We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clinton Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Clinton Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel. Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Great location. Stayed for one nite sun march 10th. Good hotel for a few nites. Most impt. VERY CLEAN room. Would stay again in the future. Front desk was great wit our requests such as towels and valet being on time. Thanks staff

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    364
    217
    170
    139
See reviews for
113
446
80
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The rooms were pretty spacious. The bathrooms were ok (a little dark but ok). The pool was nonexistent but the beach was just a few blocks away. The restaurant seemed to be lacking. Overall, not terrible but not great. Just a door away from the Kardashian's boutique Dash so there would be a lot of tourists just outside the hotel taking pics of the store haha.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsti D, Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback and recent stay with us. I regret to hear the bathroom lightning and pool did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to specify that our pool is indeed not a full Swimming Pool, but rather a Refreshing Pool. Please feel free to contact us directly next time you are travelling to Miami so that we could personally ensure a satisfying stay.

Regards,
Clinton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Chose this hotel based on mostly positive reviews and we got a decent rate (relatively speaking) through Expedia. Overall we had a good experience and would recommend it to most people (see cons below).

Pros
Location is very good, walking distance to the beach, tons of restaurants and shopping. Room was fine, clean, with a good size shower and bathroom. Newer TV, fridge, iPod dock were also nice to have. The Hotel has some great freebies as well. Airport shuttle, beach towels, beach chairs and drinks from 7-8pm are all free. Pool area was also nice and it seems most hotels in this price range don’t even have one. Didn’t eat a full meal at the restaurant so can’t comment there. Limited options for continental breakfast but we both found something to eat anyway. No problems with staff as others had mentioned, but we didn’t come across any major issues during our 3 night stay.

Cons
Light sleepers may want to avoid this place. My girlfriend was awoken many times by people in the halls and other rooms. This seems to be a popular spot for partiers. The hotel definitely lacks any sort of noise isolation as you can hear lots of sounds, talking etc. from other rooms and outside. Our regular room had a view of a wall...not the best but we didn’t stay here for the scenery.

Other than the noise issues, we liked the hotel overall and would recommend it. Bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper though!

Feel free to message me with questions.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room, if there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsti D, Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your recent stay with us. Delighted to hear you were satisfied with the location, room and our extra services. It is true that not all historic Art Deco hotel buildings in South Beach have a pool area or provide free shuttle service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Clinton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hidden secret was a great stay. Just two blocks off Ocean Drive and also from SB gems like Wet Willies, this hotel is a great alternative to the Art Deco of the Ocean Dr. Hotels. This is a very trendy, Botique-ish style hotel that has very nice upgrade and spacious rooms. Our room had a transparent glass corner wall that look out into the bed room and also had a full size Jacuzzi tub on a private open air balcony. The staff was very helpful and friendly that showed a genuine interest is making sure our stay was all we wanted. Rooms, lobby and the entire hotel was well kept and clean. I think my only complaint was the ice machine was located on another floor. I highly recommend this hotel. I will most likely stay there again when in South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Hotel's location was great! The room was a nice size and the shower was amazing. The hallways were a bit dark, and the elevator to small. We had a small problem with our bathroom sink, but maintenance came right up and fixed it. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weehawken, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

`My overall experience at this hotel was decent. Based on reviews and travel photos I expected worse. I got the queen sized bedroom. It wasn't HUGE but big enough for two people to keep their luggage without being cramped. I've stayed at many hotels on Ocean Drive and this was alot better than those, which tend to be alot smaller. The hotel lobby is very nice, the staff is friendly overall. The cleaning people came on a timely basis and cleaned thoroughly. I had no issues about the cleanliness of the rooms. The pool is very small, but the cabana area is nice. In my personal opinion I liked this location better than staying on Ocean Drive because for one thing its not as hectic as Ocean, however close enough so you can get their in a two minute walk. It is in a prime location right near Wet Willies and Mangos, but being on Washington, near several restaurants and shopping areas that aren't being pushed by those annoying people begging you to eat at their restaurant on Ocean.
They also give you a free happy hour everyday from 7 to 8 p.m. So I can't complain about that. Its all house liquor. Don't expect top shelf for free.

