We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small library feel but much nicer decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach Cinemateque

Miami Beach Cinemateque
1130 Washington Avenue, south side, ground floor, Historic City Hall, Miami Beach, FL 33119
305-673-4567
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Small library feel but much nicer decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Whats not to like? You get foreign films or documentaries in a small but true theater setting, and espresso, snacks, I believe wine too. If you're local or partially local, become a member. This is the kind of place Miami needs more of! I love that it's a coupla' blocks walk from home.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small, quaint, and not just Hollywood -”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want to see a great documentary, think about an important issue of modern day, learn about something you would not see anywhere in a large theatre, award winning documentary and the best part to compliment would be the actual address of a relevant speaker.. I attended "Ingredients" which was a short documentary about healthy foods available at Farmers Markets and the need to save responsible farming. The biggest factor being that Ben Cohen, of Ben and Jerry's, attended and shared his pro active actions. I realized - we need to pay more attention to issues of environment etc. - Cinemateque offers movies and speakers on ISSUES and RELEVANCE. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must for independent film lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

So glad the Cinemathique is there. It seems underutilized by residents of miami beach. But they have an exciting, eclectic collection of independent films. The atmosphere is what you would expect of serious independent film buffs. The building itself is awesome.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very active cinematheque and fine place with bistro, books and photos. Classics films (Chaplin, Buster Keaton) and also the top production of the year (The beasts of southern wild).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great setting, great Movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thank you Miami Beach. Keep this great tradition alive. Located in the heart of South Beach in the old City Hall, the Cinematheque plays movies and documentaries that the Multiplex won't show

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Beach Cinemateque also viewed

 

Been to Miami Beach Cinemateque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Beach Cinemateque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.