We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Save Saved
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location, service and price together was perfect. It is close to the beach but not first line of hotels. There is swimming pool with enought shade. Cook area next to pool, which is good place to talk with other people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    155
    98
    38
    32
See reviews for
30
109
75
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

You get what you pay for. It is very clean, hospitable and amazing location.

This is a more typical hostel if you stay in the shared rooms - there are also private rooms. You have to bring your own towel and also make your own bed when you get there!

Location is great for day time but is noisy at night given its central location.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from Collins Ave for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ok me and my boys stayed here the weekend of june the 7th, and I have no complaints. Except the elevator is slow. Outside of that, its a clean room, hot water, comfortable bed, and the location is EXCELLENT. We even played poker on the deck thing by the pool and ended up drinking with some people from Germany. Everything is within walking distance and the price was the best part. You cant beat this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I always stay in Tropics hotel when in Miami.. have been there 5 or 6 times already.
The hotel are in a really good location in South Beach; walking distance to Lincoln Road and Española Way. Buses to downtown Miami or Aventura Mall / north Miami Beach easily accessible as well.
As I said, you have what you paid for, which means, don't expect too much for the 60 bucks / night or so you paid for the private room (I've never stayed in the shared rooms - hostel - so I can't give an opinion about that).
The single room is actually big and nice. Comfortable bed, flat TV, closet with safe, small bathroom. The only bad thing in the room is the wood window blind (doesn't really protect from the outside lights - which is really bothering if you are in rooms facing the street).
Hotel cleanliness is poor, mainly due to the young "partygoers" guests who don't really care about it. Those guests are also responsible for the main problem of the hotel: Noise. I don't really care about it, but if you do, I'd look for a more expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was probably my fourth time staying at the Tropics and I am never disappointed. The staff are pleasant and helpful, the rooms are basic but clean. The pool and tables by poolside are a great place to spent time after time at the beach. The location can't be beat as well as the rates are good for South Beach. I will return again to the Tropics. See you this fall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I was in the tropics for 2 weeks and i really enjoyed my stay. I was in a private room and everything was good. 3mn from the beach or if you prefer the pool it´s just next door... The personnel was very helpfull and always ready to advice you. It´s really a good price-quality ratio if you are still hesitating for a place in south beach go there !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed for 7 nights in a female only dorm. Room was clean & tidy with an ensuite. The window in the bathroom did not stay open by itself & as there was no fan & the window in the room did not open, we had to improvise.
No lockers in the room but you could leave valueables at reception.
Staff were friendly - was not told about the kitchen by the pool though.
If you're not going to spend much time at the hotel/hostel then I recommend this place.
Wifi is only available in the lobby.
Booked tours through the hotel. One went fine the other did not & when I complained I was fobbed off & told to talk to another person & the situation didnt get rectified before I left. Recommend booking straight with the tour company.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Otel, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel And Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.