We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great space n location n rooftop pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulan South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Boulan South Beach to your Saves list
Boulan South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great space n location n rooftop pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Best value ....its huge one bedroom apt, tastefully furnished.
The rooftop pool is beautiful n like yr private pool. The bathroom is enormous with incredible shower. The kitchen has all upscale appliances.
Its still unfortunately some work in progress, like the lounges in terraces r mildewed, the elevator key cards keep on not working, the tv remote batteries missing(n 3 calls later, still not replaced) etc. those mar otherwise a great experience.the housekeeping is immaculate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product. There have been management changes since you last stayed with us, and we now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    67
    25
    21
    24
See reviews for
91
34
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Boulan is a fantastic option in South Beach, but keep in mind this isn't a hotel, rather a beautiful condo complex where unit owners rent out their spaces.

Our room, 402, was a corner unit that had a wrap around balcony, it had a view of the park on 21st and we could see the ocean, which is one block away. The interior finishes are all high end - polished stone floors throughout, uber premium kitchen appliances (Bosch and U-Line) and a bathroom that you could live in. Each unit is likely decorated differently as they have different owners, but ours had modern items, all the furniture appeared to brand new. Layout was functional for three of us, two in the bedroom which had sliding glass doors and one on the pull out sofa. We had plenty of room, more then I've ever had while staying in South Beach....really nice!

The units are all brand new, but there's some growing pains -- we were missing a shade on one of the windows, so light was coming in, especially bad for the person sleeping on the pull out sofa. On the second morning, workers knocked on the door to install the shade, but since it was 10am and we were just getting up / ready, asked them to come back later. Services are minimal, so book this hotel if you're independent and can get along without much help. When we checked in were given one key, asked for a second, but were told one wasn't available, but they could have one made. Seemed odd. When we got into the room, we were immediately impressed, but the handle on the refrigerator was broken, we reported it and the problem was fixed the next day. Housekeeping was irregular, but they definitely came -- towels are at a super premium, so hoard them if you can.

Location is great, few blocks to Lincoln Road and everything Miami Beach has to offer. There's definitely some kinks at this place, but for the location, beautiful space and price, it was honestly a great find and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. There have been management changes since you last stayed with us, and we now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Beautiful, ultra-modern condo, great location (one block from the beach), and gorgeous rooftop pool! However, the owners of this condo complex have to get their act together. We asked for king size bed, but got a double. So what? This makes a difference in the overall unit size and that matters when you're a family of four (2 older teenagers). Condo was very poorly appointed. We had no linens for the hide-a-bed, 3 forks, 1 teaspoon, no tablespoons, 3 plates, 2 bowls, no dish cloth, no soap, no pots, no iron nor board, not enough towels....the list goes on. Valet couldn't find our car one morning (took 25 min). To top it off, the elevator cards didn't work half the time and we got stuck several times, once on the roof top! However, the staff was really friendly, but their hands are tide if they don't have the resources. What a shame!

Room Tip: Choose a room that doesn't face Collins Blvd. It's very noisy at night (single pane glass) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We apologize for the challenges you were faced with while staying with us. There have been management changes since you last stayed with us, and we now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

First let me say that I was a tad bit nervous about our stay. I read and trust the TA reviews so much and had read some not so great comments about this condo/hotel. In the end, we were extremely pleased and would highly recommend Boulan South Beach to anyone looking for great accommodations while staying in South Beach.

We had a private car take us from FLL to Boulan - Go Shuttle was awesome...worry free and professional...I would highly recommend - and arrived around 9pm. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant and had our room key for us in no time. We reserved a 1 bedroom terrace and it was on the 5th floor - Room 506. Clean and modernly appointed. As others mentioned, lacking some of the "hotel - like" amenities but that we expected. It was quite opulent and given the location, a bargain in our opinion. Let's face it, these were built as residences and as such, were not designed for a hotel experience. However, the management team works and is working hard to change that at Boulan. Many changes are on the near horizon that will make it feel more like a hotel experience than a condo experience. That will mean furniture on the balcony, an on-site restaurant, telephones, pay per view movies, ice machines, etc. Don't be angry at Boulan for not being something that they were not meant to be - they are doing the best they can given the circumstances and are really making an effort to change.

Claudio was the property manager on-site and he was very helpful, courteous and professional. Robert, also working the front desk, was also extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions.

It was mentioned that beach chairs/access was not available on this forum...well it is now! Just a short walk east on 21st Street and there is an attendant and comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas.

Boulan was also in close proximity to many restaurants/clubs/lounges to make nighttime a fun and enjoyable experience.

The rooftop pool was classy and comfortable. Only issue there was the heater on the hot tub was not functioning so it was not useable.

Boulan South Beach is a wonderful choice and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. There have been management changes since you last stayed with us, and now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Boulan South Beach

The location is superb on near the 21st avenue on Collins Avenue. It is a second row to the beach. Easy walking distance to Lincoln Avenue and Ocean Drive. In addition is it close to some prominent hotels such as the W, and Loews. We actually had a partial ocean view from our room.

