We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Boulan South Beach to your Saves list
Boulan South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sisters vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Boulan was a perfect hotel very spacious and comfortable it was only a 5 min. Walk to all the shopping and restaurants and the beach was right across the street from our hotel. It was a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    24
    21
    24
See reviews for
90
33
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I enjoy South Beach and we chose the suites at the Boulan because it was our first vacation with our daughter. The room was large, comfortable and very attractive. The location is fantastic and while not directly on the beach, it is a two-minute walk away with beach service included. The staff was very helpful and very pleasant -- they really enhanced our stay.

A few tips: Not all of the rooms have cooktops, bathtubs, or washer/dryers. If this is important to you -- as it was to us -- make sure that the room you request has them. In hindsight it was our mistake but I wish we had realized that our room did not have those things.

Great location, great rooms, and great service. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I must say I was a little skeptical about booking this hotel after going through several reviews but I'm so glad I booked this hotel for my short stay in Miami. I attended a concert last week and I booked the hotel for 2 nights and it was the perfect stay. I actually had an earlier flight and I was aware that check-in was at 4pm. So, I called the hotel at 5:30 am while at the airport and advised Alex that I would be arriving around 10 am. Alex advised me that she couldn't guarantee a room for me but she would try. When I arrived Alex told me someone checked out early and there was a room available for me. That just put a smile on my face, I wasn't really feeling too well early that day and I was so comfortable in the room I didn't leave until later in the evening. The room was perfect I had a king suite with a terrace view. I ordered room service for lunch the food from Orange Blossom was delicious and the room service was very quick. I really could go on and on about my stay because I really enjoyed the atmosphere. It was a great location and the staff was awesome. Alex and Samantha were so professional and helpful and there manager was also helpful. I will be sure to book my next stay with this hotel. I only had one issue and it's not so much of big deal but the valet was kind of slow when it came to parking the cars and bringing them to the front of the hotel. But other than that this was a cool hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lost of money and awful service.
While stay in the penthouse for 4 persons poor breakfast for only 2 persons is possible. The same with beach chairs and umbrella.
At checkout hotel did not use the blocked amount on the card, but debited it again.
As a result all our stay we claimed for services and left without money and satisfaction.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us.
We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will give us another chance, and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

When I booked this hotel it came up as 5* on Ebookers. Now the customer service is 5* definitely but the room just didn't wow me. So it's a 4 in my mind. I upgraded to a standard one bedroom suite which was a very nice apartment style setup with modern contemporary decor. You have a separate bedroom, 2 separate toilets, a large shower and a lounge/diner/kitchen. I was on the 5th floor but on the street side so VERY noisy!

Bedroom:
It was clean, large windows with a street view, tv, excellent blackout curtains. BUT, the room had few snags. The smoke alarm was missing and not replaced, the sliding door wouldn't close, the bed showed signs of wear and tear but top of the "snag" list, the bed had a plank of wood under it which made you roll off towards the end of the bed!?

Kitchen
Self contained and a large fridge so I stocked up on water. Didn't use the appliances so can't really comment.

Bathroom:
Nice showeroom. Large vanity unity. No problems here.

Lounge
Nice. Again. Nothing wow but just.

Location
Excellent. Stones throw away from the beach, and you have a roof top pool. As you do have a fridge, if you're trying to spend less on your vacation, I'd say pop to Walgreens (2 blocks away) and buy what food/drink you need. As always the mini bar is extortionate! (But that's like every hotel).

I will post pictures.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We hope you will stay with us again, as it will be an experience on the next level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a great stay at Boulan South Beach. Everyone was very helpful. We would like to thank Gloria for her great dedication and special attention to detail she showed during our stay. We would recommend this Hotel HIGHLY AND WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, and would love to welcome you back to try them out.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Let me just say I have been to South beach many times and stayed in may places ranging from small dark seedy hotels on ocean drive that look great in photos and end up being litetally holes in wall to very beautiful suites and condos ranging from the Eden Rock to SLS...but the Boulan is by far my new favorite. I usually have to find 2 small rooms in pet friendly hotels or a large expensive 2 bdrm condo for my boyfriend and I and his family...but this time Iucked upon Boulan...Gorgeous, reasonably priced, pet friendly, clean, modern, and the pool on the roof is gorgeous. Check in was easy...as well as check out...The room was huge and was a king and a queen sofa bed suite that could be separated with pull doors for privacy for both couples...It was 1 1/2 bath...perfect for going out with a group...and the master bath..holy cow...amazing...I took three showers just because the rain shower was so amazing. The only downside was that there wasnt free coffee and breakfast wasnt really breakfast.
The beds were comfy and there was a full kitchen complete with frigde dishes and microwave..even oven. It was close to everything and cabs were easy. From now on Boulan is my only choice in south beach. AMAZING time. Thank you Boulan for changing my perception of South beach hotels

Room Tip: Rooms are large, clean, and quiet...bring your own instant coffee and beware of the NON refundable p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location.

We look forward to welcoming you home again!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Address: 220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulan South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.