We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel to your Saves list
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   236 9th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you're looking for party and knowing people, this is the place to be! The mood is very nice, there are gatherings every night at the lobby, fantastic place to have fun and know people.

Some staff guys are really rude, but others are great, especially the French guy.

Accomodations are... ok. The loud music booming all day long at the lobby may be annoying sometimes and the A/C's may not be enough for Miamii's hot weather, but it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    113
    47
    33
    66
See reviews for
7
39
124
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This was my second time staying at the hostel. The hostel is not for the weak hearted or the weak eared for that matter. This is the perfect youth hostel if you have party on your agenda. The location is good, the staff is helpful and the events organised are famous far and wide. The hostel is located 2 blocks from the beach, which is perfect for the day, and during the nights there are exclusive party invites available at the hostel or bar hopping. Definitely a must stay.
TIP: if you want to sleep off the night's partying, try to get a room on the top floors.

Room Tip: Wi-fi only available in common area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This place was incredible free breakfast lunch and dinner everyday , organised outings at cheap prices every night with beer and on Sundays cocktails

The location is amazing as well only two blocks from the beach and right in the middle of all the shops

I would recommend this place to anyone going to Miami loved it

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago for for 4 nights, perfect place if you want to party and meet new people! I stayed here with a few friends and we all loved it, the staff are so friendly and helpful, rooms are cleaned 4 times a day, entertainment arranged by the hostel every night for a small price (it was always good value for money). Location is perfect! If you don't want to participate in the entertainment arranged (bars, clubs etc), the hostel has ping pong, pool table etc which is cool to hang out and drink and listen to music etc. Spotted a few cockroaches in the rooms, but it was being fumigated immediately, I hate bugs but this did not deter me one bit. If I come back to Miami, I would stay here 100%. Loved it! Also free breakfast, lunch and dinner available everyday, and short walk to beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked a room for 6 persons in this hostel and stayed a week.
It was a complete nightmare, the room and the bathroom were dirty,the loud air conditioner was barely working and fitted in the window, the food was disgusting and most of the time they were running of it after serving 30 people although we'd paid for it. They were also cockroaches in the kitchen.

Most of the activities organized by the hostel consisted in going out in night clubs. If you weren't 21 y-o you were supposed to pay the guys at the hostel so they can let you in, although you can freely party in Miami even if you're under 21.

Basically, this hostel was the most awful place I've even been to, I'd rather pay more and stay in a fancy hotel than go back there.

The only good point about this place is its location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great place to relax and party after camp. Make sure you get a room with a decent air conditioner. I stayed in two different rooms over my stay and when you have seven other people air conditioning is a must! The included food isn't great but there are some great places to eat out and if you've spent all your money the night before the free good is great.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good air conditioner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I've probably been to over 75 hostels spread between Europe, Central / South America and USA hostels. This is the best hostel I've ever been to in the US, and rivals many of my best stays in Europe and South American hostels for a fun social hostel atmosphere. Sadly US hostels are often hit or miss, some are okay, but just don't have enough people in them.

We stayed at this hostel back in Feb 2013 on recommendation from a friend and let me tell you. Just perfect in every regard. The 3 free meals per day are real and are actually quite good (I consider myself a foody).I was never awake in time for breakfast but lunch was pretty good (pasta salad with bug hunks of chicken) and one night they brought back chicken and rice from one of the hostel workers "favorite Cuban place". As soon as I heard chicken and rice I was about to go eat dinner elsewhere, but I tried it and WOW. Plenty to go around, they keep up their end of the bargain.

The rooms themselves used to be hotel rooms, so you have private bathroom and still a decent size for 6 people. They have a pretty cool small patio out front with some fans, everyone stands around and chats, very social. THE CLEANING LADIES CLEAN YOUR ROOM 4-6 TIMES A DAY. NO lie, they are always in and out of there keeping the place so clean you could eat off the floor.

The area is safe, close to the beach and the hostel staff are very friendly. They got us into Nikki Beach Club with a ride on the party bus, a keg (one night it was a giant mixed cocktail) all for $15. I actually mentioned to one of my friends when he went to Miami beach to stop by the hostel and join their nightclub outing and he said they took really good care of him even though he wasn't staying there. You can barely get into good clubs in Toronto for $15, let alone with a ride and beer... and this is Miami!

One of the hostel employees was even nice enough to bring back some good cuban espresso and offer all of us on the patio a small cup. Really can't say enough good things about the place. The A/C was also working and very strong.

There is a place to stop your car out front of the hostel for 15 minutes. If your flying into Fort Lauderdale, might want to check the prices of renting a car 1 way from the airport and dropping it off in South Beach, we managed to do this for $40 tax in with Budget (they have a location a km away, or you can use sixt). That's half the price of a cab! Though my insurance covers rental cars so be sure to make sure you have enough insurance, as this is the land of the lawsuit. Also read up on paying your tolls without using the rental car companies "SunPass" electronic toll box. The tolls are only about $3 but the rental companies ding you $6 to use their toll box transponder. There is no way to pay cash for these tolls.

We liked this place so much, when we return to Miami in October, there is no question we are staying here.

As for the other comments about it being a party hostel, it is. However everyone leaves around 9-10 to party and the clubs close around 4/5 am, so if you need some sleep you should be able to get it. WEAR EAR PLUGS and don't be a party pooper please :p

Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the street, so you can hear cars driving by with the window open. Not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel

Address: 236 9th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the ONLY Boutique hostel In South Beach and the CLOSEST to the beach. Just ONE block!For the past 10 years we have been VOTED the BEST ATMOSPHERE hostel in America and one of the top 3 BEST Hostels Of North America!FREE BREAKFAST- everydayFREE LUNCH- everyday FREE DINNER- everyday FREE weekly WALKING tourFREE Hostel T-SHIRT When You Book 10 NightsFREE DRINKS in our hostel parties and eventsFREE DANCE Nights With Dj In Our Hostel ClubFREE Life Music SHOWS In Our Hostel LoungeFREE VIP CLUB Outings To The BEST nights clubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach International Traveler`s Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.