We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value - great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Save Saved
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Very good value - great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have now visited Tropics Hotel 3 times for 2-3 night stays and enjoyed it each time. The staff are very friendly and efficient, and also know the area very well. Our room was a good size, with two beds, TV. and bathroom. Once we got in (the lock was a bit temperamental) the room was in a good state of repair and very clean. The beds were comfortable and to say the Tropics is right on Collins Avenue it wasn't too noisy at night. There is a large lounge on the ground floor, with comfie sofas and chairs and free wi-fi. The lounge leads out to the pool area, with quite a large, furnished pool in an area of Miami where space is at a premium, and a communal kitchen with microwave, sink, kitchenware and large, commercial type fridges with a supply of large paper bags to store your food and drink in etc - they have closed circuit TV in there if you think there may be a problem. Outside, between the kitchen and pool, is a part-covered area with several gas hobs for cooking,tables and chairs for eating. The garden area is nicely planted and well tended.

As well as hotel type rooms they also have communal bedrooms, so all types of people stay there from teenagers to oldies (like us) and all get on together. One minus - it does not have a private car park but indoor parking is available in the next street.

The Tropics is just a block from the beach and within easy walking of lots of shops and restaurants, and on local bus routes.

Not sure what its official star grading is but I have given it 3 as although not a new building it is well looked after, nice a clean and has a good pool area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    159
    102
    39
    32
See reviews for
32
113
76
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Me and my 2 sisters booked a room in this hotel for 10 days.
We are really disappointed and regret that we booked since we had bed bugs in our room.
We stayed in room 310 and it was awful. The room was sultry my sisters were sleeping in the double bed and they got horrible big bites on their legs from the bed bugs. It was awful. We left the hotel after 5 days when we discovered the bites and the bed bugs on the bed. We talked to the manager and he was ignoring the problem and treated us very badly, he refused to leave us any compensation for all the shopping we had done and now all the clothes were infected by bed bugs.

I don't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! It is sloppy and awful!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This place is very close to the beach- you need only cross the road and you are there!The staff were all really friendly and helpful. They have safe deposit box if you want to protect your money and passports. The hotel is cheap and it has great atmosphere:) Perfect for young people!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed in a hotel room with 2 friends. The room was good, 3 beds, a shower and plenty of room for our clothes. Great with a big mirror. Tropics is located in the middle of everything which is great! The kitchen is clean and nice, same goes for the pool area and the rest of Tropics!
The staff was really really nice! All of them! A special thanks to the black haired lady in the reception (can't remember her name). She was so sweet and really helpful with everything!
Whenever I'm going back to Miami, I will for sure stay at Tropics again!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vladivostok
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a very nice and cozy hotel in Miami-Beach. There is a lively atmosphere, with young friendly staff. Tropics Hotel and Hostel has a very good location near the beach and shopping street. I think it offers great value for money and warm service. It has an outdoor pool, there was quite clean. However, the beach is not very far. Also there were facilities for preparing food by yourself. Rooms were clean, maybe little bit old but we had a nice old style window. Actually for that money we were charged tropics hotel was the best choice. This hotel is positive proof that Miami Beach can be not very expensive. I would recommend Tropics Hotel and Hostel for single trevellers, young people and backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the hotel side of The Tropics, and loved it! Sure the rooms are tacky art deco, the hall ways dim and hot, but it's an incredible value for the location. The hotel has a hostel vibe to it: lots of young people hanging out in the common areas.

My favorite part was the pool, it was huge, warm, well landscaped with lots of lounge chairs and open until midnight! Next to the pool is a communal outdoor kitchen where people hang out (and a friendly hotel cat.) I was pleasantly surprised by the room, too. It was clean, comfortable, had individual AC control, and the lobby wi-fi even reached our room.

This isn't the place to hold your next business meeting, but for young people looking to get away on a budget, I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has individual room A/C controls, the first and second floors don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for a full week during a 3 month roadtrip of the US. We booked a private room.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's minutes from the beach, and is close to restaurants and shops. The staff were all really friendly, welcoming and helpful. There is a laundry facility for guest use from 5-10pm, and a full communal kitchen and fridge. The pool area was really nice, and clean. The wifi both in room, and in public areas worked with no issues. The rooms were massive, overlooking the pool and we had no issues with noise despite being directly above the kitchen.

The only negatives are that the kitchen doesn't have that many utensils, so you are a bit limited as to what you can cook. We didn't have a car for this stay, as we were picking up a different one after our week here so parking wasn't an issue but if you do, there is no parking here, you have to use the public car park on 16th St, just around the corner.

For the price and location, there is no question, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel And Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.