We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #34 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I just got back from a weekend stay at the Loews. Overall, it was a fine hotel with very little negatives. The rooms were clean and the beds and bedding comfortable. I wish I could say the sleep was perfect, but the walls seemed very thin to me, unless it was just a noisy group of people coming in at 5:30 am. The location is perfect because it's directly on the ocean, and next to Lincoln Road and Ocean Blvd. A car is not necessary. The one drawback is the pool area. It gets very crowded so you need to get there early to get chairs. There is a small section that gets sun all day, otherwise it's mostly shaded because of the towering hotels nearby. If you want sun, your best bet is down on the beach. You need to pay extra for chairs on the beach but apparently all of the hotels do that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    1,008
    353
    132
    130
See reviews for
957
887
72
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was the second time this year that I've stayed at the Loews, and probably the fifth time overall. Each time, I leave feeling very refreshed and appreciative of the oasis the property provides in the sea of energy that is South Beach. The property is close enough to everything, and we walked wherever we wanted to go.

One thing that stands out for me at the Loews is the quality and quantity of staff! South Beach in general is not known for over the top service, but at this hotel there is a noticeable focus on customer service. Be it the attentive pool staff or the presence of staff in the lobby, you are never left without someone to assist with any questions or directions.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Luxury King, had partial oceanview with a balcony, great view!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were originally booked in for 4 nights but checked out early because it was not in anyway relaxing being at this hotel.The main problem was the building work going on next door which we could hear whether we were in our room or by the pool.

The room itself was a good - nicely done with enough space to not feel cramped and it had a balcony albeit one that you could barely move on.

The pool on the other hand was a disappointment. The photos of it show the actual pool itself which is nice enough but what you don't see is that there are just rows and row of loungers with no space around them so you feel like you're in a battery farm. Really unpleasant and not somewhere to chill out. This was made worse by the staff who constantly kept coming round and asking if we wanted anything. I know some people wouldn't mind that as it would save them having to get up but honestly, one day we were asked 3 times in the space of an hour.

We considered going to the beach but when we heard it was about $50 for us to rent loungers, we soon changed our mind. Definitely not worth it.

The location is pretty good - on Collins which is just a few minutes from Ocean Drive. So, there are plenty of restaurants, bars & stores to chose from.

The hotel didn't offer free wi-fi which I thought was disgusting since 95% of Miami Beach has free outdoor wifi coverage and about 70% of the city has free indoor coverage up to the 2nd floor of a building. It's just an extra way to make money which didn't sit well with us.

Breakfast wasn't included but thankfully there's an Aroma Espresso Bar just outside which not only has great food but has free wifi.

I can't say the hotel was bad as such but it just wasn't our cup of tea and it's not a place we would want to revisit. It was just a huge glitzy hotel with no personality or charm.... and it was overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Perfectly acceptable resort, but nothing special and better value and service in other resorts nearby. As other reviewers say there is nothing wrong with this resort, but I left feeling underwhelmed again on my 2nd visit. When you compare you can get the Ritz Carlton next door for a similar price you begin to wonder how they get such high prices for a resort that delivers just about what you’d expect of a 4/5 star resort but doesn’t impress or over deliver in any way.

Rooms are nice enough with comfy beds and everything you’d expect. Facilities, again everything you’d expect – but not overwhelming. Everything just feels like they do ‘just enough’ but no more – unlike many hotels in South Beach / Miami Beach who really try hard to deliver in such a competitive area.

Service is again an area which is ‘just OK’. Everyone is friendly enough but no one seems to do anything more than they have to. Bell desk was appalling (and we had the same on first visit). 4 bellman literally watched us lift our heavy cases out of the car, in through the door and just when they didn’t have too far to go would offer to take it off us. I thought it was a one off but it happened on check in, and check out on 2 separate visits. Whilst waiting for a transfer on departure I had 10 minutes to watch them – and it seems they do exactly the same – watch people struggle then once the guest has done 90% of the work they swoop in to get the tip for the final 1 metre!

All in all a perfectly acceptable resort, but there is better value and better service nearby. The hotel isn’t a patch on the Ritz Carlton next door (yet a similar price) or the Fontainebleau further up the beach. It’ll be interesting to see how they go with more and more resorts being refurbished and brought up to a 5 star standard.

Room Tip: If you book the 'luxury king' category be careful as not all have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Stay for a Finance conference and everything was great. The rooms were clean, spacious. Beds are a little hard but manageable for the couple of days I stayed. The fitness facilities are modern and high quality. Service are very attentive and friendly. I will go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a nice experience overall, but there were small things that made this hotel a rating of 4 instead of 5. Everything just seemed very overpriced. We stayed mid-October and had a standard room on the 4th floor. We were told by the front desk clerk the floors are soundproof, so we wouldn't hear much (being on the lowest level of rooms, I believe). That was wrong. We heard the band over the weekend playing in the bar at night, and lots of noise (at night, too) coming from the conference rooms bleow (chairs, tables being moved). The cost of everything from rooms to incidentals seemed exorbitant. ($15 for internet in your room, $10 to use the gym, etc.)

Our room was clean, and when we requested towels from housekeeping, they were brought quickly. The pool is very nice, and the hotel is on the beach. Also, the hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance to Lincoln Road. One tip: some restaurants in South Beach add gratuity onto their bills, so read the receipt. For a wonderful, quick lunch, try La Sandwicherie.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in Loews twice on a trip to Florida in October. During both visits we experienced high quality reception and service that we would expect. The facilities were excellent, the pool great fun and relaxing and a great hit with our two year old daughter. However we were extremely disappointed with the room on our second visit where we stayed in the adjoining St Moritz tower. The bathroom door was only connected by a track at the top and swung freely outwards by a foot even from the draught of the front door closing banging back into the wall. With a two year this was very dangerous and could lead to serious injuries and wasn't of a standard we would expect from a high class hotel. After complaining we were forced to wait for an hour and had to complain several times to service staff, engineering and front desk to agree it wasn't safe and move us to another room. The second room also had the same design flaw and eventually we were found a room with a normal door. I really would urge Loews to review this as the door looks unfinished, cheap and is dangerous to young children.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building not the St Moritz tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.