We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel to your Saves list
Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   236 9th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overall Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here in December in 3 different rooms: 6 bed mixed dorm, double bed private, and one of the apartments at another building they own

Pros:
-If you are looking to meet people and a lively hostel that organizes events and parties that you can join, this is the place to go. Every person I met at the hostel was very nice and open to meeting new people
-The staff are very friendly and willing to accomodate. I took the bus described on their website (by the way, if you decide to take the bus from the airport, be sure to call and ask beforehand because there is a MUCH faster bus route you can take) and it ended up taking so long I got off and took a taxi. The staff member at the desk gave me 2 free beers to make up for that
-Very close to the beach, shopping area, and restaurants
-If they run out of spots at the hostel, they send you to an apartment in a building, about 10 mins walking distance. The one we stayed at was nice (other reviewers say their bathroom was broken and the place was dirty, but ours was in working order) b/c they're literally apartments--the one my boyfriend and I got sent to had 3 beds and a couch, a kitchen, and a bathroom, which unecessary for 2 people, but I can see it getting very crowded if you have 6 people squeezed in there

Cons:
-If you are looking to get a decent night's sleep, this is not the place to go because it is incredibly loud all night long. The private rooms are farther back and are therefore more quiet, and they have flat screen TVs. The dorms are literally right by the lobby.
-There is a 5% charge if you use visa or mastercard, so if you don't want to pay that charge and are staying for a number of days, you will need to withdraw a good amount of cash

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    120
    49
    35
    67
See reviews for
7
42
130
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Awesome location, great staff and extremely well organised parties every night!!

Great for the price and one of the best hostels I have stayed in!!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a very active hostel with good vibe at main hostel, but when I checked in, they did not take credit cards, had to go to ATM for Cash, including a $50 deposit for key and towels. Then sent me 7 blocks away from the hostel to some apartment building with nasty rooms. When you book, it looks like your staying at the main hostel, but you are a world away...no internet, no services, no interaction or vibe and a long walk back to the hostel, beach and fellow travelers.

Big negative for me personally is there is no airflow, fans or hvac in main lobby and lower rec kitchen area, so when you are there, you are constantly sweating...If make the walk back in time for meals and you like bagels and pasta, the breakfast, lunch and dinner will work for you, but I like meat with my meals so it was not a big plus for me.

Room Tip: Go to the Miami Hostel on Alton, great covered common area, computers, modern common kitchen, clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

the rates are great. the free breakfast, lunch and dinner is a huge money saver, as well as there nights out. we got to go see hardwell the dj in mansion (one of the biggest clubs in the mansion) for 20 dollars even though it said 40 dollars on the ticket. the staff are great very helpful and friendly, the rooms are cleaned twice a day and everyone who's staying here was really friendly while i was there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Chose the Miami Beach International primarily for location, atmosphere & partying. Booked a private double en suite a month in advance for Memorial Day weekend May 2012. Upon arrival informed of no private doubles left available – moved to apartments c.10 blocks away on the wrong side of Miami Beach. Apartment disgustingly unclean and in unsafe area. Terrible value for money. Reception lady extremely rude and of no help whatsoever. Demanded refund.

Room Tip: Avoid the whole place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you're not up to drink a lot while youre staying in this hostel, forget it! It's definitely a party hostel which makes sure you won't be alone. You'll have an awesome time drinking, partying, meeting awesome people, going to the beach just 2 minutes walk away and going to the best partying a few blocks away.

It's not the cleanest hostel I've been to but when you're drunk all the time you won't care.

They organize lots of stuff, partys, free food, free beer, theme nights, you can also book your tours at the desk, yes- you can expect a lot for your party holiday.

But believe me. If you look for a calm place and if you care about every little thing, forget it. It's noisy, not too clean and with unconsiderate all-time-drunk and hangovered people.

....Depends on what you want and what you make out of it! You can either have the best, or have the worst time ever :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien, Österreich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Despite having a nice, club-like looking entrance, the hostel itself is totally worn out, rooms are decently clean but very old and everything seems to be broken. Apartments (6 people + kitchen) are located half a mile down the street from the actual hostel. Staff is helpful and nice.

Overall I did not like it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel

Address: 236 9th Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the ONLY Boutique hostel In South Beach and the CLOSEST to the beach. Just ONE block!For the past 10 years we have been VOTED the BEST ATMOSPHERE hostel in America and one of the top 3 BEST Hostels Of North America!FREE BREAKFAST- everydayFREE LUNCH- everyday FREE DINNER- everyday FREE weekly WALKING tourFREE Hostel T-SHIRT When You Book 10 NightsFREE DRINKS in our hostel parties and eventsFREE DANCE Nights With Dj In Our Hostel ClubFREE Life Music SHOWS In Our Hostel LoungeFREE VIP CLUB Outings To The BEST nights clubs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miami Beach International Traveler`s Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Beach International Traveler's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.