We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it very much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach Cinemateque

Miami Beach Cinemateque
1130 Washington Avenue, south side, ground floor, Historic City Hall, Miami Beach, FL 33119
305-673-4567
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it very much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I were in Miami Beach for a conference and noticed that the romantic film "Before Midnight" was playing at the Cinemateque, which we had not heard about previously. The film is part of a trilogy (so far) following the romance of a couple over a nearly 20 year period. Our 41st anniversary was on Sunday of the week we were going to Miami Beach. We watched the first two films on Amazon on Monday and Tuesday night and then the newest edition at the Cinemateque on Wednesday. It is a small intimate theatre that we understand was originally built to preview new movies for critics. We loved it and would most certainly return when we get back to Miami Beach. There is a city parking deck directly behind the theatre off 12th Street.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlukesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Top comfort "art movie house" in historic old City Hall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Art movie houses used to be old theaters with seats and fixtures well beyond their useful lives. The Miami Beach Cinemateque is an intimate first class theater with the latest in sound, screen and projection systems for a theater its size.

Check out the varied weekly schedules for a mixture of independent and foreign flicks. You will find the prices quite reasonable and the facilities better than your average multi-screen emporium. Public parking is located one block west in the public parking garage adjacent to the Miami Beach Police Station.

Overdue meter fines are high and towing zones are strictly enforced, so don't even think about illegal parking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SoBeSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Small library feel but much nicer decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Whats not to like? You get foreign films or documentaries in a small but true theater setting, and espresso, snacks, I believe wine too. If you're local or partially local, become a member. This is the kind of place Miami needs more of! I love that it's a coupla' blocks walk from home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small, quaint, and not just Hollywood -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want to see a great documentary, think about an important issue of modern day, learn about something you would not see anywhere in a large theatre, award winning documentary and the best part to compliment would be the actual address of a relevant speaker.. I attended "Ingredients" which was a short documentary about healthy foods available at Farmers Markets and the need to save responsible farming. The biggest factor being that Ben Cohen, of Ben and Jerry's, attended and shared his pro active actions. I realized - we need to pay more attention to issues of environment etc. - Cinemateque offers movies and speakers on ISSUES and RELEVANCE. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slovakianchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for independent film lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

So glad the Cinemathique is there. It seems underutilized by residents of miami beach. But they have an exciting, eclectic collection of independent films. The atmosphere is what you would expect of serious independent film buffs. The building itself is awesome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Cinemateque also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Cinemateque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing