We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess the value proposition isn't bad, but nothing else impresses” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I guess the value proposition isn't bad, but nothing else impresses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

So it is hard to find anywhere inexpensive in this area of Miami Beach. However, the fact that they are on in the cheap end of the spectrum seems to have gone to their head, because there aren't many positives here.

There was a total of one outlet. It was behind the nightstand. We had to go out and buy an extension cord. The pool was OK if not a bit dirty. They have a nice area to sit at out by the pool, which they shut down at something like 10pm for no particular reason.

The room was run down but clean. The beds were not particularly comfortable. The front desk staff seemed about as apathetic as possible and spent most of the time hanging out with friends who stopped by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    189
    130
    48
    40
See reviews for
42
151
95
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hostel is really a hotel that has been changed into a hostel. The rooms are really nice, clean and spacious. A great location just minutes from Lincoln St, Espanola Way and South Beach - it's just opposite the Loews. Beautiful outside area with kitchen and a great swimming pool - a real pool, folks, not that flat puddle you get in some hotels. The staff is really friendly and go out of their way to help you to have a great stay. I'm so happy I found this place, will recommend it to all my friends. If you're looking for an affordable, awesome place to stay in Miami beach, this is it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have now visited Tropics Hotel 3 times for 2-3 night stays and enjoyed it each time. The staff are very friendly and efficient, and also know the area very well. Our room was a good size, with two beds, TV. and bathroom. Once we got in (the lock was a bit temperamental) the room was in a good state of repair and very clean. The beds were comfortable and to say the Tropics is right on Collins Avenue it wasn't too noisy at night. There is a large lounge on the ground floor, with comfie sofas and chairs and free wi-fi. The lounge leads out to the pool area, with quite a large, furnished pool in an area of Miami where space is at a premium, and a communal kitchen with microwave, sink, kitchenware and large, commercial type fridges with a supply of large paper bags to store your food and drink in etc - they have closed circuit TV in there if you think there may be a problem. Outside, between the kitchen and pool, is a part-covered area with several gas hobs for cooking,tables and chairs for eating. The garden area is nicely planted and well tended.

As well as hotel type rooms they also have communal bedrooms, so all types of people stay there from teenagers to oldies (like us) and all get on together. One minus - it does not have a private car park but indoor parking is available in the next street.

The Tropics is just a block from the beach and within easy walking of lots of shops and restaurants, and on local bus routes.

Not sure what its official star grading is but I have given it 3 as although not a new building it is well looked after, nice a clean and has a good pool area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Me and my 2 sisters booked a room in this hotel for 10 days.
We are really disappointed and regret that we booked since we had bed bugs in our room.
We stayed in room 310 and it was awful. The room was sultry my sisters were sleeping in the double bed and they got horrible big bites on their legs from the bed bugs. It was awful. We left the hotel after 5 days when we discovered the bites and the bed bugs on the bed. We talked to the manager and he was ignoring the problem and treated us very badly, he refused to leave us any compensation for all the shopping we had done and now all the clothes were infected by bed bugs.

I don't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! It is sloppy and awful!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is very close to the beach- you need only cross the road and you are there!The staff were all really friendly and helpful. They have safe deposit box if you want to protect your money and passports. The hotel is cheap and it has great atmosphere:) Perfect for young people!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed in a hotel room with 2 friends. The room was good, 3 beds, a shower and plenty of room for our clothes. Great with a big mirror. Tropics is located in the middle of everything which is great! The kitchen is clean and nice, same goes for the pool area and the rest of Tropics!
The staff was really really nice! All of them! A special thanks to the black haired lady in the reception (can't remember her name). She was so sweet and really helpful with everything!
Whenever I'm going back to Miami, I will for sure stay at Tropics again!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a very nice and cozy hotel in Miami-Beach. There is a lively atmosphere, with young friendly staff. Tropics Hotel and Hostel has a very good location near the beach and shopping street. I think it offers great value for money and warm service. It has an outdoor pool, there was quite clean. However, the beach is not very far. Also there were facilities for preparing food by yourself. Rooms were clean, maybe little bit old but we had a nice old style window. Actually for that money we were charged tropics hotel was the best choice. This hotel is positive proof that Miami Beach can be not very expensive. I would recommend Tropics Hotel and Hostel for single trevellers, young people and backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#162 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Posh Hostel
#6 of 66 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#45 of 66 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoBe Hostel
#15 of 66 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.