We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SBH South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SBH South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is very nice, especially for the price. Clean and plenty of space for two. Loved the Art Deco theme. Customer service was also good, helpful staff. It is walking distance to the beach and shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. Check out the pool next door if you get a chance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    35
    12
    17
See reviews for
30
33
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a find this was! I stayed here in July for Miami Swim Week. A three block walk (about 10 min) to the Miami Beach Convention Center.
Only a few blocks to all the fun restaurants (all inside swanky hotels) on Collins.
The hotel, is beautifully Art Deco and without water views, it's one block away from the beach.
The staff is phenomenal - they did everything they could to make my stay comfortable. I arrived early, and Omar and MaryRose ran around the hotel to double check clean rooms, and get my colleague and I checked in and situated after red-eye flights. The entire front desk staff gave excellent customer service and really showcased that their guests are too priority. Even Michelle, who helped me with an early check-out to catch my very early flight, made sure my bill was organized and I understood all the charges so I could have a speedy exit.
The hotel was clean, good area and excellent staff - it's a great find!

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 4 nights here and loved it. Staff were extremley helpful and friendly, location was great ( 2mins to beach and 10 mins to lincoln road walking). Hotel may not have all features of large chains but this did not matter at all as pool next door and restaurant just round corner. Everyhting was clean and NO problems with bugs at all ( like in some reviews???)
All in all had a great 4 night stay in miami thanks SBH

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ran into trouble when we just found out on arrival that our B & B had been closed by the Miami authorities due to gas pipeline problems... The alternative they suggested was two blocks away and it turned out to be SBH. I must say that probably we ended out with a better option. We loved the beautiful art deco building, so typical in Miami, and the roof-top swimming pool conveniently located in the sister hotel next door.
I would highlight the positives:
- very nice decoration, with very good smell once you enter the lobby,
- hotel has been renovated, everything is new and in good condition,
- roof-top pool is a fantastic place to relax at the end of the day, with a superb view over South Beach "skyline" of big art deco hotels,
- fantastic location - very central, yet calm - near to where all the action happens in Ocean Blvd, Lincoln Road and the Spanish quarter,

Only some minor negative constraints:
- breakfast included only for 2, but we were 3 persons - not normal,
- breakfast is too scarce, really too frugal, maybe SBH should consider reviewing what is going on at Orange Blossom.....
- our room 202 had an inside door to a contiguous room (I believe room 204), the problem is that you can hear the noise from that room ....Luckily our "neighbors" were discreet, but woke us up while leaving very early in one morning.

But all in all our experience at SBH was very nice on the last two days of our US summer 2014 trip.

Parking tip - if you park in ZONE 4 (MUSEUM, without parking meters) during the day it is FREE, that's why it is difficult to find a parking spot. But during the night you need a Residents pass that we got from the B & B that we booked originally for 20 USD/day. Parking in the hotel costs 35 USD/day.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 202 and 204 because they have interconnected doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmont
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel the first week of August . When I arrived the outside of the hotel was exactly like the pictures shown on the website. I forgot the woman's name at the front desk when I checked in but she was very helpful. I stayed in room 213 which was on the second floor. The room was beautiful and spacious . The lamp over the desk didn't work . The bulb probably blew . I loved the blue lights that stayed on at night . For those who knock into things when they get up in the middle of the night . The only complaint I have is that they ran out if wash clothes other than that the stay was great ! It's around the corner from Collins and not around all the party hotels . I would of never gotten any sleep. I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are pleased to hear that our Location, Spacious and Quiet Rooms exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks beautiful from the outside. Very miami Art Deco! Was welcomed on entrance, the staff are so accommodating. Jessie really looked after us Helped with every little detail. The manager Jimmy is the sweetest guy! Really helped us out with our stay overall.

The room was very spacious, big windows in the front and the bed was super comfy!
Art work around the hotel and in the bedrooms really adds an edgy touch. I think the artist is Santlov

The location is amazing. The hotel is a block away from the beach and a 5min walk to Lincoln road mall..



The hotel doesn't have an inside kitchen yet however there linked to a restaurant called orange blossom. We ate dinner there great food and the ambience is very chilled and relaxed. And it's opened late!

The SBH is also part of The Boulan.. It's right next door so convienient to use the rooftop pool.

Overall I love this hotel. It's low key very new and out of the way of touristy areas but close enough to walk to them. And if you don't like walking you can hire a deco bike across the street from the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I will pass along your kind words to Jessica. I am delighted to hear that our Hotel Location, Comfortable Beds, Beach Access and helpful Staff exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon. Feel free to contact me personally for your next booking.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel location is OK is away from all the tourist noise which is fine. The staff is very nice and helpful. Upon walk in it theres a weird damp smell but very quiet.The room was suitable I just couldn't deal with the ants they were every where!! I put my bottle of water down and they attack it. I was very upset because they charge you for every single thing in the room you get nothing free they would charge you for ice if they could. The room snacks water etc was a bit pricey bring your own. Our toilet got clogged at least 2-3 times a day(YES WE HAD TO PLUNGE OUR OWN TOILET) When you shower it leaves huge puddles of water on the floor because the shower is open. The continental breakfast selection is a waste of time. The pool next door on the rooftop was actually nice I guess because its consider a different hotel(I would rather stay there). So as we were leaving I got a bill for $45 for damaged towels and wash cloths which was insane. I have never in my life heard of damage wash cloths and hand towels(DID I MENTION THEY RAN OUT OF WASH CLOTHS) which is so insane. They remove the charge after we told them about our Toilet issue. Would I stay here absolutely not!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the challenges that you faced while being our guest. Would you be kind enough to reach out to me at jimmy@thinkhotelgrp.com so that we can further discuss your stay?

I hope to speak with you soon so that we can address all your concerns.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.