We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loews South Beach Miami - Expensive but loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #32 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
north jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loews South Beach Miami - Expensive but loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We just got back from the Loews South Beach. We were first there for 2 night (2/19 - 2/21), then returned early (from the Keys) for an additional night because we loved it and South Beach so much.

We had a Premier Double (2 double beds) room which has a small balcony and full ocean view. Just to point out, we did have full ocean view but there is a full rooftop with a nice design right in front/below us. If you want only ocean and beach view, I think the category you want is oceanfront. The room was fine. The staff was all so nice and attentive. One thing to note is that there is a 20% gratuity included in everything you do here which surprised us since we often wanted to give more because the great service but ended up not doing it since 20% is very high.

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's located on 16th Street and Collins Ave and in the heart of the Art Deco district. Entrance on Collins and back of the hotel is on the beach. Walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way which are all areas you should see when you're in South Beach. The nice shopping district on Collins Ave is further down by 5th ave which is walkable but a quick cab ride works too.

There is a fee for chairs and "tents" for the beach which is quite expensive ( $15 per hour or $100 per day) This is not part of the hotel but a separate service. Crazy prices. The hotel itself is not cheap but we felt that the service and location were "worth it"

We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had a great stay and apologize for any misunderstandings regarding fees. Loews Miami Beach Hotel, like most hotels/restaurants in the destination, does add an automatic service fee to all food and beverage purchases. We do also have a per day charge not a per hour charge for chair and umbrella rentals on the beach. Please contact us directly at miamicustomerservice@loewshotels.com for any questions or concerns regarding these charges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,863
    1,096
    383
    141
    139
See reviews for
1,029
977
80
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hotel is a great family oriented place to stay while on vacation. It's relaxing pool's & poolside, wonderful restaurants, entertainment, beautiful ocean view, wonderful staff and amenities is what a vacation should be. This is a very clean and well run hotel a block off Oceans Drive..fun-fun-fun! I have always been impressed with the beautiful layout, the staff/service, food and the way they pamper you at poolside. Awww, that's nice! I have been there several times and will always recommend this place. Thank you Loews...I will see you soon!

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators...may be able to hear them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I recently spent 5 days here and had an excellent experience. The experience was perfect, the staff was attentive and well trained. The rooms are are a good size (for South Beach) and due to excellent soundproofing you cannot hear your neighbors at all. Upscale, spotlessly clean, the grounds were perfect - this was my second trip to this hotel and I am looking forward to going again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
It makes us happy to hear you "Loved" your stay. Hopefully you are already planning your third visit soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longmeadow, ma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just got back from our trip to the Loews Miami Beach yesterday. We were there from 2/18-2/23. Overall I have to say that our stay at the Loews was excellent. The location of the hotel itself, in the heart of South Beach and steps away from all of the shopping and restaurants can't be topped. The hotel is also located right on the beach which makes it very easy for guests to go back and forth between the beach and the pool. There is a boardwalk (pretty wide brick walk) in between the pool and beach so that you can rollerblade, walk, or bike pretty safely. All of the employees went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable and had everything we needed. At our last night there we stopped at the hotel ice cream shop. My son wanted ice cream but my daughter only wanted a lemonade. One of the workers taking care of us said that they didn't carry lemonade but they had it at the bar and he would be right back. He came back right away with the lemonade and my daughter was very happy. We could have easily gone to the bar ourselves, but their whole point there is to make their guests have as nice of a time as possible without the guests having to do much of anything.

The food was pretty good (we only ate lunch and dinner there) and there was enough of a variety on the menu so that there was something that pleased everybody. The menu is available by the pool and at the beach until 5:30 every day and they will take your order and bring your food right to you. That was a nice touch. There were also plenty of sand toys (pails, shovels, etc.) right on the beach so kids could grab what they needed and have plenty of fun building sand castles.

