We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location + you can cook !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Genève
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location + you can cook !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel because it is close to everything is South Beach. The good thing also is the price. The best surprise is that there are fridges where you can storage your food and a great place to cook outside close to the pool,which is also very nice and big. It is not expensive and has everything you need if you don't want to spend to much and be well located. Bless

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    171
    107
    42
    36
See reviews for
37
128
81
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is an affordable hotel located near Washington avenue for clubs, and espanola way for some good food and a night out. It is 5mins walk to the beach and also has a big pool to cool down in.

We booked into a private room with a queen bed.
It is more comfortable and roomy than the similarly priced Clay Hotel on espanola way.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights in September, in a mixed dorm. Room had ensuite bathroom, only reduced rating due to it not having a lock. Room was very clean and spacious, hostel clean and mostly quiet at night besides a rowdy group of young UK/NZ people. Location could not be beat - so close to the beach, very short walk to Lincoln Drive, convenient to Washington and shops, and also very close to Ocean Drive. Amazingly low price for dorm rooms. Right in the Art Deco district.

Tip: if you are travelling as a group book a private room, or as a solo traveler see if other travelers want to share one, as they are a bit nicer than the dorm beds, and when shared, cost about the same.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

The best location for this price. Close to Ocean Drive and Washington avenue.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We traveled America on a budget and had difficulty finding a place stay in Miami! In the end, we went with Tropics, and it was the best decision we made! It ended up being the nicest hostel we stayed in during the entire trip. The location of Tropics is perfect! a few minutes walk and you're on Ocean Drive/South Beach! The shops on Lincoln Road and the clubs on Washington Ave are all within walking distance. We stayed in one of the private rooms with two single beds. The room was huge and we appreciated the TV complete with all the cable channels! The maids changed our sheets and towels every day and we had no problems with noise at all during our stay. The hostel has a kitchen area if you want to prepare your own meals, but we didn't use it as we ate out most nights. There is also a nice sunbathing area and pool out the back of the hotel. The hostel attracts a younger, international crowd, but I wouldn't describe it as a 'party hostel' for those who are looking for somewhere lively! There is free Internet access at Tropics, but only one computer, so access is limited to 15 minutes and theres always a queue of people waiting to use it! The staff at Tropics were very pleasant and helpful. We booked a few Tours through the hostel to The Everglades and Key West, which I would recommend to anyone! If you just want a simple hotel room at a bargain price - stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Tropics Hotel is very basic accommodation. It has a great big walk in closet. The furniture and carpet is dated but still comfortable. Very basic bathroom. It can sometimes be noisy. Location is great, close to the Art Deco and Ocean Drive.
Price wise you can not go wrong. Free internet in the Lobby.
Restaurants and supermarket at walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed in the Tropics Hostel in Miami for one week Summer 2008 it was fantasic. Damian is the hottie on the desk that put such a smile on my face when i arrive. Also there is the best guy in the work Fabio he is cute sweet and funny. The rooms are clean and basic me and my friend had a private room which had a safe and we were happy leaving our stuff there. Friends we met were in the drom rooms which were lovely with their own shower in every room. The pool area is fantasic and there is even a bbq/cooking area for dinner. There is also a room of fridges which people kept their food in.

Out the front of the hotel there is a small entrance way which leads right to the beach front amazing location. Right round the corner from the tropics there is a wall greens (food shopping) and a CVS which sells everything alcohol and all! Lincoln is great for shopping.

The night life in Miami is fab and if you are travelling alone the Tropics is great for meeting people from all over the world. Myself and my friend would definitly go back.

Nicola, Belfast, N Ireland

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel And Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.