We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean room - Better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Save Saved
You added Boulan South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boulan South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
belo horizonte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean room - Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Moved to this hotel because my previous one was dirty and dusty. Stayed at the penthouse 07, which is a 1 bedroom room. Perfect choice. The room is very clean and with no carpet, that helps removing dust. The mattress was very comfortable and the room very spacious. There was a full equipped kitchen and machine wash to do the laundry. This helped me a lot as I was traveling with my 9 months baby and had to cook and do the laundry. The staff was very kind and helpful. The valet parking and internet was a bit expensive, but this is common to all hotels in Miami I stayed before. The hotel is very well located, close to the beach and is just a few yards from the W South Beach. Certainly will be back and recommend your stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,


Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    15
    17
    18
See reviews for
66
27
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a the Boulan South Beach for a week in October. It's location is great, easy access to the beach, shopping and Lincoln street around the corner. The staff is very welcoming and friendly throughout. Rooms are spacious and in great shape. Noise from the street can hardly be heard when windows are closed. The only downside was breakfast. Hotel is co-operating with a restaurant around the corner, since they don't have own outlets. While this restaurant has a great breakfast choice, for hotel guests there is only a very limited assortment. You feel a little like "2nd class" while paying 200 - 300 USD per night. Ended up having a la carte breakfast every day (to be paid extra) which indeed was great. If you are looking for spacious accommodation, great location and don't expect the hotel to provide a good food & beverage offering, you should surely stay here. Didn't have the chance to try the pool though. Recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am pleased that our spacious Rooms and helpful staff played a huge role in your enjoyment of our hotel. Apologies that the continental breakfast that was included fell short of your expectations. We did upgrade a few selections since your stay in hope to satisfy future guests.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just got back from Florida where we spent a week with 3 year old. After extensive research we decided to stay in Hotel Boulan at Miami Beach. Its one block away from the beach, hotel provides umbrellas and chairs, they have a pool in on the roof with beach beds and comfortable baldachin- type beds ( everything is guarded so kids can't really run away).
The pool does not have a bar- so the ( young) crowd is not that much interested staying there- so the pool area is quiet, clean and pretty private.
Almost every room has a balcony- some of them patio.

The main thing is : a room. The room was about 700 Sf with full kitchen, big dinning tables, washer and dryer ,( that came very handy after every day at the beach!) two TVs ( one in the living room one in the "bedroom" , cable, two bathrooms). Its really an apartment .
Although the entire hotel has a modern design and is nor designed for children, it is children friendly, employees are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included in near by " Charles St NYC " restaurant ( don;t expect much expect for the tasty fresh pastries , fresh squeeze OJ and Lavazza coffee)

The hotel entrance is across the park, literately next to the Museum, Public Library, and blocks away from Miami Symphony Orchestra.

There is a small deli ( Ocean Deli) right around the corner, and Wallmart is 2 blocks away.

I think this hotel is still a hidden gem as it is relatively new. They are near by Richmond, Reighly, Loews, Ritz Carlton....

Also if you do a booking through hotels.com, orbitz, etc.... you will probably get around $50 off-the room-price per day

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms 403 or 503 ( bright but overlooking the park- not the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for being our guest recently and for the review!

I am delighted to read that our Rooms, Rooftop Pool and hospitable staff met your expectations throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having reviewed lots of hotels in South Beach we booked the Boulan for the look of the apartment type rooms, photos on the website and overall value for money, it looked great. Normally, professionally taken website images look great and the real thing isn't so good. But at the Boulan the real thing was equally as good. The rooms, reception areas and rooftop pool were fantastic. I was equally impressed with the staff, very welcoming and a great service ethic, nothing was too much trouble. The location was great, easy to walk to the beach, restaurants & shops. I loved South Beach and didn't want to leave, I want to go back and if I do I'll stay at the Boulan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and sharing your kind words.

We are delighted to hear that our Room quality satisfied your needs along with our staff going above and beyond to make your stay a joyful one.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Sincerely,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here from Oct 10-14 with 3 friends. The room was spacious, the décor was very trendy, and the kitchen/dining area was large and very modern. I especially liked having a full bathroom AND a powder room. The rooftop pool was clean and surrounded by plenty of lounge chairs and beds. Bonus: Walgreens + tons of restaurants within walking distance. Improvements: better lighting in the bathroom around the mirrors, housekeeping doesn't clean the floors (always very dusty).