These are my negatives however.

DON'T EAT HERE !

The fact they give you continental breakfast is great, but pretty lousy. The free bkfst isn't too filling. Either a bagel with cream cheese or a muffin. The bagels and muffins do not taste fresh either. Since the continental wasn't filling we decided to order the "Power Breakfast" which was pancakes bacon home fries and eggs. Though presentation was nice, the food was HORRIBLE. The eggs literally tasted rotten, the pancakes stale, the bacon looked so old. I was so annoyed I asked them to give me a new order. They were apologetic for the food being bad, but ended up giving me a fresh order of the same crap ! The eggs were def expired and since the guy ran out of bacon gave me steak, which was disgusting. And how do you run out of bacon at 8:30 a.m. ? Goes to show the first order of bacon I got must have been some veryy old supply.

Secondly:

Though I do like the location, it is noisy. If you are not a party person or a younger person, you will not get a good night's rest. I love clubbing, but the nights I didn't go out I was woken up by the drunken club goers all hours of the night until about maybe 5 a.m. when the drunkards finally head home. If you are an older person who is more about relaxing in a quiet area, this is not a quiet hotel for you. I guess they could do a better job somehow insulating the sound from outside. But be it that I understand this is South Beach, I expect to hear that sort of noise all night, so this wasn't a deal breaker for me. The walls are thin, so you can hear the people in the hallway, or when the room next door is showering ! Once again though not a deal breaker. Also get a room away from the elevator which makes noise all night too. Btw the elevator is really small !

Overall, I would suggest this hotel for a younger person who doesn't mind the noise to much. It was clean, great location, friendly staff. I would stay here again, but the only thing I'd do differently is not eat here ! I still like this hotel and would pick it over the few hotels I stayed at on Ocean drive. It's cheaper and worth the money regardless of the few negatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator and away from the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsti D, Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your good words regarding our hotel and staff. On the other hand, I regret to hear the breakfast and behavior of other guests did not meet your expectations. I will address this matter to the restaurant as we are always looking to improve our services. When it comes to other guests who were louder than expected, I do apologize for the inconvenience. South Beach is a very attractive party destination and especially during high season, there are a lot of mixed crowds on South Beach. Please feel free to contact us directly next time you are travelling to Miami so that we could personally ensure a satisfying stay.

Regards,
Kirsti D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hotel room was clean, bright, and perfectly furnished. The bathroom was modern enough but the shower door didn't close tight so water leaked on the floor.
Hotel staff was very responsive - a cot was provided at our request but it was very uncomfortable so it was replaced with an air mattress. Pool area is a perfect spot to relax at your own hotel - something not all of the boutique hotels offer. On-site restaurant menu is small but adequate.
Continental breakfast should be re-named "one free pastry." The 7-8 pm FREE happy hour for hotel guests is great! Walls are very thin, but this might be the case in a lot of the hotels. Property was clean and overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clinton Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Hotel South Beach

Address: 825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clinton Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2004, Step out of the Clinton Hotel South Beach and into one of the most electrifying destinations in the world. The Clinton is a boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami nestled in the middle of world class clubs, restaurants and shopping, all while being just steps from the white sandy beaches that Miami and South Beach are famous for. The Clinton Hotel South Beach boutique hotel follows its own muse with its cutting edge design and innovation and abandoning most conventional ideals of hotel design. The result is an ultra-cool, intimate South Beach hotel and sexy place to stay when visiting one of the world's most popular destinations.The guestroom accommodations are edgy, quirky and sexy. The staff is hip, cool, and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clinton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Clinton Hotel And Spa Miami
Clinton Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinton Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.