We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalan on the Beach

Chalan on the Beach
1580 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7801
305-532-8880
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 909 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Delicious food at this peruvian family restaurant. Service was great. I ate "lomo saltado" which is kinda like sirloin pieces with french fries and peruvian criole sauce served with whire rice, and it was excellent. The "sangria" and was good too. If i go to Miami Beach again, i'll sure pay them a another visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elchalan, Owner at Chalan on the Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank You for the kind remarks! Our Lomo Saltado seems to be everyone's favorite and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Hope to have you back during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    92
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You must try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My mom and I came here based on Yelp reviews. The restaurant was crowded, which was a good sign. The staff was very nice and the Sangria was good! Get a small pitcher for 2 people, it will easily be 2+ glasses each. We ordered the Lomo Saltado and Arroz Con Mariscos. Both were excellent! We loved this place so much and almost came back the next night. We ended up at a different restaurant and regretted our choice.

You should definitely go here for dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elchalan, Owner at Chalan on the Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank You for your comments regarding your visit with us! Happy to hear that you tried our Lomo Saltado and our Arroz con Mariscos, those are some of our more popular dishes and we are very proud of how we prepare them. Thanks again for the kind remarks! We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best Peruvian restaurant I have been to...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After my experience with Peruvian food in Buenos Aires, I always felt Peruvian food is over hyped till I went to Chalan and got a taste of the amazing Ceviches they serve. The taku taku (some rice and lentils baked) with fish was delicious too. I was with my colleagues and they had a great time too.... I happened to go back to Miami after a few weeks and went back to Chalan and tried the lomo saltado and it was as usual mouth watering! Even the dessert was good. If you like good food, you need to visit this place!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delicious and good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I got the daily special, a huge beautiful piece of perfectly cooked fish with salad and rice. Also came with a chicken soup that was so fresh and interesting. Food was wonderful, service great, and it is in a great location, one block from beach. I will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“This is the real Peruvian deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I see why this is in the top 10. Huge Peruvian dishes, and reasonable prices. One dish we had was a type of seafood paella - mussels, shrimp, calamari, octopuses. Hugh plates that two could split. You should. go for the seafood dishes. Now we are trying flan, and some local Peru dessert with melted marshmallow toppings. Ooh la la.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalan on the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Chalan on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalan on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.