We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a weekend in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SBH South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SBH South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Hotel for a weekend in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

One of my girl friends and I stayed here for a weekend in Miami in August of 2015. We loved it. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They asked about the things we did and the places we went which made us feel very safe and take care of. Additionally there is a 24 concierge at the front desk, an added plus. The breakfast that comes with the rooms in fantastic. Also, the hotel comes with beach chairs and beach towels. It isn't a five star hotel, but it perfect for the price you pay, the location, and everything that comes with it!

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    82
    50
    18
    22
See reviews for
54
75
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited Miami with family, had 2 rooms for almost a week. Everything was fine until we lost a expensive pair of Maui Jims in the car valet. Just one thing that we mistakenly forgot one night in the car and gave it for valet. The hotel staff did not take any responsibility for this theft although they charged good $38 per day for the valet. And asked us to contact the valet guys as according to them this was a third party facility!! The staff made no efforts to trace the theft which would have been easy to find out only if they had helped.
Moreover we were charged $20 per day per room towards wifi and breakfast which was apparently complimentary and was not mentioned as chargeable in the first place. The lady at the counter in the mornings was always clueless of anything we asked.
The hotel amenities like breakfast, pools are scattered and not under one roof. This is not clarified while booking. The rooms are in one building, the breakfast in other and the pools in a separate bldg. These guys are not transparent in their costs!! And the lobby always smelt funny.
Please check every cost before booking this place and be aware of the valet thieves!!!

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you for providing excellent service during my stay at SBH. As someone who also works in the hospitality management industry, I can truly say that SBH has a lot of great qualities in this realm. Along with a clean, well designed and operated environment, a highlight of my stay was having such dedicated and delightful concierge service from Jonathan.

He went out of his way to make sure my friends and I were fully taken care of. His understanding of customer service and operations was impeccable and I absolutely recommend him for a managerial position.

Thank you guys and I look forward to my next stay at SBH!

Sheyne Grullon

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very good hotel, reallity is better than photos, we were there in room 210 per 1 week and all be very good.

Clean, everyone super nice, breakfast at Bloosom is awesome, the pool is a little small and in another hotel, but it's ok for us.

Room was fantastic, super full of stuff to eat and drink, and again, always clean and modern. It would be nice a bigger safe for 13' laptops, but this is just to said something.

Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An excellent deal at one and a half block from the beach. Super clean and spacious, recently renovated room. All the staff are extremely helpful and nice. Everything was smooth, the access to the beach is granted as well as the basics on the beach. Great deal, would go back.

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The SBH South Beach Hotel is a fab hotel in South Beach Miami!
A great location just next to Collins Av and one block from the stunning beach.
Great service at the hotel, Jonathan at the main desk was a real nice guy and really helpful. Great FREE Wifi in the rooms which was fab for the kids.

Will defo stay there again when we go back to Miami!

Room Tip: Great location, close to all the nightlife!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in South Beach before, and all of my experiences have been mediocre. We decided to stay here on our last night and were pleasantly surprised.

Upon arrival (about 12 pm, check in is at 4pm) the man at the front desk was very friendly (I can't remember his name!). We asked if there was a way to check in early and he was very accommodating and got us a room within 15 minutes. Our room was pretty clean and spacious enough for 2 people. The bed was pretty comfortable.There is free breakfast at a place around the corner, which wasn't bad. There are two pools that you can go to at a couple of hotels around the corner. Beach service is also included.

Pros: This is probably the friendliest encounter I've had with hotel staff. Both of the guys that were at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful our entire stay. The room was clean (minus the bathroom). Flat screen Tv (Direct Tv channels). Very short walking distance to the beach as well as some bars/clubs.

Cons: The shower is dirty. It could use a nice deep clean with all of the grout and dirt that are in between the tiles as well as the shower head. Needless to say, flip flops need to be worn inside. Also, the trash can was super dirty inside and missing a trash bag. The pools are a little smaller than expected (but not a deal breaker, especially when the ocean is right there!). I was also a little bummed when I saw that you had to pay $2 to use the coffee maker in your room. The art is odd (pictures of Toy Story, Barbies, Michael Jordan - including a photo of Toy Story's Woody drawing on a drunk & passed out Buzz Lightyear hanging right above our bed). Walls are pretty thin.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place and go back myself. It's a good value for what you pay for. Anything that we didn't particularly care for, was overshadowed by the genuine friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably quieter, we were on the first floor and could hear people walking by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#77 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#44 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Croydon
Hotel Croydon
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.