The common areas are fantastic. The rooftop pool and cabanas are nice. Very nice meeting areas on the roof for lesuiely meeting. There is a ground floor courtyard with fountains, and cabana and lounge seating. All the areas were very well maintained and clean.

The room we rented was actually a residency. It was approx 1100 sq ft, with a powder room, a large onsuite bathroom, bedroom, and a seperate living area with dinning, full kitchen and living room that opens to a balcony onto Collins Avenue. There is a flat screen TV with full HD cable, temperpedic mattress, heavy weight premium towels, rain shower, double sinks, and seperate commode room.

The service was a little limited. The property is 7 months old, and it appears management and staff is working on workflow at the front desk. I take off I star for this. Regardless, they were very friendly and helpful. I was told of new amenities such as food, drinks and entertainment are going to be new additions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel product and location. There have been management changes since you last stayed with us, and now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit. We now have an on-site restaurant, and room service available, among other amenities.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We booked 5 nights a the Boulan for our 10th year anniversary. I have to say that the promotional video on the website did it for us, we were trilled to find such a nice place at a reasonable price with a good location on South Beach. We got to the hotel around 10 at night, the clerk, who was on his first shift, gave us the key to our unit. We got there and the unit was still under construction, no furniture and building materiels all around. Back to the lobby, the clerk apologized and gave us the key to another unit. Surprise again, the unit was already occupied. Back to the lobby we asked the clerk to speak to the manager in order to come up with a solution (the penthouse was the only unit still available). The manager would not even take his call but would only reply by text message saying he would deal with it in the morning. After 2 hours of waiting we called Expedia (whom we booked with) and they arrange for a suite at the Fontainebleau (amazing). At the end of all this, I have to say that the clerk did all he could and Expedia did what they had to do to make it up to us. Bottom line the Boulan is a condo project that ran out of buyers and decided to rent the unsold unit in order to stay alive. All I have to say is stay away from the Boulan.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I apologize for the challenges that you faced during your arrival at Boulan.

We have had management changes since you last stayed with us, and now offer several amenities that were unavailable during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Our family of 4 (including 2 young children) just returned from a stay at this condo/hotel property. Like the previous reviewers have noted, there were pros and cons (most of the cons due to the fact that it is a new property and more of a condo than hotel establishment so each unit is individually owned).

PROS:
-brand new and modern with nice lobby and courtyard
-1 BR units are spacious (esp for South Beach standards) and clean with 1.5 bathrooms, fairly well stocked kitchen, dining room, living room and king bedroom with sliding glass door
-front desk is friendly and present 24/7
-rooftop pool is heated with plenty of lounge chairs and beds; our family practically had the entire pool to ourselves during our stay; it also had shallow areas for our little one
-pretty good location across from the W and Setai hotels; 4 blocks from Lincoln road; across the street from the beach
-housekeeping came by noon most days and did a good job
-quiet, family friendly environment

CONS:
-despite the promises that complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas were available for guests, we never saw them set up or anywhere in sight each time we went to the beach
-housekeeping did not come 1 day
-our TV in the living room did not work and despite the front desk coming up to assist us, he could not fix it either
-no phones in rooms to contact front desk so had to use our cell phones
-no dresser in bedroom to store clothes so we lived out of our suitcases
-very basic amenities...Dial soap, Breck shampoo, hand/bath towels was all that was provided; no robes/slippers, no safe, no washcloths
-I requested room change due to loud street noise on Collins Ave but they could not honor any room change requests since they are not a hotel and all rooms are pre-assigned based on availability of each individually owned unit
-While my kids and I were napping one afternoon, we were awoken by a group of men who entered our unit unannounced; we were told later by the front desk that they were the owners of our unit and wanted to check on a furniture delivery; needless to say, it was an alarming and annoying disturbance; we made sure to request a "DO NOT DISTURB" sign after this incident
-"sofabed" in living room is more of a futon (no mattress) and while sufficient for our 2 young kids, it would not be suitable for older kids or any adult

Overall, despite the cons, we did enjoy our trip and would consider staying here again, assuming we got a good price and they worked out some of their growing pains. I think that if you are looking for new, modern spacious accomodations in a good location at a decent price and don't expect Four Seasons amenities or service, then you will be satisfied staying here. But if you are looking to be pampered or for a party scene, then you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and room facing away from Collins to minimize street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMouawadGM, General Manager at Boulan South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2015
Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your feedback!

I am delighted to read that we met your expectations on our hotel rooms and product. We have had management changes since you last stayed with us, and now offer several amenities that were unavailalbe during your last visit.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again, as it will be an experience on a better level!

Sincerely,
Jimmy Mouawad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulan South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulan South Beach

Address: 220 21st Street, 2000 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boulan South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boulan South Beach is ideally situated in the heart of the Collins Park neighborhood, the cultural and social epicenter of Miami Beach. The Collins Park neighborhood features the best dining, nightlife and the arts that Miami Beach has to offer. Within walking distance of Boulan South Beach are the hottest restaurant and bars, most fashionable shopping, and celebrated cultural establishments in Miami. All this, set amidst the gleaming backdrop of sandy beaches and the shimmering waters of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Boulan South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulan South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.