We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect to the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Just perfect to the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed in a hotel room with 2 friends. The room was good, 3 beds, a shower and plenty of room for our clothes. Great with a big mirror. Tropics is located in the middle of everything which is great! The kitchen is clean and nice, same goes for the pool area and the rest of Tropics!
The staff was really really nice! All of them! A special thanks to the black haired lady in the reception (can't remember her name). She was so sweet and really helpful with everything!
Whenever I'm going back to Miami, I will for sure stay at Tropics again!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    186
    126
    48
    40
See reviews for
41
148
93
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a very nice and cozy hotel in Miami-Beach. There is a lively atmosphere, with young friendly staff. Tropics Hotel and Hostel has a very good location near the beach and shopping street. I think it offers great value for money and warm service. It has an outdoor pool, there was quite clean. However, the beach is not very far. Also there were facilities for preparing food by yourself. Rooms were clean, maybe little bit old but we had a nice old style window. Actually for that money we were charged tropics hotel was the best choice. This hotel is positive proof that Miami Beach can be not very expensive. I would recommend Tropics Hotel and Hostel for single trevellers, young people and backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the hotel side of The Tropics, and loved it! Sure the rooms are tacky art deco, the hall ways dim and hot, but it's an incredible value for the location. The hotel has a hostel vibe to it: lots of young people hanging out in the common areas.

My favorite part was the pool, it was huge, warm, well landscaped with lots of lounge chairs and open until midnight! Next to the pool is a communal outdoor kitchen where people hang out (and a friendly hotel cat.) I was pleasantly surprised by the room, too. It was clean, comfortable, had individual AC control, and the lobby wi-fi even reached our room.

This isn't the place to hold your next business meeting, but for young people looking to get away on a budget, I couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor has individual room A/C controls, the first and second floors don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a full week during a 3 month roadtrip of the US. We booked a private room.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's minutes from the beach, and is close to restaurants and shops. The staff were all really friendly, welcoming and helpful. There is a laundry facility for guest use from 5-10pm, and a full communal kitchen and fridge. The pool area was really nice, and clean. The wifi both in room, and in public areas worked with no issues. The rooms were massive, overlooking the pool and we had no issues with noise despite being directly above the kitchen.

The only negatives are that the kitchen doesn't have that many utensils, so you are a bit limited as to what you can cook. We didn't have a car for this stay, as we were picking up a different one after our week here so parking wasn't an issue but if you do, there is no parking here, you have to use the public car park on 16th St, just around the corner.

For the price and location, there is no question, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

i stay in Tropics hotel, South beach Miami for 5 nights. It is the best hotel for any travellers in Miami South beach.
For $20 you can have a comfatable clean bed with 3 another new friends. You can prepare for your breakfast, lunch, dinner any times from 8am to 10pm to save you budget. You just need 2 minites to go to the beach. And 2 minutes to Art Deco center or shopping rows.
It is very easy to take any tours to Key west, Everglades, Downtown...
Everything you need for the trip to Miami.

Room Tip: Any rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is more like a youth hostel. We stayed in a three-single-bed room. The hotel is pretty basic, but okay for a short stay. Short walk to the beach and to the South Miami Beach promenade. If I am on my own or with friends I would stay there again. If I am with children then I will look for something else.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Want to see youreself as Miami Vice crew member?
This is a great vintage place for 3a reasonable price.
The location is great- about 50m from the beach.
Fine kitchen and pool. You can also watch the Kardashians on cable tv :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Posh Hostel
#6 of 66 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
SoBe Hostel
#14 of 66 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pointe
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
Jazz on South Beach Hostel
#45 of 66 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
#34 of 66 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel And Hostel
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.