We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service - A True Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boulan South Beach to your Saves list
Boulan South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #102 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Service - A True Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our flight had a 7 hour delay and we had problems with the rental car, by the time we got to check in we were cranky and tried. The young lady at the front desk Jessica was amazing, she made us feel welcomed, she was very knowledgeable about thing to do and see in the area, extremely friendly and very professional. We started to enjoy our vacation from that minute..This property is beautiful and the location is great. I can honestly say that this is the first time a have ever written a review. I agree with MS2929 review, if this property ever had any problems in the pasted, they are a thing of the pasted. Keep up the amazing service. I commend you on your excellently trained staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    60
    21
    21
    23
See reviews for
83
29
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family and I will be leaving Boulan tomorrow afternoon. Let me start by saying that for 5000 dollars (which we payed for a penthouse) it was absolutely horrendous. We travel quite a bit and have experienced all kinds of service, and for the price this has to be the worst one ever.

There are five of us, and so we booked the penthouse which promised a spacious apartment with two bedrooms and a sofa bed. To their credit, the apartment is gorgeous and very spacious, and has a great view. However, the sofa bed was nonexistent and when we asked the bellman if he knew anything about it, he simply said he did not think the apartment had one, and went downstairs to get us a roll-in mattress. The bellman was BY FAR the most helpful person we had here, just to put things into perspective...

Next, the "complimentary" breakfast. We were told we would have complimentary b-fast every day for the duration of our stay. The breakfast is served right under the hotel at a little restaurant called Charles St. While nice and quaint, the ONLY breakfast options we had for 6 whole days were either eggs on toast or pancakes, and orange juice or coffee. Anything else we wanted we had to pay EXTRA for. What kind of complimentary breakfast at any hotel offers TWO options only, let alone a hotel this upscale? Not to mention, every day was different portion wise. One day we would get a spoonful of eggs and 3 large pieces of toast, and the next we would get a plateful of eggs and half a piece of toast. The service here was also horrible, and they seemed to pay more attention to other customers rather than the ones who came from the Boulan. Not to mention we were once told we could not eat complimentary breakfast because it ended at 10, when we had gotten there WAY before 10 (they said by the time they would have gotten us seated it would have been past 10).

Next, housekeeping. We are staying in a large penthouse which requires a fair amount of housekeeping. Now it would make sense for the most expensive rooms to get cleaned first...but not here! They start from the bottom up, so one time when we came back from the beach at 5 pm there was no housekeeping done at all. We called the manager, who apologized repeatedly, as they seem to do here. They apologize constantly but do absolutely nothing to fix the problem! They finally sent up a housekeeper who cleaned our room, and it's been cleaned early on since. The ONE thing they actually did for us!

Next, the beach. Don't be fooled by the claim that you will get a private beach with chairs at the Boulan! We were told we would get beach chairs and an umbrella every day if we needed one, we only had to pick up a voucher at the front desk. On the first day we decided to go to the beach, we got there and they told us that the Boulan ONLY gives you two chairs and one umbrella PER room PER day! There were five of us! Needless to say we had to pay for the extra chairs. The next day it got even worse. We handed them a voucher at the beach and they told us we could only get two chairs and no umbrella, because, and i quote "I'm sorry miss, but the Boulan does not pay us and so we cannot provide you with an umbrella. They have not paid us in a while". WHAT THE HECK? not only is this incredibly unprofessional, it's also not our fault! Again, we paid for an extra THREE chairs AND the umbrella. When we came back to the front desk to complain I asked to speak to the manager for about the fifth time this week, and all she could do was apologize. I had called the manager earlier from the beach and they promised me TWICE that they would call them and have them bring me an umbrella and chairs which they DID NOT do, so I'm assuming they just refused to call.

