We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality place with a price to match, a bit lacking in south beach style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Miami Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quality place with a price to match, a bit lacking in south beach style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

If you're looking for 4 star, quality, comfortable accommodation on South Beach then the Loews will suit you just fine. For us it lacked the style that South Beach is known for and felt like a homogenised hotel you could find in any major city.

Great rooms with a huge bed, tasty breakfast, well appointed pool area and right on the beach.

We stayed in a suite with a friend first night which was fantastic, then moved to a superior double. We are clearly odd because when we found out that the wing next door was the original Art Deco building we moved there. although it didn't have the proportions of the main building it had the period features we craved.

Next time we'll be heading to one of the iconic Miami hotels, but that is no criticism on the Loews which is a quality place with a price to match...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    1,192
    426
    154
    143
See reviews for
1,128
1,070
88
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here with the family for 3nts in July. The hotel is situated on Collins Ave, and is right on South Beach. There is a lovely resort atmosphere and the staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful, with a coffee machine, and the bathrooms are very nice. It is also close to the Lincoln Road shopping area and Washington Avenue. Ocean drive is a short walk away. I cant wait to go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We are thrilled you and your family had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel and South Beach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

hotel has perfect location in south beach. service at pool was perfect, hotel was very clean, rooms clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and had a great time while visiting South Beach. All of us at Loews Miami Beach Hotel take pride in offering the best guest experience possible and we are happy to know that you were able to see that during your stay. Hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We paid a pretty penny to stay at the Loews for the last three nights of our honeymoon, and it was not worth the money at all! First of all, a "deluxe" room is really a normal room, as we were informed when we went down to complain to the front desk that our room was tiny and not at all what we expected based on their website. In fact, they informed us that the only difference in their room types is the view. They are all the same size. The room was not at all luxurious, as one would expect at a Loews hotel. Basic decor, plain bedding, and a small TV. Paint was scraped off the wall in the bathroom. The noise at night kept us up all three nights, both street noise and loud doors in the hallway. But that was not the worst of it.

We spared no expense on our trip, seeing that it was our honeymoon, but the Loews and Miami in general made us sick. They wring you for every penny they can get out of you.

Beach rentals are $15 for umbrellas and $10 for chairs. (Not too bad...) BUT, if you want bottled water at the beach, be prepared to pay NINE DOLLARS a bottle. No joke! Beer is also $9. Frozen drinks are $14 and up. Same goes for the hotel bar and pool bar. We ordered a beer on the beach and the server forgot about it. We spent almost an hour trying to get his attention again and finally my husband had to get up and go ask the bar for his beer. Did they offer to comp it for the inconvenience? Nope! Parking costs $38 a night! (Un-heard of!) We called down 15 minutes before we needed our car and still had to wait for it and it wasn't a busy time for the garage. 20% gratuity is added in at all of the restaurants, regardless of the size of your party. You do not receive good service and I attribute it to this issue... Why work hard to please customers when you are automatically getting their money??

Even the ice cream shop is expensive. We purchased a bottled Starbucks frappuccino and a small Red Bull in there and it was $15! Just a few blocks down the street is an actual Starbucks and that frap is only $2.50.

You get NO value for your money at the Loews. When you are paying what they ask for a room, ($300 up), you should at least get free internet access. Nope! $12.95 a day! Don't even think about spa services. A basic massage starts at about $200.

We were not able to enjoy the end of our honeymoon for feeling as if we were completely ripped off by our hotel. When we pay $1300 for three nights, we would hope to feel as if we got our money's worth, but we did not leave the Loews with that feeling. If you want to get a good value, skip this place. They are insanely expensive in every possible area and the service is terrible. I'm genuinely surprised to see all of the good reviews.

