We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Boulan South Beach to your Saves list
Boulan South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
$30 for $50 Worth of Food
Ranked #105 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a BEAUTIFUL hotel-apartment with gorgeous designed, spatial rooms and spaces in the heart of Miami. There's no better location than this for convenience - right next to the main outdoor shopping mall, across from the beach and in the near vicinity of so many great restaurants and night life. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was luxuriously gorgeous! The rooftop deck and pool a great place to watch the sunset. The little cafe downstairs for breakfast is great and stylish too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are pleased to hear that our room design, bed comfort, and our luxurious bathroom exceeded your expectations as we take pride in our room product.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    73
    26
    21
    25
See reviews for
96
36
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Best spot near Collins Park, huge clean, well decorated 1 bedroom suite, overlooking ocean, great price and new restaurant Orange Blossom opened on first floor. Free breakfast superb. Pool and beach access is top notch, and I heard Bagatelle to open soon. Smartest deal on the beach.Thanks to a great staff, and we'll be back again!

Room Tip: North side ocean view one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location, as well as our staff being so attentive. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

THE GOOD: Very large room, service was ok, great location. Nice pool area with big comfy beds. Nice, big, modern bathroom.

NOT SO GOOD: No proper lobby, bar or restaurant, so it feels like you're walking into a motel. Décor is outdated. The terrace was unusable - very scruffy with tatty furniture and a pile of cigarette butts. Breakfast is at a restaurant round the corner where the service is pretty poor and they only open 8-10; tough if you have a morning flight.

BAD: they charge a daily $30 "Service Fee" which covers use of the pool (!), WiFi (which is unreliable) and the "beach club" (2 tatty loungers and a rusty umbrella). You pay this no matter what time you arrive at the hotel. We arrived at 5pm so couldn't use the beach or pool but were still charged. When I questioned it the clerk blamed Expedia. Hmm.

There are better hotels in the area for the same price and I wouldn't stay at the Boulan again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the inconvenience you endured with the beach chairs, but glad to read you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My friends and I were looking for place that was not right in the middle of all of the nightlife but within walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beach. The Boulan was perfect for us. The property used to be apartments and is now run as a hotel but the units are privately owned. Our only complaint was my friend wanted coffee each morning and although the description online listed a coffee maker in the amenities provided there was not one. After asking a few times they did finally provide one but we had to get filters. There were no utensils, dishes etc. but the rooms were very large which is very hard to find in South Beach and it was very clean with exceptional staff and housekeeping and we will definitely be back. The pool is on the roof and there was an attendant which was very nice and chairs with umbrella are provided on the nearby beach. There were some issues with the elevator which was annoying, but we did really enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street side would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am sorry to read about the inconvenience you had with the elevator, but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, including an espresso machine in the room.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I initially made a reservation for this beautiful property; however, after reading several reviews I noted that there were several complaints regarding their customer service. I decided to take my business elsewhere based on these reviews. A week after I canceled the reservation I found that I was still charged $584. When I contacted the hotel to discuss this the lady placed me on hold, honestly, for 15 min only to return by saying that "This is just the front desk, I can't help you, you need to email reservations@thinkhotelgrp.com and someone will get back to you." Not excited about this I informed her that I wanted to speak to a representative and a contact phone number. She quickly stated that this wasn't possible and the only option I have is to email "thinkhotelgrp". If this is any indication of their idea of customer service, I'm glad I will not be staying at the hotel. Now I wait to hear back from my email and who knows how long until I see my charges corrected.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
I apologize for the inconveninces you endured during your booking and cancellation process.

We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during the time you were going to stay with us, and hope you will re-book in the future to enjoy them.

We look forward to hosting you.

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel 3 years old, large condo style rooms. Beautiful deluxe rooms are massive (great for families). Only staff in uniforms are house keeping and pool attendant. Front office staff in street clothes...really should be in uniform so you know who they are and provide a professional look. Great location to access W Hotel- Bar ($700 a night hotel) with a great bar, Shore Club Hotel has Nobu Restaurant amazing food/service but pricey...(all walking distance). Walk to Lincoln Ave about 5 min from Boulan Hotel - great restaurants - "Nexxt "is a must try (casual, huge portions, great service and very reasonable). Hotel currently does not have their own restaurant and restaurant associated with them St. Charles has horrible service. (don't buy breakfast included with your room) go eat down the street at Catalina...fabulous food, casual and great service. Room service does not open until 8am so if you want coffee no go (rooms do not have coffee makers). Beach access -need to get towels and card from front desk - complimentary but chairs are back from ocean (front section of beach is another hotel). Hotel provides no food and beverage at the beach but you can buy from the Setai hotel beach attendants ($1000 a night hotel!) (good food/drink but not cheap). Roof top pool is nice and staff are great up there. Hotel seem to have an issue daily of running out of towels. They need to buy more. No nightly turn down service. (if you care to know). Rooms also have washer and dryer and 2 bathrooms (large bathroom and one two piece). AGain nice benefit for families.

Room Tip: Ocean Deluxe rooms fabulous.(while not right on the beach this hotel provides great value room/space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit, including in-room espresso machines. We hope you will return to enjoy the added amenities.


Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've been staying regularly at the Boulan since they opened roughly 4+ years ago. It's been a year since the last time. But this time, I noticed absolutely no maintenance is going into the property. My most recent room had paint stained bathroom floor, a couple ripped towels and a tub faucet missing. This was in addition to a stained bottom sheet for the bed. The shower lacks a place for soap and management never seems to put bar soap in the shower or bathroom. The pool area appears nice, but with closer inspection, I noticed dirty canopies, wood decking that requires treatment and lounge chairs that are stained & filthy. We covered them with the stained pool towels they provided. It was mid February, and the pool was not heated (pool probably 70 degrees). Maybe they are trying to save a few bucks? Lastly, when asked to stay a few extra hours as we had an evening flight, management was less then accommodating. Historically, they were willing to offer a few extra hours complimentary, but no longer. 11am check out. It was a fight to even get a noon checkout. Most other hotels on South Beach will work with a guest if there are available rooms and a good customer. There were at least 4 rooms available on this sunday when we were checking out. The lack of accommodating was noticeable.

Room Tip: Construction seems to be consistent in the area and ground floor. Try to find the least noisy opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2015
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the set backs you endured while staying with us. We now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit- we hope you will return and enjoy them.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Address: 220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulan South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.