We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Access to the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SBH South Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SBH South Beach Hotel to your Saves list
SBH South Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Access to the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in January 2013. Loved the breakfast room which looks out to the pool and beach. I arrived early (like 8 am), after more than 20 hours flight from Sydney and was given a room and a breakfast (free)! I wanted to hug the nice friendly receptionists.

The location was great, with beach access, bus, restaurants and nightclubs around. The room was adequate though my boyfriend found the bathroom a bit small (LOL, he's getting a bit fat, I think). The air conditioning was a bit noisy but we could open the windows to enjoy the sea breeze. The conceige sent me to a wrong location for the post office but I had a good walk around the area and found a nearer post office. All came out well. I would recommend friends to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We have also moved our Beach Access closer right on 21st Street where our hotel is located and still offer 2 Beach Chairs daily as part of our service fee.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    74
    48
    17
    19
See reviews for
47
68
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

When I first got here, I asked for parking area. However, the front desk told me you can park whatever you want. I seem a very bad answer. I asked him again that do you have any recommend for parking, and he still answered you should find the parking by yourself around this hotel. Then, when I asked for buying bus and boat trip, he changed his character dramatically. He explained as good as he can, but he still give me a wrong information. He told me the tour would finish and get to hotel at 4pm, so I purchased parking by 5pm. However, the tour finish at 4:30pm, and the bus took me to the hotel at 5:10pm. Fortunately, I did not get a ticket. Worse experience hotel I have had in my life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We apologize for the inconvenience that you had. We hope that you will give us another chance to regain your trust with our upgraded rooms and renovated hotel. We now also provide the option to Valet Park your vehicle.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Travelled down by coach to this exotic resort from Washington D.C stopping off @ different locations on the way.this was the bees knees for me lovely hot sun gorgerous beach just not enough time spent before our flight home Must return some day please!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Overall the hotel is clean and good for stopover in Miami.

Unfortunately, due to the relaunch of the restaurant the elevator was used greatly. Well, it broke. Hey is understand, charm of a vintage hotel.

However, where the hotel fell short. There was no notification to guest of the broken elevator. No signs posted, nor offer to assist guests with luggage as checking out. They sheepishly avoided the obvious problem.

Instead of turning around an awkward situation ... Their attitude made the dilemma irritating and weird.

Hey, I am not a snob, nor do I expect everything to run perfectly. So when problems arise, it's the open honest attitude and helpful work arounds that usually win me over and make me a loyal.

Best of luck with the hotel. If you like a location close to the beach... And a great price try it out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay and apologize for the attitude in the previous staff. We hope you will give us another chance in the future so we may showcase the exceptional customer service that we can provide.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Moved from the Delores to South Beach hotel because of a 10$ price difference. Best 10$ i've spent, rooms were clean and spacious and the staff was great. The location is about 2 blocks away from all the action which is a big plus if you want to get sleep. I would definatly stay here again and you should too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us in 2013 and writing such a nice review!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples.fl
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel was nice,clean & comfortable although we checked in and got our room then when we got in our room and we had no towels. The hotel isn't close to ocean drive(south beach) you have to walk approximately several blocks. Very old building it seemed like, the room keys are actual keys & to use a bathroom in the lobby you have to get a key from the receptionist. Make sure you put exactly how many people are in the room when you reserve a room or else they charge you extra. Receptionists not too friendly also. Then at night you can hear people walking upstairs and then you can hear people outside coming back to their hotels or wherever at all times of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay and have upgraded our Room Key System since. We cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our new room upgrades.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The South Beach Hotel is your basic hotel. Check in went smoothly. Our room, on the corner of the first floor, was spacious, but the TV was small and perched up on a corner. The problem with our room location is that it faces out towards the streets and the windows aren't well sealed or double paned - you hear all the noise going on outside.

The bathroom was on the smaller side and no counter space; just a little ledge. In my opinion, hotel bathrooms should offer plenty of counter space.

Other nits are the spotty wi-fi, which is complimentary in the hotel and no a/c in our room. I know we're close to the ocean and all, but a/c should just be a given.

We paid too much for this room (~$250/night). If you're able to get it for much less, then it's worth it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2015
Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

We are pleased to announce that our hotel has gone under complete renovation since your last visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your last stay with us and cannot wait to have you return and enjoy our upgraded 42" flat screen TV's.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SBH South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SBH South Beach Hotel

Address: 236 21st Street, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SBH South Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique contemporary boutique hotel is located in the heart of South Beach's Art deco District. Walking distance to world famous Ocean Drive, Lincoln Rd Mall restaurants, nightlife and sandy beaches. Renovated in a contemporary style that provides all the conveniences required by today's travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your SBH South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel South Beach
South Beach Hotel Miami
Miami Beach South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SBH South Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.