Finally, after all the trouble, we asked if we could be given a check out extension since our flight left later on in the day. She said she could do that until two or she would have to charge us... Charge us...? How about they give us our money back for EVERYTHING that went wrong this week?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful Room, 24 hour room service, great restaurant, completely boutique feel. I honestly don't understand any of the previous reviews. If there was ever a problem before, it certainly is resolved now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Modern clean and stylish hotel, situated at bottom of Collins Avenue, and circa 20 min walk to clubs etc., on Ocean Drive. Beach access is just across the road, but there is a little traffic noise during the night, so choose a room on the 5th floor. As we were minding our two grandchildren, we had a suite, which was extremely large and well equipped. As their restaurant was being renovated, we took our breakfast in the adjoining restaurant where the quality of the food and service, were both excellent. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Well, the room is gorgeous. No balcony and that was definitely a disappointment. Front desk service is horrendous. It took over 30 minutes to check us in, no one else was in line, the concierge has no idea what is going on. She over charged us by over $500.00, wouldn't listen to us or call a manager, our agreement was for a totally different amount! We gave up and were taken upstairs. The bellhop asks us if we have the key. He was standing there waiting for the woman to check us in, no we had no keys. He was admittedly shocked that we were checked in and sent upstairs without keys! So he brings our bags in, says he will get our keys and doesn't. We said to hell with it, went to the pool and went and got our keys. The one lady is a total fool and she's rude! The other lady, she's always in a business blazer it seems, is just rude. Extremely rude. Everyone who works here is totally out of it or just rude-or both. Onto that the pool closes at 8pm! 8pm IN MIAMI! There's no lifeguard anyway and Miami doesn't start happening until after 10pm. People want to be at the beach during the day and swim safely in a pool at night! Or when chilly the hot tub on the roof would be nice but apparently being on the roof at all after 8pm is not possible.
The maid threw out my perfectly fine, new, personally bought FIJI water. No apologies from the front desk!
The maid also broke our shower door handle!!!
This place is about as disorganized as you can get. I mean at about 700 dollars a night I would expect a little more. I would
Rather pay someone 700 a night to sleep on the beach at this point or stay in a pay by hour than waste money on something that looks nice but is chaos and poorly run. Also the breakfast for free is horrible

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

But a decent step in both directions. Not really a hotel, not just a plain condo, but worth trying if you like bigger rooms than you normally get in South Beach hotels. The one room apartments with balcony are big enough and nicely equipped. We were offered an upgrade to a penthouse, but it turned out the penthouse didn't have a balcony/terrace, which we had specifically asked for. Where's the 'up' in such an upgrade? We declined and took the regular room, and found it quite acceptable with modern furnishings, huge tv sets and even free wifi from the Setai next door. The Boulan charges for wireless, so if you want to use it for casual browsing, make sure you get a room facing Collins, since it probably won't work from the rooms facing the 21 Street. The down side of this is that you get some noise from Collins as well. Not in the room, mind you, but on the balcony you can really hear the traffic.

The pool area is nice, there always seems to be room, since people probably tend to go to the beach. The good thing is, the hotel also offers parasols and sun loungers on the beach for free at the end of 18th Street. Definitely worth trying as well. No pool bar on rooftop terrace though. But if you keep your room fridge well stacked from the Walgreen's one block away, this won't be a problem. Remember: this is not a hotel. Go for the condo experience.

There's breakfast included in the restaurant downstairs (enter from Collins). It's basically just croissants and Danishes and coffee. The staff in the restaurant seemed a bit reluctant to pay attention to 'non-paying' customers. The hotel obviously has some sort of deal with the restaurant, but since most hotel guests aren't having anything else than the free stuff for breakfast, it' no use expecting any service either. They're shooting themselves in the foot by this though: we normally try the restaurant at the hotel at least once during our stay at any hotel, but the lack of service at breakfast was so discouraging we didn't go there this time. Their loss.

On the other hand the staff at Boulan were mostly very friendly and up to the task (except for the curious 'downgrade' offered). However, they really need to change their cleaning hours, since it's absolutely too late for the housekeeping to come to clean the room at 5 p.m. This was the case almost every day, and it's rather annoying when you're starting to get ready for the evening. This, however, is not to blamed on the housekeeping staff, but it's more likely a managament issue.

All things considered, we had a pleasant stay. It may not be the cheapest option, but there's plenty to be said for choosing Boulan as well: location, pool/terrace area, large well-equipped rooms. Just to make a point: we stayed at the Surfcomber's a few years back and were crammed into a room where you had to carefully insert yourself into the bathroom. The rooms at Boulan are 4 times as large and the bathrooms are humongous. It all comes down to what your preference is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of four stayed in one of the Penthouse Suites (we were upgraded free of charge) for 4 days in March, 2013. My wife researched other potential properties and this was a very good value. Cool artwork throughout. The staff was friendly, helpful, courteous and kind. Complimentary continental breakfast at the new restaurant, Charles Street, which is a part of the whole block which is being developed. The beach is right across the street which was no problem. Umbrella and beach chairs included. The Lincoln Mall restaurants were a short walk away. Top notch appliances and plumbing fixtures. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Address: 220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulan South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.