Room Tip: Not worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We apologize for your experience during your recent stay and would like the opportunity to discuss your concerns in greater detail. Please email us at miamicustomerservice@loewshotels.com and we will have someone get in touch with you as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here during our last trip to Miami. It was a good experience and I would recommend it to other families.
The hotel is on the beach. The boardwalk is right in front and a lovely area to walk around with lots of trees and shade. The ocean is just beautiful here.
Our children need to swim to relax when we travel so I often choose hotels based on their pools. They have an awesome pool here. The only complaint was there were a lot of people in the pool area acting pretty crazy. My daughter commented how she had never seen grown ups acting like children before. But they were not trashing the place. Just loud and a little crazy (playing football, throwing friends not in bathing suits into the water) but it is vacation. The pool is large enough to find quieter areas so it was not annoying.
We noticed a wonderfully landscaped area for people traveling with their dogs. If I traveled with a pet this would be the best hotel I have ever seen for them. The area is off to the side so people who do not like animals would not be bothered by them. A great balance for all.
The room was nice. It was comfortable and clean. We ordered room service. It was okay and overpriced - exactly what you expect at a hotel. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and that you and your family had a great time. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is a perfect spot for families, leisure getaways, pets, etc., there is something for everyone to enjoy! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

As a meeting planner I pride myself in finding the best venues for my meetings that work for our needs. As a participant/exhibitor in a meeting another company was putting on, we had no choice but to make the difficult logistics work.

Sleeping rooms: Very nice - clean bedding, room was kept up. Hotel is a little stingy on the toiletries. I was at the hotel for six days and they didn't refill any of my toiletries or change out any of my bars of soap. I can understand being green, but this was a bit too green!
Room service: As I'm busy planning my next meeting to go to, I tend to do a lot of room service - 3 out of the 5 room service orders were brought up incorrectly. The last night I was there I ordered the soup of the day and was brought the chicken noodle soup which I did not order. The girl that brought it up had a bit of an attitude about switching it out.
Hotel gift shop: I bought a cute pair of shoes at the gift shop - I thought that the shoes were so cute I'd go online to see if I could buy the same brand locally and saw that the shoes were priced $20 less at Nordstrom. My bad.
Meeting space: for load in and out, this is not the hotel to work with. I had three trucks coming in with booth supplies and two surgical robots and the load in was quite difficult. The loading dock is not capable of accepting larger trucks so we had a couple of my trucks double parked.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are a large convention hotel and have been fortunate to work with all types of groups both large and small in the past. This particular group, due to the number of exhibitors and shear size, the load-in and load-out process was not as smooth as we would've liked. However the overall meeting was a tremendous success and we are already speaking with this group about booking their next meeting at our hotel in the near future.

We were disappointed to hear about your struggles with housekeeping and room service. At Loews Miami Beach Hotel, our goal is to always exceed our guests' expectations, it seems in this situation we failed to that and for this we do sincerely apologize. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Just got back from a "Girls Trip" 11 girls all tripled up & there was PLENTY of room!.. The Accommodations were amazing! Great friendly staff cater to your every need (even when you don't think you have one!) They are there with frozen smoothies, Ice cold water... The pool was the best... passing frozen grapes to you in the pool, ice cold watsh cloths to cool down, spraying you with Evian Water, complimentry suntan lotion, Ice Cold decanters of water, choose from freah oranges, pineapple, or Strawberry water, (instead of buying bottles of over priced spring water!) I think this Hotel is worth EVERY penny! if you are looking for economy, go to Motel 6..... Loews is a top shelf classy hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smurov, Manager at Loews Miami Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We are so glad you had a great time visiting our hotel. You should keep checking our website and facebook page for news regarding our upcoming Girlfriends Getaway weekend, coming in Spring 2012. The weekend features, shopping, sunning, spa, happy hours and more. This is a weekend you won't want to miss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Miami Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Miami Beach Hotel

Address: 1601 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Miami Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 790
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment you arrive, you are inspired and delighted by everything you see ... From tranquil walls of water and ocean views around every corner to vibrant, modern and supremely comfortable accommodations. With the best location on the beach, the most attentive, genuine staff, and striking design inside and out, you'll truly appreciate every moment at Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Time and time again. Loews Miami Beach Hotel is the premier Miami Beach luxury hotel experience, located in the heart of South Beach, directly on the Atlantic Ocean. Our hotel showcases a palm tree-lined promenade, sparkling oceanfront pool flanked by our luxurious, St. Tropez-inspired cabana deck SOAK. The cabana deck is comprised of eight state-of-the-art poolside cabanas featuring private rooftop terraces and plush, luxury daybeds for day or weekly rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Miami Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Hotel South Beach
Loews South Beach
Miami Beach Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Miami Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.