We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service, but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SBH South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SBH South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Chester, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service, but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I arrived today at 3:30 ready to check in ( check in is at 3:00). We had to wait until 5:00 to check in because our room was not ready/ clean yet. The front desk clerk did not apologize for this inconvenience. He was actually down right rude. He also would not check our bags until our room was ready. Instead he said we could leave them in the lobby, but he would not be responsible for them. In all my years of travel, I really have never experienced such rude customer service. The price and location are good, and the rooms seem clean , however I will not come back here based on the very poor customer service. Finally, there is no parking...and no valet. You have to look for street parking. Really...I regret booking ths hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust with our upgraded rooms and renovated hotel.

We have also added Valet parking service to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    82
    50
    18
    22
See reviews for
54
75
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I agree with many of the reviews in that best thing is the location.However it can still be noisy from guests outside and the road.They lost my booking ,much hassle and eventually found us rooms.No apologies or gesture for all the trouble they put us through plus expensive phone call to our travel agent in Europe.Fundamentally management is poor because they don't actually care.Some of the staff are very pleasant its just the management !South Beach still buzzing with people..so they don't need to!If you are not American I really can think of so many better places to go than Miami a waanabe look at me culture for the young and insecure

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust with our upgraded rooms and renovated hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night in March 2013. From the outside you think it is a classy art deco Hotel. Inside it is functional, clean, and modern. We were checked in by a guy on reception who should not be working in a customer facing job, no welcome, no smile as if we were his problem rather than a paying guest. I think he spoke 3 words. He took forever on the computer. No offer of help with the luggage, a "take it or leave it attitude" We went up to the room and it could have been any budget hotel room in the world, like an Ibis if you know European hotel chains. Functional but clean. We walked down Ocean drive all the way to Park Hotel and it took around 20 mins, we got a taxi back. Next morning we walked about 5 mins and you was on the great beach. So if you want a basic hotel not too far from the action book this one. If you want to live the dream and pretend you are on the set of Miami Vice then I suggest to choose another one lower down Ocean Drive where you can park your Ferrari outside.

On check out our bill was incorrect and did not take into account our pre paid voucher. It took forever on the computer as the receptionist banged away at the keyboard for about 15mins in silence, we then dragged our suitcases to the wating taxi, no offer of help once again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the entrance and was OK, you can park outside on parking meters to unload and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The location is super - the hotel is located two blocks from the beach, five blocks from Lincoln Road (lots of restaurants) and seven blocks from Ocean Drive. However, the hotel is not super. Our room was a good size, but the bathroom window did not close and we faced the street. At times it felt like we were sleeping outside. There were no frills. When I needed plastic cups for the bathroom, I had to hunt them down.

The hotel does not have parking, and parking in the lot behind the hotel is $45 per day. Parking on the street is only for 8 hours at a time. We found an outdoor parking lot two blocks away (behind the Bass Museum) charging $20 per day. Best deal.

Breakfast is not included, and it is not cheap. But, the two gentlemen who serve breakfast are delightful. The gentleman behind the front desk - not so much. We were able to request to check out an hour later, which was helpful for extra beach time.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the street. If the bathroom window open, ask if there is some way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust with our upgraded rooms and renovated hotel.

We now do offer Valet Parking Service right on our curbside.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel,and staff were so so helpful and friendly,two names that stand out for us,is Jane in the dining room,who was nothing but caring,helpful,kind and a laugh,i did not want to leave,and she gave us a big hug the morning we left, but must say the breakfasts were just brilliant ,and a great choice every morning, then there was Troy at reception,always had a smile on his face,and everyday had a different coloured shirt on,which we always remarked on and that made him smile more,but like all the other staff at reception they were all lovely in the same way,its just a job to remember there names. Then there was our room attendant Shekera?? she was so helpful,kind and caring and our room was very spacious on the second floor,beatiful views of the sea. Would we go back,"YOU BET". The beach was just across the road,where we was every day,or you could go into the pool,just outside from reception. Perfect location,shops 2 mins away,10 mins drive from the Gap,and Oistins on a friday night must not be a missed. Saving up now for next year now, (and a hat for Janes wedding)ha ha.Linda Dear and Ossie Arthur, Bedfordshire.

Room Tip: We was on second floor,had good sea views, so i guess higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Planned my trip and called the front to notify them that I was coming in on a red eye the next morning. I was advised that if I wanted a room, I need to book for the night before as check in begins in the afternoon.

I called the hotel and told the front desk that I was arriving next morning, and when I arrived they gave my double room away the night before as I was a "no show"

Unhappy, I asked to speak with the manager, and she was immediately defensive of her staff, shifted blame to me and tried to force her issue by labeling me as aggressive. Although we were provided with 20% off that night for a single king size room, it doesn't make up the difference in the night I previously paid for.

The king size room has an open shared shower/toilet, so once you shower, the entire floor is wet for hours. Thus, you need to wear shoes to go to the bathroom. Due to the water, some areas of the wall have rot. Water temperature also did not get very hot, and shower lacked water pressure.

The double room we eventually were able to move to had a separate tub/shower, so that issue was resolved.

The two gentleman that have their own little restaurant inside the hotel are very nice and accommodating.

Other than the graveyard shift staff, the others were not as hospitable.

No parking at hotel, but there is a garage on 20th. Cash only about $30/night with in and out privileges. Just be sure to plan ahead when you get your car because they are not fast. Average wait time was about 12 minutes.

No water or snacks to purchase, but there is a Walgreens on 23rd a couple blocks away.

Overall, if you want to be in South Beach and just need a room, it will suffice. Just get the double room. I would also recommend second floor.

Room Tip: Double room, Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust with our upgraded rooms and renovated hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent 3 nights at the South Beach hotel with a group of friends recently. By far the best thing this hotel has going for it is location and price. For this price, it is hard to beat the location. One block from the beach and just a short walk or easy cab ride away from all the top hotels and bars. The rooms were clean and perfectly acceptable. You definitely are paying for what you get, which in this case, isn't luxury, but I found little to complain about. The staff were a bit slow with check in, but were otherwise quite helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel
Townhouse Hotel
#109 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 834 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#121 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#78 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Croydon
Hotel Croydon
#16 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.