We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bolivar Restaurant and Lounge

Bolivar Restaurant and Lounge
661 Washington Avenue, South Beach Area, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Flamingo / Lummus)
305-305-0801
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bolivar Restaurant and Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 838 restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: Colombian, Latin, Peruvian, Venezuelan, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Description: Now OPEN our Side Walk Cafe...where you can enjoy your meal and drinks overlooking at the South Beach Scene!!! LIVE MUSIC THURS, FRID and SAT.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very good Central/South American mix a couple of blocks off Ocean Drive. We enjoyed the ceviche sampler - 3 shot glasses of standard lime ceviche and 3 shot glasses of their own passion fruit ceviche. We loved it except for the smoked mussels - probably because we just don't like smoked mussels! Then we chose the special -- 7 appetizers for $29. The fried artichoke with parmesan cheese was superb! Wow! The corn with cotija cheese as also fantastic. A good value in South Beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    177
    77
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We went there after reading the comments on TripAdvisor. The food was excellent! I would recommend the tapas mixture (7 for 29$) and the Seviche. The food took too long to get and we had hungry kids with us - that's why I don't give it a 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oasis In crazy Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's off the strip, so if your looking for authentic cultural food away from the tourists, this is a great place. The shredded chicken over the plantain was great. My other family members also enjoyed the empanadas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Food was great, prices good. Service was attentive and atmosphere nice. Good option in South Beach, away from the overcrowded, and overpriced restaurants on the front.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Escape from the Bustle of SoBe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I knew WMC/UMF was going to make South Beach unbearably packed; and I mentally prepared myself for the obnoxious pretentious opulence this place breeds. After several days of mingling with that nonsense, it was so refreshing to step into this escape.

In the middle of the hustling SoBe area, walking into Bolivar is like walking into another world... or at least another continent. With the perfect volume of Latin music infused with exotic scents permeating the air, I forgot I was in the chaos of Miami. We were greeted politely and sat promptly. Our waiter was friendly and explained the makeup of all the food items he brought to us. Any questions we had were met with an informative, friendly explanation. Overall, the service and atmosphere were perfect for what we were looking for that night. Unpretentious, authentic, and welcoming.

The food was fantastic as well. We both had chicken dishes, and shared our meals with one another. The chicken and mushroom dish with cream sauce was so delicious; tender, perfectly flavored, and the right mix of textures. The chicken saltado was also good; however, a little salty for my liking. If not for that, I would have given this a "five."

I would definitely come back to Bolivar; and I recommend this to anyone traveling through the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bolivar Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Bolivar Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolivar Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.