We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-end hotel, without any attitude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Like a Local
Ranked #32 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“High-end hotel, without any attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Loews in Miami Beach with my husband and young son in mid-to-late October for eight nights. This was our second visit to the hotel - we liked it so much the first time we came back.

We found it an almost universally excellent experience. The room was smallish, but very clean, with a modern bathroom. We had half-view of the beach, not bad. Our windows did not open - it would have been nice to open at least a panel of window. After being at other hotels in Florida that do have windows that open, it felt a bit claustrophic. Service was excellent, as usual. Just one hiccup; I had asked in advance, and at check-in, for a room with both a bath and shower (as our 4 year-old cannot yet shower and needs bath) and they sent us to a room with only a shower. This was a relatively minor issue, however, and was sorted out. But am tempted to think the organization isn't quite what it was two years ago.

Other than that, there is one issue management should address. They target families with children, so that the shallow end of the hotel pool is chock-full of toddlers and kids having a great time. But smoking is allowed pool-side and you have a bunch of people lighting up all day with their beers sitting nearby. It doesn't seem right. Perhaps the hotel could figure out a way to allow smoking only in part of the pool area or stop smoking by the pool altogether. I would love to hear from the hotel's managers on this issue.

Everything else was great: the hotel, the pool, the hotel's food (though pricey) is delicious and servings are very generous. The location is top-notch.

I would go back if Loews puts a stop to the pool-side chain-smoking in the "kids' area." I really found the smoking too much.

Room Tip: make sure room is away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,172
    1,258
    451
    161
    149
See reviews for
1,180
1,134
93
707
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

You definitely feel you are in a large convention hotel. The service varies from the helpful to the perfunctory.

The rooms are functional and well laud out. I like well placed and enough outlets. The shower was a bit awkward unless you are well over 6 feet. The faucet also wasn't functional ... small details but perhaps indicative of a hotel that is overly complacent because of size and location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Made a departure from our usual hotel choice and we are all really glad we did. The junior suite at the hotel is really spacious - a pull out bed and lots of room left for a roll-away, which is perfect when traveling with twins. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Check in was pleasant and prompt. The kids loved the truffles being passed around as people were waiting in line. The small treats being offered all day long at the pool are a great diversion, and the beach is divine.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Fantastic hotel with the most helpful and friendly staff. Always happy to recommend new things to try and to accomodate any specific dietary requirements. Would like to especially recommend Loews Star Service and the Concierge who were always able to help no matter what we needed or when we needed it. Room was spacious and always clean and the pool area was fabulous. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed here in October 2011 with a group meeting. The rooms are decent sized and the bathrooms are lovely and contemporary. Many rooms have balconies, though mine did not. Ask at check in, I heard they often upgrade if you ask. One of my favorite touches is the Keurig coffee maker in the room. Good stuff!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This huge conference style hotel does its best not to feel like one. I had a lovely room with both City and ocean views on the 10th floor. The room was huge, with two double beds - it would easily have accommodated a family. The area is full of little shops, bars and restaurants (you have to smile at a block where the major sign posted is "I Love Liquor"!). One drawback is that the spa and fitness center are not owned by the hotel, so the hotel staff are very ill-informed about basic things like how one gets to the fitness center. The answer, it turns out after 20 minutes of heading in the wrong direction, is that you go through the spa. They also charge $10 per day to use it, which I don't like - I'd prefer it be included in the hotel fee. All the same, a very pleasant location for a business function. It would be nice for a family break as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - you have a chance of both ocean and city views that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We spent our honeymoon in Miami and stayed at the Loews. We only had drama from day one. We arrived and were given a room with 2 double beds. This definietly didnt work. Then next day they gave us a room with a king bed. Apon returning to the hotel after shopping we left our shopping in the new room and went to have lunch. When we returned after lunch our stuff had been moved to another room. We were not impressed that we were not notifed before someone touched our stuff. Then our shopping bags were not moved across and we were told there were none in the bag. It took 2 days of arguing with them for the hotel to take responsibility for the shopping bags. Just made us feel like we were liars. We were so inconvinced by this experience. One, having to repurchase everything and finding the things again and two with the 3 room changes within 14 hours. This was a very unpleasant experience within the hotel. This just made my husband and I were just constantly argue aswell.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.