beach but when we heard it was about $50 for us to rent loungers, we soon changed our mind. Definitely not worth it.

The location is pretty good - on Collins which is just a few minutes from Ocean Drive. So, there are plenty of restaurants, bars & stores to chose from.

The hotel didn't offer free wi-fi which I thought was disgusting since 95% of Miami Beach has free outdoor wifi coverage and about 70% of the city has free indoor coverage up to the 2nd floor of a building. It's just an extra way to make money which didn't sit well with us.

Breakfast wasn't included but thankfully there's an Aroma Espresso Bar just outside which not only has great food but has free wifi.

I can't say the hotel was bad as such but it just wasn't our cup of tea and it's not a place we would want to revisit. It was just a huge glitzy hotel with no personality or charm.... and it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Perfectly acceptable resort, but nothing special and better value and service in other resorts nearby. As other reviewers say there is nothing wrong with this resort, but I left feeling underwhelmed again on my 2nd visit. When you compare you can get the Ritz Carlton next door for a similar price you begin to wonder how they get such high prices for a resort that delivers just about what you’d expect of a 4/5 star resort but doesn’t impress or over deliver in any way.

Rooms are nice enough with comfy beds and everything you’d expect. Facilities, again everything you’d expect – but not overwhelming. Everything just feels like they do ‘just enough’ but no more – unlike many hotels in South Beach / Miami Beach who really try hard to deliver in such a competitive area.

Service is again an area which is ‘just OK’. Everyone is friendly enough but no one seems to do anything more than they have to. Bell desk was appalling (and we had the same on first visit). 4 bellman literally watched us lift our heavy cases out of the car, in through the door and just when they didn’t have too far to go would offer to take it off us. I thought it was a one off but it happened on check in, and check out on 2 separate visits. Whilst waiting for a transfer on departure I had 10 minutes to watch them – and it seems they do exactly the same – watch people struggle then once the guest has done 90% of the work they swoop in to get the tip for the final 1 metre!

All in all a perfectly acceptable resort, but there is better value and better service nearby. The hotel isn’t a patch on the Ritz Carlton next door (yet a similar price) or the Fontainebleau further up the beach. It’ll be interesting to see how they go with more and more resorts being refurbished and brought up to a 5 star standard.

Room Tip: If you book the 'luxury king' category be careful as not all have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
City Center
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
Spa, Free inter...
Show More
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,359 reviews
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#2 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Pool, Sp...
Show More
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#4 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Quiet, Pool, Sp...
Show More
West Avenue
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#20 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
The James Royal Palm
The James Royal Palm
#43 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.