We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“underwheling” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Delores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Delores to your Saves list
The Delores
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1420 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“underwheling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed here 1 yr ago this week. There were water bugs creeping the floor all night long, these were the biggest bugs we've ever seen! the sheets were always dirty looking even after the changed them. and the room never cooled off with the AC, it always felt clamy and sticky. I was very upset when I saw the condition of the building and actually considered cutting my vacation short. I for sure will not be staying here again. The best thing was the location, close to the beach/strip and the best restaurant Café FL. I Love Miami

Room Tip: Spend a little more money, it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
14
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

the rooms are little,but wht is very little is the bed !! just for one person !but sell for a couple!
also the bath is too little!
breakfast very simple , but served in corridor between the rooms !!
quality low but price higt.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

The room was fine for the two of us and we walked to the beach each day. They provided towels, which was great. If you want a laid back vacation but yet be in the heart of SoBe. This was it. The other watch out, especially in this part of SOBE, is that the properties (especially those priced lower) can fill with party people - that was NOT the case here at the Dolores. They do a great job of keeping a quiet atmosphere.

Room Tip: We picked the room on the second floor and 'splurged' for the 1 bedroom. It had a door and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

We had booked a room here two weeks ago and experienced then sudden, unexpected death of my wife's mother very early in the a.m. - I called to cancel, mainly as a courtesy to the The Delores so they could book the room that night. They were rude, surely and and insisted I go call back, which I did several times, they they insisted I contact booking.com for the cancellation. We were beyond the cancellation period but I did ask for a partial refund under the dramatic circumstances, again, completely rude and unhelpful on every level. The real test of a property is how they respond in situations like this, are they just after money or long term relationships with their customers and referral business. If you have a problem with your room or otherwise, don't expect and decent service. Look else where and enjoy your stay in a great city.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I booked this hotel ahead of outher budget South Beach hotels based on the photographs on the web. Some rooms are nice and have been refurbished some haven't. We did not get what we expected. A tiny room for two people with two suitcases, three coat hangers, a tiny bathroom and the previous guest's hairs stuck to the shower walls were not cleaned for the whole of our stay until I cleaned them away. Maybe I misread the description but I booked this hotel thinking we had a kitchenette to help prepare food, not a very old fridge in an awkward cupboard.

The free beach towels were tiny, about big enough to sit on, but if you open the cupboard under the breakfast there are big towels, they just weren't offered to us.

So, that was not good, and just to be a little more irritating the staff seemed to hold a parting in reception on one night of our stay which was very very loud. South Beach is not a place to go for peace and quiet, but we thought this was just a but ignorant.

Overall, I'd stay somewhere else for less money with a more honest advertisement. Too expensive for the very poor room we were given.

We checked out early, no refund and went somewhere much nicer for our last night in Miami.

Room Tip: Specify a refurbished room like the photographs on the website not the old dirty ones at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015 via mobile

This hotel or should I say motel is not as pictures well at least my room I had the displeasure of staying in... Dirty walls, cracked tiles, tiny room and bed, the bathroom was probably the biggest inconvenience... Ladies we all want a mirror to do our hair and makeup right? Well this place has a tight bathroom with just a sink and toilet! No where to set anything down... If your a guy maybe this might work for you but not for moi. The "beach" towels they loan you barely fit the body of a 3 year old... The tv was almost falling off the bracket, remote didnt work, maids were chatting at 7am overall this place is barebones and not well maintained... The location is great, service wasn't bad front desk was pleasant & helpful but management needs to rehab and step it up. The rooms are falling apart.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

This was my first visit to Miami and my friends recommended to stay as close to South Beach as possible.

I did a last minute booking and frankly this was the only available hotel (in the price range of $200/night) because of the year end rush (29th to 31st Dec 2014). Live Music, Night Life, close to beach and shopping arena is what all you want once you are in Miami. This hotel serves all the purposes. Located at Collins Avenue it is extremely close to Lincoln road, Ocean Drive and South Beach.

The exterior of the hotel was a little disappointing but the rooms were trendy as well as comfortable. They were newly renovated. Size of the room is small but still manageable for a couple.

Hotel has complimentary internet, they provide complimentary beach towels/chairs/umbrella as well.

Overall it is a good hotel and we had a pleasent stay. Price was on higher side (but I presume it was only because of last minute booking and holiday period).

General Suggestion: Stay at South Beach and not in the Downtown Area/Airport Area. Traffic is crazy and you will waste a lot of time and energy in commuting to south beach.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Delores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Delores

Address: 1420 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Delores 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Delores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Delores Hotel Miami Beach
Clarion Collection Delores
Clarion Collection Miami Beach
Clarion Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Delores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.