We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Consider Turning the lights on in the Hallway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clinton Hotel South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clinton Hotel South Beach to your Saves list
Clinton Hotel South Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Consider Turning the lights on in the Hallway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in late December last year. This was one of the nicer hotels I stayed in in South Beach. Friendly, nice staff, great location, great wireless, nice room, bus stop right outside the hotel, close to the beach, Lincoln Road, etc. I think the one drawback, as a single female traveler, was the absolute darkness of the hallways (It felt like being in a club, which may have possibly been the intent), which made for an interesting experience going to and from my room. I think that there are other ways to be an "Edgy" or "Cool" hotel, without possibly compromising safety of guests, plus it was not easy finding my room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Missddc,

We want to thank you for having chosen the Clinton Hotel and Spa South Beach and want you to know that we truly appreciate your business. We also thank you for taking the time to write a review giving us feedback. We're very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our rooms and amenities. We process all guest feedback thru every department and use them in our improvement plan. We respect your opinion regarding our hallways but assure you that our decor is intentional and that we get more compliments than complaints about the blue lighting in the hallways. Thanks again for choosing the Clinton.

Best Regards,
T. Ruiz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    350
    205
    159
    127
See reviews for
110
417
78
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

To everyone who writes bad things about the Clinton...I don't get it because we've been staying here 3 years in a row and it always gets better. The lobby looks real nice all white. The rooms had new carpet. Wi-fi everywhere, free drinks, a bunch of girls staying for a wedding (i know this has nothing to do with the hotel but anyway, you know;) The Clinton is great if you wanna go clubbing (just blocks from all the clubs), shopping, or just hanging out at the beach. We always get a great deal since we're return guests, they know us already and treat us right. There's even a cool barber shop connected to the hotel that does great fades. We'll be back next January to party even harder and of course we'll be staying at the Clinton.

Room Tip: remember the free drinks from 7-8pm every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

First off I must say from the valet, to the concierge Joel, to the desk Bernard, it could not be better. The service, greeting, unpacking my car, taking everything to our room, upgrading our room to a suite at a reasonable price, getting checked in, straightening out a groupon billing error, really it could not have been better. The service was outstanding, 5 stars. Even after the outstanding service by the concierge there was no "I'm expecting a tip dance", nothing, he just did his job and politely kept working, total class, same with Bernard. Even after I offered him a cash tip he professionally and politely declined.

The suite was ok. It was not bad, but not a super classy jacuzzi suite as I had imagined. The jacuzzi was outside the sliding glass door on a tiny private balcony and it looked dirty. It was very dated, scratched, and wasn't anything that my wife and I wanted to use, so that part of the suite was useless. There was no view as well, even of you opened up the canvas privacy curtain outside on the balcony, you only saw another white wall, nothing nice about the "private balcony with jacuzzi suite".
The bathroom was nice a clean? The shower was huge with double heads, very nice. The fixtures were all modern. Downside to the bathroom was the toilet ran constantly and would wake you up if you were a lite sleeper. I took it apart in the middle of the night the second night and rigged it do I could get back to sleep.
The maids were loud and did not seem to notice that guests were there. We had to walk over wires and step around them with vacuums that were as loud as motorcycles in the hallways.
The restaurant/bar did not have the ingredients to make a mojhito of which we were offered two free per day. The "free drinks" between 7-8 were restricted to vodka or gin only. The $25 daily restaurant credit never got used caused it appeared that there was not really a real kitchen there, at least we never saw one. The only person there was a man who was an angry drunk fighting with his wife. We felt the need to alert the desk staff cause the fight was elevating seriously. The bartender who did not have the ingredients said he could go leave and buy what he needed, but what he really needed was a lesson in service and some deodorant. I felt like I was in a shady bar in Iran. Not the romantic "let's stick around the hotel and have a few drinks" atmosphere that we had thought.
Parking valet is $28 daily, I guess that's part of the geography.
Overall it was ok. The room was ok, forgot to mention the in room stereo cd player next to the bed was unplugged and unusable, there was no plug to plug it in. I guess i should have brought batteries. I've had much worse, but for the money i think next time I'll try another property.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Brananward,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Clinton Hotel and Spa South Beach and we appreciate your feedback. You're right about our service being 5 star and trying to help guests with anything they need. We're very proud of our rooms, the restaurant, and all the amenities we provide our guests. Of course we are constantly working to improve every aspect of the Clinton and guest reviews are an important part of that.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I found a pretty good deal on this hotel online, and having stayed once before, decided to do so again.

This is a VERY typical south beach hotel/motel in that it is a simple property with small, simple rooms. As with similar “boutique” hotels on Collins and Washington, they make a little go a long way by treating the environment with sexy lighting (the hallways are dark and blue to the point of being almost hard to get through without a flashlight), trendy furnishings, and interesting décor. At the end of the day, these types of places are not “hotels” the like of Marriots and Hiltons. They are built and structured like a Days Inn, with some added details of a W or Westin. One detail they need to work out is the elevator. It’s small (but functional), but for some reason they didn’t take time to decorate it like the rest of the hotel. It feels old, institutional, and out of place with the rest of the aesthetic. For those on the 2nd floor, just take the pretty staircase.

You can hear everything going on in the hallways, but I'm not sure I have stayed in a hotel of any quality where that isn't the case.