My only issue was the free continental breakfast. The breakfast consisted of some bruised apples/oranges/bananas, mini sized croissants and danishes, butter, cream cheese, a variety of rye bread, orange juice and coffee. There was no toaster, no jams, no fresh looking fruit. And with mini sized croissants, people would grab 5 or 6 just to make a sufficient meal, which then it turn left no more for anyone else. The staff was always scrambling to get more from the kitchen, and we were left waiting at least 10 minutes for new ones (and then people would rush the tray like hungry mongrels). This didn't ruin my stay nor my perception of the Boulan, however I think it's worth mentioning so that the managers are aware. Another point to mention: depending on your purpose in SOBE, the Boulan is a good few blocks away from Ocean drive, so prepare to walk or take a cab to get deeper into south beach.

Overall, I really liked the Boulan and other guests that I chatted with seemed to really like it as well. I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are thrilled you had a great stay and we hope you will come back to visit us very soon!

Sincerely,


Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here from 10/10-10/14 my experience was great.From check in to check out everyone was so helpful.Jessica was great. The decor of the Boulan was more then I expected the large condo/suite suited me and my 2 friends well. The kitchen was amazing,the bathroom was big there was also a half bathroom. I was in a deluxe room w/balcony that was nice also. my complaints would be there was no utensils I agree with the last review they had everything but that. The balcony had no furniture no shade. When housekeeping came they didn't leave tissue. When we did go to the rooftop pool u had to go to lobby to get towels and u had to bring them back down. Overall my experience was great I would stay again and recommend to friends.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review.

We are pleased that our spacious rooms met your expectations as well as Jessica providing great service. I have shared your comments with her and the team and she wanted to thank you! As we embrace our guest’s feedback, we have listened and took action. We will be activating our beautiful Rooftop Pool service by this November as we are constantly looking to improve our guest amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Best Regards,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My friends and I needed a place to stay for two nights before our Bahamas cruise, and I found this place online. It's brand-spankin' new, clean, and in a decent location for a reasonable price for the size of the suite. There were 4 of us, so I booked a suite on the penthouse level - basically a 1 bedroom condo, complete with full kitchen, 1.5 bath, washer/dryer, and sofa bed. Booking directly with the hotel on their website was cheaper than other sites - $510 total for 2 nights for the 4 of us in essentially a 1br apartment. It's very modern, with clean lines, and futuristic cabinets, sinks, tub, shower, etc. The pool on the roof is very nice, with cushy shaded beds and a great view. It's really close to the beach, but we just walked there to look, and didn't use their guest-only area. All the pictures on their website do the place justice. Unlike many, what you see is what you get - they didn't just show the best parts of the hotel. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The hotel has relationships with local restaurants, and if you ask, they will give you a card to get you to the front of the line if the restaurant is busy. Not an issue when we went, but good to know.

To nit-pick, here are some bad points: One of the pocket doors between the bedroom and full bathroom was installed poorly and was difficult to open/close. The sink in the half bath was a huge square, but the faucet was at the very back, and washing your hands made water spray outside to the back of the sink - don't know if it is poor design, or improper installation of the sink in relation to the faucet. The kitchen had glasses, mugs, plates, and cookware, but no eating or cooking utensils, save on spatula. The complementary "continental breakfast" was not a continental breakfast. It was a choice of an omelet with toast, or two pancakes, and they were sure to add a service fee and tip on the bill. When you go to the pool, you have to go down to the front desk to get towels. They ran out of clean ones and could only give us 2 of the 4 we needed, but said they would run them up to us when they were available. They never came with the new towels. The hallway between the elevator and room were not air conditioned, and stiflingly hot.

As far as the location goes, it's still within walking distance (20-30 min) to the Lincoln mall area where all the food and shopping is located, but only if you can withstand the walk in the heat and humidity. The beach is just across the street, a long city block away.

Overall, it was a really nice place and we enjoyed our stay. I'd probably stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have more than two people, it's worth the extra money getting one of the suites on the pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy M, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are thrilled to hear that our Room product and Rooftop Pool left a memorable impression. Thank you for recognizing our Front Desk staff for the helpful and friendly service that they provide on a consistent basis. I will share your kind words with the team as they take pride of their profession. We will be activating our Pool Service area by this November as we are always looking to improve our product and amenities.

We hope to welcome you home soon.

Respectfully,

Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Address: 220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulan South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.