Other nice touches that you would expect, but were great and made you feel like you were on a vacation--Somebody was always there to open the door to the hotel lobby when you approached. We asked for extra towels one night and we got them, and the housekeeper who took care of us remembered we liked that and had them for us for the rest of our stay without us having to ask again. A New York Times was waiting outside our door every morning and the Miami Herald was available in the lobby and by the pool. There were games by the pool every day for the kids with a Loews kids counselor. The pool chairs and beach chairs all have cushions that they cover with a terry cloth covering when you claim your chair.

The hotel overall is a very upscale, kid friendly, and pet friendly resort. Between the kids games, menu, and dog path, it is a great place to stay and I would probably stay there again. However, you must be prepared to pay to stay. The room rates were pricey at about $650 per night for two double beds in a small room. However, the bathroom was a good size the shower was a basic tub shower set up but it was fine. You are certainly paying for the location. The hotel does not offer free wifi in the rooms. It is only free in the lobby and in the pool area and it was spotty at best. We refused to pay for the wifi in the room as it cost about $43 for three days for up to three devices. They charged $10 per visit to use the fitness center. It should be a given that use of the fitness center is no charge. They had a spa but didn't even bother checking into anything because I was afraid of the prices. It was $37 per night to valet park the car. You must valet because the self parking was not great. Really, if you are going from the airport to the hotel and staying there, I would advise against renting a car because everything is within walking distance. Beach chairs, umbrellas, cabanas, and beds cost money on the beach. There was an option to rent one queen size beach bed, cabana, unlimited umbrellas and beach chairs for $100. To just rent the chairs they were about $10/chair, umbrellas $15/umbrella, and cabanas $20 per cabana. The prices change depending on the travel season so it could be more if you are going during Christmas break. I thought it was hilarious at one point when two women in their twenties flirted with one of the employees while hanging on the beach and scored a free umbrella. He brought it to them without them even asking. The food was pretty expensive but they get you because of the pool and beach experience.

Another warning is that you must claim your pool chair early. If you get there by 9am it is almost too late. Yesterday we got there by 8:00am and the best spots were already taken. Do not try to get there at 10am and expect to have your pick. You can claim your chair, leave and have a quick breakfast and come back. If you don't come back within an hour, they will put a sign on your chair and give it away. That is only fair. There is no charge for the pool chairs, but of course you should tip the person setting you up with your towels and cushion covers. Yesterday, we claimed our chairs and walked down the street to grab breakfast to go and had it by the pool. I can't remember the name of the restaurant, but if you walk out of the hotel, go right, it is less than a block on your right next door to a pizza place. The people there are extremely nice and they have a pretty good variety of food at reasonable prices.

The bottom line is that we had a wonderful time here. It was relaxing even with the Wine and Food Festival getting underway on the day we left. If you can get past some of the ridiculous charges and recognize that you have to open your wallet, then you will have a good time.

I didn't give the hotel a very good value because it was extremely pricey, but it is what the market will bear. If you are looking for value for your money then no. If you are looking for value for the experience then yes.

Room Tip: If you have more than four people in a room you should definitely get a suite or adjoining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I have been to this hotel on numerous occasions and each time it gets better and better. The staff is incredible; thr rooms comfortable; the breakfast buffet delicious; and the pool is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed your "Winter Wonderland" in South Beach! Looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

First the good news. The location is marvellous - go through the gate and you are on the Board Walk with the white sand beach beyond. The pool is good - big enough for swimmers and lots of children happily to co-exist. And the staff are charming.
On the other hand, 800 beds is a lot of people. The entrance and vestibule get very crowded at busy periods. Outside, there are plenty of sunbeds, but they are very crowded too.
All the food outlets are pretty dire, especially the self-service breakfast which is a disgrace for a hotel of this quality. There are plenty of good restaurants of all types within ten minutes walk.
Finally, watch the sneaky extras - five dollars per 20 minutes to use the internet, use of the gym is charged extra. Both should be included in the room price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

In my opinion the Loews is one of the best hotels we've stayed in. The location is perfect - easy access to South Beach. The service at this hotel is terrific. Whatever we asked for/needed was brought to us immediately.
The rooms are very nice. Clean and well appointed.
A great place in Miami. This will be our hotel for future stays in Miami. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.