We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at SBH south beach hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added SBH South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SBH South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“stay at SBH south beach hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at sbh for 5 days and was upset when we had to leave cause we enjoyed our stay so much. The rooms were newly renovated so they had a brand new feel to it. Throughout the entire stay we were treated wonderfully by the staff and went out of their way to make sure we were happy.The location of the hotel is perfect on 21st street a block away from collins. Its a quiet area and a 5 min walk away from lincoln rd which was perfect!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,


Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    41
    13
    18
See reviews for
37
48
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked two rooms at SBH, one for my husband and I, and one for our two kids. Upon check-in, we were informed there would be a $20 additional daily 'incidental fee' per room for beach towels, internet access etc. This fee had not been included in our booking, and it was a real breach of trust. If we'd wanted to pay $20 more per room per night, then we would have chosen another hotel.

As to the hotel itself: the location is good, just on the edge of SoBe. The rooms are comfortable and of a good size. Our room's toilet was broken, and was repaired. Our AC never worked properly, despite maintenance. The pool, which we'd read was in a hotel around the corner, is about a block and a half away and really terrible--on a rooftop (no shade), tiny and just ugly. Breakfast at the Orange Blossom was good, if limited. Beach is lovely, though the $20 doesn't cover an umbrella--that's an additional $10.

It's a nice enough hotel, but those hidden fees are a real deal-breaker, and really effected how we felt about staying there. We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

We are happy to hear you were pleased with our location and breakfast option, and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you went through regarding our service fee. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary wi-fi, beach access, breakfast and 2 espressos per day that were included daily.

We hope you will change your mind, and choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got back from Miami Beach and so happy with my stay at SBH. The hotel is the perfect affordable get away smack in the middle of South beach away from all the craziness on ocean drive. The staff was very accommodating in making our stay as pleasurable as possible. I would tell anyone to stay at this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I will pass along your compliments to the entire team.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,


Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great. Location can't be beat with an awesome room to sleep in every night, there is not much more you can ask for. A minute walk away from the beach where they set you up with lounge chairs. A complimentary breakfast at their restaurant orange blossom. The staff constantly makes sure that your enjoying your stay. With affordable rates during high season in miami I will 100% be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I will pass along your compliments to the entire team.

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfy bed. Great interior design choices. The lobby smells really good and the art is great. Our first floor room looked out over a pile of garbage, shower leaked, phone didn't work and windows do not open. Good house keeping. Our room was always clean when we came home and they carry a great line of bathroom products. If you are non pretentious and are in a pinch this hotel is just fine. Great location and good price. We walked everywhere and when we couldn't walk, uber taxi rides were exceptionally cheap! Beach right across the street.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback.

I apologize for the challenges that you faced while being our guest, but am happy to hear you enjoyed our room cleanliness, quality and design.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I picked this hotel for its location and price. My room was very noisy. Lot's of hallway noise from housekeeping banging on doors talking loudly etc. Started early AM and never seemed to stop. Make sure you get a room at the end of a hall which may have less traffic. They can't get you in your room until 4pm yet check out is 11am and there are *absolutely* no late checkouts offered and this seems to be strictly enforced. I've traveled the world and never seen a 11am checkout! Front desk staff is really rigged and lacks any warmth. They are professional just cold which translates in to a hotel with no personality. The rooms are clean and modern but filled with so much overpriced stuff for sale you feel like you're sleeping inside the minibar!

Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am delighted to read that we met your expectations on our hotel product and location, however, I apologize for the challenges that you faced during your stay. Our front desk team is consistently recognized by our guests for their exceptional service. As we are always striving to improve our level of service and amenities, would you be kind enough to reach out to me directly so that we can get further clarification?

I hope to speak with you soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
jimmy @ thinkhotelgrp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were going to the Antique convention at the Miami Beach convention center and wanted a place within walking distance that wasn't in the middle of the chaos of Collins Avenue. This hotel is conveniently situated just a half block off Collins, a block and a half from the beach and out of the noisy fray of South Beach night life. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff was helpful (night manager Michelle was very good). Bed is very comfortable. Good middle-to-upper level hotel. Not a lot of on site amenities, but perfect for business.

Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review.

I am glad that our location was a key element to your vacation and even more delighted to hear our room size as well as our friendly staff exceeded your expectations. I have shared your kind words to the team, especially to Michelle. They are appreciative of your review and wanted to thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.