We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of expenses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #36 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of expenses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose Loews to find out how the other-half lives...but we found ourselves reaching for our wallet, again and again. Everything is an extra charge; this is confounding when you consider the amount we paid per night. From the $6 bottles of water to the $24 comb (the brush was $240 in the lobby store, no exaggeration), staying at Loews is an expensive proposition. There is a charge to use a lounge chair on their section of the beach, and every time we wanted to use our rental car it was a 15 minute wait and a tip to the valet. No one informed my husband when he inquired that internet service was free -but only in the lobby- and he incurred a $14.95 charge for the day using the laptop in the room. Doormen rushing to open the doors did not make me feel privileged, or compensate for the constant cost of amenities.
The room was 2 double beds, not even queens for the price, and although the decor was pretty it was nothing special. In fact, the rooms appeared a bit on the small side compared with the other 2 hotels we stayed at during our sojourn through the Keys. The room, however, was very clean.
The best thing about the Loews was the fabulous location: access to the beach from the back of the hotel beyond the elaborate pool area, and close to Lincoln Mall and Ocean Drive. The staff appeared friendly with a particularly helpful concierge.
One note to the discerning traveler: we ate our first breakfast out of the hotel to avoid the hotel-outrageous prices, but wound up paying just as much at a restaurant on Ocean Drive. If only we had walked one more block, we would have come across a vast selection of lovely restaurants all competing for the tourist dollars with excellent breakfast specials.
As for staying at high-priced hotels again, we felt more vindicated with the bigger rooms and complimentary breakfasts at the moderately-priced hotels. Overall, this a very nice hotel if you don't mind the extra expenses.

Room Tip: Shell out for the balconies with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,598
    971
    348
    131
    129
See reviews for
928
861
72
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Eight of my girlfriends and I went to Miami in August for a bachelorette party and had a great experience at the Loews. We were originally booked at the Ritz a block away but upon our arrival we were informed that the rooms we booked were no longer available. After a quick panic, we walked next door to the Loews and were quickly confirmed (at a lower rate) and in beautiful rooms within the hour. After they found out we were celebrating they offered to send us champagne and snacks free of charge.
Unfortunately, that week Miami was in the path of hurricane Issac. But the Loews didn't blink an eye. They were ready with everything we needed and even turned a ballroom into a makeshift lounge since the weather was so crappy and people were stranded.
We still had a great time and the staff was very accommodating. The location was perfect for exploring Miami beach in foot and they helped make lemonade out of lemons!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews from tripadvisor. Besides a great location this hotel provides an excellent pool area and a super friendly and professional staff. Easy acces to the beach from the garden/pool area at the back of the hotel. Security on all the exits throughout the venue create a feeling of safety. The hotel provides all the necessary modern comfort. Spacious rooms, very nicely decorated and a big fully equiped bathroom. The parking service (in a nearby parking lot) works great 24/7. Ideal hotel from where one can easily acces the promenade on South Beach and the city center. Bars and restaurants in walking distance. We made two 3 week trips accross the USA, we had a great time in various locations and this hotel was one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good location. Good service. Compared to the Ritz Miami Beach - much better. The standard rooms aren't huge, but big enough. Access to the beach and Art Deco area is great. Very comfortable luxury hotel. BTW, try the fish tacos at the pool bar. They were great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel has a great location- middle of South Beach. It's walking distance to everything SoBE has to offer. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

The beach in the backyard is a great plus too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I was recently there for a conference for 3 nights/4 days. The lobby was really nice, great service when I checked in. Had a nice room with ocean view and balcony. I was happy my shower had a glass door (90% of hotels just have a shower curtain). The reason I gave this hotel a 5 star was the service. We had multiple functions, conference rooms and dinners/buffets there and the staff was always excellent, one of the friendliest teams of people I have ever met.

The pool area was fantastic, only disappointing thing was I never got to go in the pool or the beach as I was stuck at my conference. The hotel location is fantastic, it is built on the beach so you couldn't ask for a better place to be.

So for ratings, location 5/5, staff/service 5/5, food/room service 5/5, conference facilities 4/5 (expensive) and I would give the room 4/5. The room was large, and had a lot of amenities but showed a little wear and tear. Others have complained about the cost of internet but it was included in our rate so can't comment on that.

I am excited to go back for a vacation so I can actually enjoy the pool and beach. If I went to Miami again I would definitely stay here and not even bother looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved this hotel. The rooms are nice, beds are OK. The pool area and the beach are beautiful. I was impressed by the service as well. Sometimes at these bigger chains that get a lot of conferences, you don't see as good of service but that wasn't the case at all.

The only negative I can think of is the internet service. I paid $42 for three days of wireless, and it was very slow. I continue to be amazed at these hotels that don't include internet access in the rate, and feel like I'm getting nickel and dimed to death. If you are going to charge for it, it should work though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.