We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place for kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Save Saved
You added Clinton Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clinton Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not a place for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I took my family and was surprised, not good. It is a few doors down from the Erotica Museum and there were ads in the hotel. There was an "intimacy kit" in the room that I did not open. Overall the room as average. We had two rooms. One was bigger than the other and that was nice. The breakfast was average also. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have kids find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    334
    193
    152
    122
See reviews for
103
404
75
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at the Clinton for a quick weekend trip. Great location. Short walk to the beach. They provide you with beach chairs and towels if you want as well.
Breakfast was included. Its basic but does the job.
Great/friendly staff.
Walls are pretty thin but you're not on South Beach to be in the room, so it was no big deal.
Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Hotel staff is friendly but untrained, they have no guidance as to how to treat guests. Hotel has had a cheap facelift and it shows. Housekeeping is horrible!!! Wrappers, candy under the bed, not mine & was there the whole week! Never replaced soap, shampoo, etc. Never cleaned-up the bathroom. No hot water, barely warm. No drawers, only closet. Breakfast included but only served as of 8:30 and no choice...spongy scrambled eggs, potatoes & bad coffee. $10 for a fruit cup!!! Free happy hour served cheap booze, headache making stuff in a plastic cup....available 7pm to 8pm when everyone is at dinner! Pool is a little bit bigger than a jacuzzi and area is really run down. Can hear everything in the hallway or next room and at all hours of the night. This is NOT a hotel for anyone over 21.

Room Tip: get a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We wanted to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced but please do understand that during spring break week the entire beach is full of spring breakers . Our south beach boutique hotel is much quieter compare to other South beach hotels in the area. Depending on the city wide events the demographics tends to change for the entire city. Please contact me during your future stays because i want to take care personally of you and your stay.

Thanks Again
Best regards
Luigi T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed there for an overnight for a connection flight. Decided to have some fun by staying right on South Beach. Excellent location. Walking distance to many things. Rooms are clean, though not very spacious. For the rate can't be beat. Don't depend on the shuttle has funky times. Make sure you check that out.

Room Tip: No views from rooms on the side. But they'er at least quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We loved staying at The Clinton! Great price for a nice room, great breakfast, good Happy Hour! The manager really took care of us. Everyone was so nice! Great location!! Walking distance to a bunch of restaurants and the beach too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A big disappointment overall. We have stayed at other SB hotels and has some idea what to expect. The walls are paper thin. You don't have to have loud neighbours to hear an average conversation very clearly. Unbearble at times. I wasn't ready for soap scum in the soap dish from the last guest and a very dirty bathroom mirror. There was shoe prints on one wall?? The room was not professionally painted and table surfaces had peeling paint on them. The window blind
was broken and could not be completely closed for privacy. Not an immediate issue as we faced a brick wall. The restaurant staff changes weekly and don't speak any english. Don't even think about going for any reason other that the happy hour offer.
i suspect if you see a good on this hotel review it has been written by the staff.

Room Tip: If you must stay here ensure that you get a quiet room with better soundproofing between rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Clinton hotel

Pros:
Very close to the beach

Good location for shops, restaurants

Free comedy night on Tuesdays (was a bit lame but it was free!)

Concierge arranged a coach to take us to sawgrass outlet mall for $30 return (takes about 1-1.5 hours)

Complained (nicely) about the thin walls and noise and we got upgraded to a suite room with a jacuzzi! Walls were still thin though!

Free beach towels available from reception so no need to worry about bringing your own

Shower is decent, although it was much better in the suite than in the regular room!

Free airport shuttle between 9am-4pm which helps save cost of taxi to the airport; they also have a shuttle from the airport but the last shuttle is at 4.30pm so we arrived too late to use it. Make sure you book the shuttle the day before as the slots may get booked up or the shuttle won't come if it's not been booked. Our shuttle took us straight to the airport and didn't make any additional stops at any other hotels.

Front desk staff were very helpful and friendly; my motto in life is you get what you give so make sure you always smile and are friendly to people and they will generally do the same back! I have no complaints about the front desk staff at all and as I already mentioned they were very helpful in changing our room when we complained about the noise.


Cons:
Very thin walls! You can hear everything neighbours say and do!!

Breakfast is very small and lame! Small plate of potatoes and egg and watered down soda! Plus you're expected to leave a tip! We found a cafe called manolos and they have a very decent breakfast for $8 so we just went there instead

Complimentary 'cocktails' consisted of watered down rum, vodka or gin with watered down mixer! Went once and didn't bother going again as it's just a waste of time! Plenty of nice proper cocktail selections along the beach and they have happy hour so you can get 2 huge cocktails for $25 or 2 regular sized ones for $15!

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel, especially with our upgraded room but be prepared for thin walls and hearing your neighbours!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clinton Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Hotel South Beach

Address: 825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clinton Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2004, Step out of the Clinton Hotel South Beach and into one of the most electrifying destinations in the world. The Clinton is a boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami nestled in the middle of world class clubs, restaurants and shopping, all while being just steps from the white sandy beaches that Miami and South Beach are famous for. The Clinton Hotel South Beach boutique hotel follows its own muse with its cutting edge design and innovation and abandoning most conventional ideals of hotel design. The result is an ultra-cool, intimate South Beach hotel and sexy place to stay when visiting one of the world's most popular destinations.The guestroom accommodations are edgy, quirky and sexy. The staff is hip, cool, and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Clinton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Clinton Hotel And Spa Miami
Clinton Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinton Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.