We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little art house cinema” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach Cinemateque

Miami Beach Cinemateque
1130 Washington Avenue, south side, ground floor, Historic City Hall, Miami Beach, FL 33119
305-673-4567
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“lovely little art house cinema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We booked on the internet to see a movie here, not knowing quite what it would be like.

Inside an old building it fills one side off the entrance atrium. Beautifully set-up like a mix between a personal/club space (eg. books on shelves, posters on walls) and a public forum, it exudes style and personality. We loved it.

There are maybe 30-40 seats in the auditorium, so it's small and cozy. They serve drinks and snacks as well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“a movie-geek's dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Miami Beach Cinematheque is a small indie movie theater located off the first floor lobby of the historic old Miami Beach City Hall at 1100 Washington Ave in South Beach. As a bonafide artsy-fartsy film-geek, I've attended this theater ever since it was at its older & smaller location on Espanola Way. Don't get me wrong, I luv the multiplex too, but places like this are needed to show films that never make it into multiplexes. They offer memberships that entitle you to $2 discounts on tkts, but even if you don't join, & even if you like mainstream multiplex movies, you can still find compelling & interesting cinematic experiences here. There's only one screen, & the audience is always small ... so small, in fact, that I often wonder how this place stays in business. I would urge anyone who cares about the future of cinema as an art-form as opposed to just a series of money-making franchises to support this place & attend some screenings at Miami Beach Cinematheque. It would be a shame if one of the few independent film venues left in this country weren't around anymore.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I were in Miami Beach for a conference and noticed that the romantic film "Before Midnight" was playing at the Cinemateque, which we had not heard about previously. The film is part of a trilogy (so far) following the romance of a couple over a nearly 20 year period. Our 41st anniversary was on Sunday of the week we were going to Miami Beach. We watched the first two films on Amazon on Monday and Tuesday night and then the newest edition at the Cinemateque on Wednesday. It is a small intimate theatre that we understand was originally built to preview new movies for critics. We loved it and would most certainly return when we get back to Miami Beach. There is a city parking deck directly behind the theatre off 12th Street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Top comfort "art movie house" in historic old City Hall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Art movie houses used to be old theaters with seats and fixtures well beyond their useful lives. The Miami Beach Cinemateque is an intimate first class theater with the latest in sound, screen and projection systems for a theater its size.

Check out the varied weekly schedules for a mixture of independent and foreign flicks. You will find the prices quite reasonable and the facilities better than your average multi-screen emporium. Public parking is located one block west in the public parking garage adjacent to the Miami Beach Police Station.

Overdue meter fines are high and towing zones are strictly enforced, so don't even think about illegal parking.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Small library feel but much nicer decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Whats not to like? You get foreign films or documentaries in a small but true theater setting, and espresso, snacks, I believe wine too. If you're local or partially local, become a member. This is the kind of place Miami needs more of! I love that it's a coupla' blocks walk from home.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Cinemateque also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Cinemateque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Beach Cinemateque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.