Despite having a (world’s tiniest) pool and a simple patio area with cabanas and such, this is not a resort where you can spend the day. This is a place to sleep, change, and at best, maybe grab a drink at the bar before doing your thing in town. The name indicates it’s also a spa, but if you’re seeking a day of pampering, this might not be your spot. Head up Collins to one of the big boys.

With that said, the staff is friendly, the facility is clean, and the location of this hotel is excellent. It’s a 5 minute walk to the beach, within walking distance of pretty much anything else you might want to take in.

I have stayed in better, I have stayed in worse, but I can’t say anything too bad about the Clinton.

Room Tip: Bring a sleeping eye mask. The lovely white wooden slat blinds look nice, but do very little in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear twjared,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest opinion regarding the Clinton Hotel. We liked this review because you pointed out the facts; great location, good service, cleanliness, pool area with cabanas, and other amenities. We are not (and never claim to be) any of the hotel chains you mentioned and the main reason is that we truly are a boutique hotel (independently owned and operated). South Beach is a unique place and the boutique hotels here are part of what make this place special. I also have to add that we are very proud of the free Wi-fi (with individual modems & routers in every room), full mini bar, flat screen television, cd player, and top of the line toiletries we offer in every room. Thanks again for the review and we appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just spent the weekend down in miami for a friends bachelor party and stayed at the clinton. We had three rooms all on the fourth floor. Although we hadnt booked rooms with two beds the front desk girl was really cool about giving us all upgrades. The rooms were pretty nice and one of them even had a balcony (that's where we hung out). The hotel is on one of the busiest streets on south beach ...in the middle of everything which is why we picked it. We liked the little pool and the fact that we could hang out there, smoke some hookah and eat from the restaurant- nothing fancy just good food and free drinks every night. The concierge was super cool basically helping us plan where to party every night and even getting us tables at some of the clubs. We became friends with the cleaning lady and she hooked us up with extra towels and soap. This hotel was perfect for us because it had everything we needed, wasn't too expensive and the staff treated us like kings. Yeah the elevator is small (we just used the stairs) and the valet took a little long to get our car (we always forgot to call in advance) but overall we were really happy. The best part was coming downstairs or in the door at any hour of the night and being greeted with a smile by staff who knew our names. We would recommend this place to anybody who wants to enjoy south beach without spending an arm and a leg. Thanks to all the staff at the Clinton we'll see you guys again soon (music conference baby!!)

Room Tip: If you have any issues just talk to the front desk, they go out of their way to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hi Brandon M,

Thank you for reviewing the Clinton Hotel and Spa South Beach. We love hosting bachelor (and bachelorette) parties and we truly appreciate you choosing our hotel for your special occasion. Besides all the perks of staying at a boutique hotel that you mentioned, the most important is the fact that, because we are not a huge property, we can actually get to know our guests. This creates a friendly, personal ambiance that makes both guests and staff more comfortable. Again, thanks for choosing the Clinton Hotel and let us know when you want to return because our returnees get even more special treatment.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Me and my wife were looking for some place to spend a gateway weekend in south beach something affordable fun and in the middle of action and Clinton has it all. We arrived at night everything was ready clean spotless ,great wireless ,the room is so cute specially the bathroom build in glass it has a window overlooking the room very nice decore. The room has all the basic amenities ,full minibar,safe,coffe, it was missing the iron but they replaced it right away.
The hotel is located in a great spot very close to dash Miami and it has a valet parking which is 28 $ ,very difficult to find street parking since the beach was busy. We went for the night at sushi samba restaurant in Lincoln road which was amazing. The restaurant at the hotel it was good not great but good enough. We did stay in room 242 very nice room it has a balcony for smoking since we are smokers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hi Paul D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Clinton Hotel and Spa South Beach. We make every effort possible to provide guests with the most value possible at an affordable rate. We're very proud of all the things you mentioned such as the staff, the decor, and the location. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Clinton Hotel and we look forward to hosting you again next time you visit South Beach.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Fabulous holiday, myself and my girl friend had a great time, would definately go again. Hotel spotlessly clean, clean linen everyday, food was outstanding.
Everything about this complex was first class the staff in particular are all friendly and pleased to go out of their way to make you feel special.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltase, Guest Relations Manager at Clinton Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Frank S,

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Clinton Hotel & Spa South Beach and that you were completely satisfied with our accommodations. We take great pride in providing guests with the most valuable South Beach experience possible at a fraction of the cost. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,
T.Ruiz
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clinton Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Hotel South Beach

Address: 825 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The New Clinton Hotel & Spa Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clinton Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened in 2004, Step out of the Clinton Hotel South Beach and into one of the most electrifying destinations in the world. The Clinton is a boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach Miami nestled in the middle of world class clubs, restaurants and shopping, all while being just steps from the white sandy beaches that Miami and South Beach are famous for. The Clinton Hotel South Beach boutique hotel follows its own muse with its cutting edge design and innovation and abandoning most conventional ideals of hotel design. The result is an ultra-cool, intimate South Beach hotel and sexy place to stay when visiting one of the world's most popular destinations.The guestroom accommodations are edgy, quirky and sexy. The staff is hip, cool, and connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clinton Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Clinton Hotel And Spa Miami
Clinton Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clinton Hotel South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.