We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end hotel, without any attitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #34 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“High-end hotel, without any attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Loews in Miami Beach with my husband and young son in mid-to-late October for eight nights. This was our second visit to the hotel - we liked it so much the first time we came back.

We found it an almost universally excellent experience. The room was smallish, but very clean, with a modern bathroom. We had half-view of the beach, not bad. Our windows did not open - it would have been nice to open at least a panel of window. After being at other hotels in Florida that do have windows that open, it felt a bit claustrophic. Service was excellent, as usual. Just one hiccup; I had asked in advance, and at check-in, for a room with both a bath and shower (as our 4 year-old cannot yet shower and needs bath) and they sent us to a room with only a shower. This was a relatively minor issue, however, and was sorted out. But am tempted to think the organization isn't quite what it was two years ago.

Other than that, there is one issue management should address. They target families with children, so that the shallow end of the hotel pool is chock-full of toddlers and kids having a great time. But smoking is allowed pool-side and you have a bunch of people lighting up all day with their beers sitting nearby. It doesn't seem right. Perhaps the hotel could figure out a way to allow smoking only in part of the pool area or stop smoking by the pool altogether. I would love to hear from the hotel's managers on this issue.

Everything else was great: the hotel, the pool, the hotel's food (though pricey) is delicious and servings are very generous. The location is top-notch.

I would go back if Loews puts a stop to the pool-side chain-smoking in the "kids' area." I really found the smoking too much.

Room Tip: make sure room is away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,636
    1,001
    353
    131
    130
See reviews for
952
884
72
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

You definitely feel you are in a large convention hotel. The service varies from the helpful to the perfunctory.

The rooms are functional and well laud out. I like well placed and enough outlets. The shower was a bit awkward unless you are well over 6 feet. The faucet also wasn't functional ... small details but perhaps indicative of a hotel that is overly complacent because of size and location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Made a departure from our usual hotel choice and we are all really glad we did. The junior suite at the hotel is really spacious - a pull out bed and lots of room left for a roll-away, which is perfect when traveling with twins. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Check in was pleasant and prompt. The kids loved the truffles being passed around as people were waiting in line. The small treats being offered all day long at the pool are a great diversion, and the beach is divine.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is an excellent hotel – in every respect. Indeed, it is outstanding.

My colleagues and friends accuse me of being a “hotel snob,” demanding perfection in all dimensions of facilities and services. Perhaps that’s true – I spend a lot of time in 5 star properties in Asia, where no detail is overlooked and no expense is spared. Indeed, in terms of US hotels (of all categories), my expectations are automatically lowered; otherwise, I would be in a constant state of aggravation or disappointment. Of course, there are several US hotels in which I enjoy staying, but these stays are preceded and calibrated with significantly lowered expectations. I’m eager to return to many properties, and several work hard to engender the spirit and enthusiasm that they can – with highly restricted staff budgets and other quests for “profit at all costs.” However, this “profit is our primary goal” greatly reduces service quality. It’s “the American way,” and we’ve learned to cope with it – at least in America.

The Loews Miami Beach Hotel is an exemplar of what hotels can be like – what can be achieved on a global scale. Having driven by the property a few times in the past, I recognized that its architecture was interesting and attractive. But it wasn’t until I recently checked in and stayed for several days that I had the opportunity to experience all that is available in that retro-look, modern edifice that is overflowing with charm, spectacular (indeed, unexcelled) service, and the best hospitality staff I’ve encountered “from sea to shining sea,” if not beyond. Everyone I encountered in the hotel seemed to have three goals: 1) To warmly greet and treat guests with genuine enthusiasm and respect, 2) To help guests achieve any and everything desired or wished to maximize the experience, and 3) To ensure that each component of each guests stay is flawless, gracious, and seamlessly superb. What makes this remarkable, in a very special sense, is that the Loews Miami Beach Hotel is one that bridges a gap that I heretofore thought was perpetually divided – the juncture of both a leisure resort and a flawless business hotel experience. To be frank, I am often annoyed with what I find at many resorts – an overly casual, laid-back (if not laissez -faire attitude, with little regard for people who also have to stay in touch with the business side of their lives (even while trying to slow down, just a bit). Prior to my stay at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel, I sincerely thought that it was impossible to successfully cater to the two distinct populations of leisure and business clientele, and I would have scoffed at any suggestion than a single property could not only do both but, all the while, serve the nearly impossible needs of guests who wanted a perfect blend and simultaneous availability of both – offering relaxed, comfortable, and comforting surroundings, AND instantly provide meticulous and exacting responsiveness required for the precision demanded by business guests. This hotel accommodates BOTH leisure and business and performs the impossible – has the ability to satisfy guests demanding the highest quality of service and responsiveness of each – at the same time, and due to its amazing management and staff.

The location is great. The beach is great. The pools, spa, and all other resort components are great. Everything is beautiful, functional, antiseptically clean and polished. The proximity to shopping, restaurants, nightlife, and more (it’s a short walk to the world-class New World Center). But the best part is the staff. From the doormen to the bell personnel to the housekeepers; to the reception desk attendants to the room service professionals to the banquet staff to the managers of all categories and ranks, and staff and line personnel of all kinds. Whew… Everyone! In short, “Nobody does is better.”

I urge you to consider this hotel, for whatever your reason, season, objectives, or desires. It is truly an amazing place. Not surprisingly, I was very sorry to leave. I had witnessed what I believe to be the penultimate combination of luxury, comfort, relaxation, and business. As I departed, I could think of only one way to console the sadness precipitated by my departure… the thought of booking a return… and soon… instantly made me smile. Suddenly, I was as beaming with enthusiasm and joy as the scores of hotel staffers I was leaving behind… because I was looking forward to returning and experiencing their smiles again. Consider this suggestion from a “hotel snob:” Stay at this hotel; you won’t regret it. Alternatively, you’ll be pleased and coddled and, perhaps, understand why even a “hotel snob” is humbled by the facilities, location, and, especially, the service of the Loews Miami Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean view - a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff. Always happy to recommend new things to try and to accomodate any specific dietary requirements. Would like to especially recommend Loews Star Service and the Concierge who were always able to help no matter what we needed or when we needed it. Room was spacious and always clean and the pool area was fabulous. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in October 2011 with a group meeting. The rooms are decent sized and the bathrooms are lovely and contemporary. Many rooms have balconies, though mine did not. Ask at check in, I heard they often upgrade if you ask. One of my favorite touches is the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Good stuff!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This huge conference style hotel does its best not to feel like one. I had a lovely room with both City and ocean views on the 10th floor. The room was huge, with two double beds - it would easily have accommodated a family. The area is full of little shops, bars and restaurants (you have to smile at a block where the major sign posted is "I Love Liquor"!). One drawback is that the spa and fitness center are not owned by the hotel, so the hotel staff are very ill-informed about basic things like how one gets to the fitness center. The answer, it turns out after 20 minutes of heading in the wrong direction, is that you go through the spa. They also charge $10 per day to use it, which I don't like - I'd prefer it be included in the hotel fee. All the same, a very pleasant location for a business function. It would be nice for a family break as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - you have a chance of both ocean and city views that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.