We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect noise level during Memorial Day Wknd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SBH South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SBH South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“perfect noise level during Memorial Day Wknd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I absoluetly loved SBH. The location wasn't bad. The space was nice. Perfect for a girls weekend getaway. Very clean and friendly staff. 24 hour security. I felt safe the entire time. Jonathan one of the front desk workers was awesome. He remembered my name since the moment we checked in. The door men were FINEEE and soooo sweet and helpful. FREE WIFI!!!!!!!

Room Tip: call ahead. But all rooms where great. Housekeeping called me to see when I was ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    45
    15
    19
See reviews for
42
62
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently stayed at SBH with my wife for 1 week. This place was clearly recently renovated as the whole thing looked brand new. Very cool art work was on all the walls. The place is right across from the beach and overlooks a beautiful park. We had pool access around the corner and the hotel even had it's own private beach. In addition we got free breakfast, and not just some bread and rolls, but an a la carte hot breakfast we could choose. Staff was friendly, gave us great tips, room was spacious, and the lobby was beautiful. Next time I'm in the US, I will try to come here again.

Room Tip: Second Floor Corner Rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A gem, I did a lot of looking! I was working a few days outside of Miami and in need of some Sun & Vitamin Sea, I wanted a hip, clean, safe place to spend a few days relaxing, this was a the spot. A short walk to the beach, right next to the art district, shopping and local farmers market. Interior was eclectic and fun, front desk was courteous, polite and helpful! I never found the shared rooftop pool, but I was here for the beach! I would return and stay here.

Room Tip: I had a spacious room, double bed, big enough for 3-4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nicely renovated boutique Art Deco hotel. Across from the park with a museum and library. Room was spacious enough, comfortable, well designed, and carefully appointed. Contemporary details, mini bar, king bed with lots of pillows. Nothing was over the top but everything was very nice. I suppose that's also what made it very affordable. We liked that it was on 21st Street which put it a bit above the craziness of "deep South Beach" by Ocean Avenue but close to everything. A couple of nice surprises included the free breakfast at a very close-by new restaurant called the Orange Blossom. The pancakes were terrific and good coffee. The wait staff was friendly and remembered us every morning and welcomed us like we were friends and family. We liked the restaurant so much that we went back one evening for dinner. It was yum. (That's for another positive review!)
Another nice hotel surprise was the helpful hotel staff. All friendly and no attitude. That is less common these days. Welcomed us every time we came in and wished us a good time when we went out. Always assisted with directions and any requests. The last great surprise was the rooftop pool that we could use at a sister hotel very close by and also the beach access with chairs and umbrellas a short walk away. The SBH was a great find with only good surprises. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nothing but great things to say about this hotel. The staff was great! Absolutely loved the rooftop pool and lounge, the bartenders made the best drinks. And when we walked over to the beach, we received complimentary beach chairs. Definitely would recommend and will go back.....

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pembroke pines, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during a work related weekend. I must say no interruptions and friendly staff. The room was spacious and clean with great A/C. Flat screen TV offered many channels and shower was great. Close to beach and nightlife but away from the loud clubs and crowd on ocean drive and Washington Ave. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Miami Beach. General Manager Jimmy a true professional.

Room Tip: Any room here is top shelf
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share and rate your experience with us.

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you last week. We are thrilled that our location was a key element to your stay as well as the friendly staff and renovated hotel rooms.

We hope to welcome you back home soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed one night in SBH south beach. We loved the hotel, it had a Art Deco look and vibe.
Our room was probably one of the nicest we had on our road trip with a super modern bathroom too. The shower was large and excellent. Lovely toiletries.
The best thing about our room was the mini bar, the best mini bar we have ever had and prices were reasonable for a mini bar.

The room was of good size with a king bed and overlooked the street. I don't think there would have been any rooms with a view as it was a very urban area.

The location was excellent, less than 5 min walk to the beach, bars and restaurants were also close by. If I remember rightly we were on 21st street, the hub and buzz was in and around 3rd and 4th street, however we walked there and it did not take long when you walk along board walk taking in the glorious views and passers by.

Couple of negatives: 1) staff were not very friendly or helpful.
2) we booked via booking.com, we thought we had a good price, however be warned there are many hidden extras. We had to pay for the car park for one night, this included vale parking and was approx $37, we had to pay taxes
For using the beach (we only used the boardwalk), swimming pool tax, which we didn't use. Room tax and Various other taxes. We did try to dispute these charges to no avail.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.