We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

PROS: Large dorm with ensuite bathroom. Nice atmosphere. A big pool! Good location to beach and nightlife. Helpful staff. Outside common area.

CONS: Dorms/bathrooms could be cleaner. The guy that deals with the tours walking around constantly speaking loudly on his mobile! My food in the fridge was eirther stolen or thrown away by staff even although it was labelled!

BUT overall, I would highly recommend this place. It may not be the liveliest hostel to stay but its certainly the best!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    161
    102
    40
    35
See reviews for
33
116
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Good location in Miami Beach. Chap and with free Internet. Rooms essential and a bit dull, however quite clean. There's also a BBQ you can use yourself. Staff helpful and kind.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Tropics orginally for 2 nights then stayed an additional night during early July.

The hotel/hostel is basic but for the price we paid was brilliantly located and more importantly for us, clean. We stayed in a spacious double room which was equiped with a TV, phone and safe. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and could of done with a lick of paint but we received fresh towels when requested and the room was cleaned each day.

There is internet available, a pool and a selection of flyers on local attractions.

If you like luxury don't stay here. If you just want good value accommodaton, close to the centre of things with friendly staff then this maybe for you.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

If you don't mind to stay with strangers in a room but staying chep in a great location, so that's the place to be in MIami Beach! Pool, the ocean onlz one block away, great people, kitchen oustide at poolside with huge fridges, gas cooking places - simply wonderful! The bunk beds have good comfort, ok the bathrooms are a bit old, but clean. the cleaning girls funny and freindly. The receptionist good and fun people. very helpful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

The hostel is more like a hotel with great facilities beautiful rooms and excellent helpful staff. Thank u Raul for all the excellent deals on trips!!!! Would so stay here again. After our nighhtmare in our hostel in new york the tropics was a breath of fresh air. Large room with own tv and bathroom. Its honestly a great place to stay, we even extended ours. great pool, great kitchen, great prices. Thank u again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

MY BOOKING WAS CANCELLED 8 HOURS PRIOR TO MY ARRIVAL. i couldnt believe my own eyes when i saw the email from this hostel stating that my booking was cancelled because they could not obtain authorization on my credit card. i made the booking 2 months before coming - the deposit was taken from my bank account - and then a month after that the card i used to make the payment with was stolen so i had to block it - Obviously!! then 8 hours before we were supposed to check in at the hostel the hostel decided to check my card - and it didnt work because it was blocked!! they didnt even contact me regarding that and decided to CANCEL my booking straight away... imagine my frustration!!!! i called them and they said the room is gone but they MIGHT have something if i call a bit later... what a [--] up authorization system that is!?!?!?!? CARDS GET STOLEN AND LOST SOMETIMES!!! so be careful when u make a bookign with these guys or better just DONT. Go to INTERNATIONAL TRAVELERS MIAMI BEACH HOSTEL instead!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was dirty and the furnishings were sparse. The cable didn't work at all. But the location was good. It was right next to great shopping and bars, and it was only a couple blocks from the beach. The staff was very nice. And surprisingly it wasn't noisy. I'd say if you're at South Beach to party and will only use the hotel to sleep in then this hotel will do just fine, but if you plan on wanting to relax at the hotel at all, choose a different place. This hotel was really cheap though. The only reason I stayed there was because I wanted to kept a budget with hotel rooms for the week. So I skimped with this hotel room the 1st 3 nights and splurged a little the next 4 at a different hotel!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel And Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.