We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchen is great but please set aside tables for non-smokers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropics Hotel & Hostel to your Saves list
Tropics Hotel & Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Kitchen is great but please set aside tables for non-smokers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My main complaint is that there are 4 tables outside by kitchen (under shade/roof). One smoker would sit at each, so a non-smoker had no choice but to share a table with smoke while eating: gross! This would be solved by having 2 tables reserved for non-smokers. We ended up eating in our room or carrying chairs out to pool, where there wasn't that much shade at midday. Next time I will mark a table non-smoking! However, the rest of the place was great. Very international clientele, good service, quiet (a miracle on South Beach!), kitchen is great, pool was freezing so could only do 12 laps at a time before my ears hurt, but it cut down on people using it! Can't beat the location, paid $111us/night, right next to beach & walking distance to everything. Parking a bit tricky but that's South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    177
    116
    43
    39
See reviews for
40
135
85
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Totally agree with the 2 recent reviews for the Tropics.
We stayed in a private room at the end of March for 2 nights - The prices vary depending on day of the week - We were shocked by how expensive Miami is but think we hit the end of 'Spring Break' season.
We chose the Tropics using TripA reviews and have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
The room even though it was old and dated was perfectly clean and well presented.
The shower water pressure was really good - which is important after a day on the beach.
The multi-storey car park just around the corner is relatively good value.
The hotel location is perfect for all the tourist hotspots - all within easy walking distance.
i would recommend emailing / calling ahead to ask for a quiet room - we asked at check-in and our request was happily met.
If you are just looking for a base to sleep then the Tropics is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, nice pool, average (but clean) rooms, we had a safe in our double private room, air con worked great, poor customer service at reception, communal kitchen is a bit grubby, the lift was VERY slow.
Bottom line, you get what you are paying for! South Beach is expensive to stay.....This hotel/hostel is fine for the price and I would stay here again as I do not spend a whole lot of time inside anyway whilst visiting Miami!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights during Winter Music Conference. This place is literally the cheapest place you can find in South Beach. Located in the heart of it all. On Collins Avenue across from the Loews Hotel. There is public beach access across the street. Jerrys famous Deli is basically down the blow. Parking garage is around the corner. Lincoln Road is 2 blocks away. I stayed in a 2 person room. Room was cleaned every day. It is a basic no frills hotel. Don't expect any amenities besides soap. That's it. Bring your own iron, hair dryer etc. They do offer a three percent discount for cash but they also do hold a one day deposit 1 week before your arrival. If you opt to pay in cash, the hold is removed a week after. Doesn't make sense to me. I told the hotel owner to maybe turn it into an automatic charge of 1 day stay for future bookings. My personal opinion, seems more fair that way. Overall, a great experience. If you are looking for the Ritz, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel as Collins Avenue is very noisy no matter what time of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right near Lincoln Road shopping and just 2 blocks from the beach. I was in a 4 bed dorm with private ensuite. The rooms are really large and bright, and the bathrooms were always clean. The beds had proper spring mattresses and really comfortable. Would be good if the rooms had lockers for valuables though. There is a computer in the lobby and wifi, although it didn't reach the room. The reception staff were friendly. I'd probably stay here again, just for the pool and location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights
After taking the 150 bus ($2.35 fare) from the airport we got off around Lincoln Rd and walked a few blocks to Collins Ave. My first impression of the hotel/hostel was it looked tired, a little neglected and plain boring. We went to check in, and to my mistake misread the email saying you need to bring your passport to check in. After the some what sarcastic and slightly rude man allowed us to check in, they took a $10 room key deposit, and gave us a discount for paying in cash.

We were given room 105, and there was already a few people in the room. The room was old and hasn't changed in years. 3 outlets in the whole room and a very dirty and wet bathroom.

The kitchen was stocked with supplies but lacked cleaning. The fridge was warmer then it was out side.

We may return for the pool but that's not even certain.

This was from my experience in the first weekend of march

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having stayed at over 50 different hostels around the world, I rate this one as average to slightly below average. I'll list the pros and cons so you can make an informed decision:
Pros: Exceptionally clean; 1 block from beach; swimming pool with deck chairs; 2 blocks from Lincoln Mall; young man at front desk very pleasant and helpful.
Cons: expensive relative to other hostels; kitchen lacking some basic equipment, such as a can opener; if your room is facing the parking garage you have to listen to car alarms and horns blaring 24 hours a day...it never stopped; the mattresses are lumpy and old; if someone is in the shared ensuite bathroom, there is only one public (unisex) toilet available in the lobby, and it is usually occupied...there is no common women's or men's washroom/shower room to use, so you may have to wait a long time for facilities; there are NO lockers in the rooms or anywhere else, so you have to keep your valuables with you at all times.
If I visit Miami again, I will try a different hostel, as this one was passable, but I see no reason to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool. You do not want a room next to the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropics Hotel & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropics Hotel & Hostel

Address: 1550 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropics Hotel & Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of the South Beach Art-Deco- and Nightlife-District, just a few steps from the sandy beach. The Miami Beach Convention Center is in walking distance. Easy to get here from Miami Airport, the express bus #150 stops at the corner. There are 2 different kind of rooms: regular hotel rooms, and shared dormitory-style rooms. Very popular for travelers from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotwire so you can book your Tropics Hotel & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropics Hotel Miami Beach
Tropics Hotel And Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropics Hotel & Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.