We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of Style But Don't Expect To Sleep In!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Bit of Style But Don't Expect To Sleep In!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We booked one of the "nicer" rooms, which in quality was suppposed to be between the penthouse and basic. Price was expensive for what we experienced, but Miami Beach hotels are stupidly expensive and yet relatively substandard, in my experience over 3 years of visiting.

Our first impression upon arriving was the guard who rushed out to our car at the curb and told us to move our car immediately after checking in! We checked in and were told that parking was 2 blocks away and would cost more than $15 a day. The room was small but stylishly appointed, in a quirky and edgy way; my girlfriend really liked it (but she's from England). We stayed in the room the first evening and at bed time suddenly noticed there were no pillow cases on the pillows, and that the pillows were actually cushions. It wasn't until the next evening, when the maids knocked on our door, that we realized that these cushions were to be covered by pillow cases in the evening by these maids. "Why didn't they tell us the first night?" we wondered.

We stayed 4 days and each and every morning, the garbage truck would roll down the nearby alley at 7 am and spend a good 15 minutes grinding noisily. Then at around 8 am, we were again awakened EACH MORNING by the chronically yakking restaurant help outside our window! I took a picture on last morning, and it shows about 7 of them congregating below our 3rd floor window, smoking and yelling to each other.

On the other hand, the restaurant in the hotel was fine, and the maitre'd was very helpful. When they couldn't provide the soup listed on the menu (on two separate visits on different days), she suggested a nearby Indian restaurant, which was marvelous, and the waiter did not charge us for our bottle of water which we ordered before they realized there was no soup.

Don't expect any view of the ocean and you won't be disappointed by the chance view of the distant water a block away and beyond the buildings.

The hotel management seemed piqued that I did not want the valet parking, therefore my new English girlfriend eyed me as a cheapskate.

Workout room was tiny but could have been useful to someone dedicated. We did not try the pool.

Bathroom was adequate, especially by the ridiculous, third-world standards typical of Miami Beach nowadays.

  • Liked — Short walk to beach
  • Disliked — Charging for parking is $17 a day!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    378
    78
    42
    15
See reviews for
94
618
68
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

The Hotel has a great location and fancy bathtub warm rooftop pool and bar. The decor was fun and very Miami Beach. I was impressed but my husband found it a bit more standard than he expected (but we were in the cheap rooms!). Some of the staff very chirpy and friendly, unfortunately some were very snooty which may be a Miami Beach thing but is a bit much when you are paying for the privilege.

  • Liked — Location, decor and pool
  • Disliked — Front desk
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

Stayed here for four nights at the back end of a business trip in October 2008. The room was very nice, nicely designed with a massive and very comfortable bed, a large tv and some nice touches like a stereo with an ipod docking station and best of all free wireless internet. I liked the colour scheme in the room a lot. The bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was nice. There was a small problem with the toilet continually flushing, but it was resolved swiftly as soon as I mentioned it to the front desk.

The hotel isn't beachfront, which is a shame in a way as it would be nice to have an ocean view, but has benefits in another sense in that it means you're not right on Ocean Drive where it can be quite noisy late at night. The location is good though, just one block from Ocean Drive and right next to some major shops at the end of Collins Avenue.

I was quite impressed by the Hotel but it was expensive, and it does suffer from a little bit of the pretentiousness that would seem to mark most of South Beach. The staff were very friendly and courteous though I'd have to say and I can't really complain about the Hotel at all.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — the vaguely pretentious air
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

During my research over the years on hotels, I found that in a lot of cases, the pictures turn out to be outdated -but in this case - The Hotel of South Beach photos on this website and others are exactly as it truly is - the actual pool, bars and Wish Restaurant are even more glorious than the photos depict. The Staff was wonderful - housekeeping twice daily, the hotel itself is ultra clean, even though some of the carpets were a bit worn, they smelled clean and there was no mustiness whatsoever. Rooms a bit small but that is the norm for boutique hotels - but nicely decorated. As long as I can afford it - I will stay here again and again - no need to look for another hotel - plus - it's in the heart of all the action , yet quiet enough for resting.

  • Liked — Friendly, clean, convenient
  • Disliked — Pool closes too early - 8PM
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

My Girlfriend and I just got back from a long weekend in South Beach. We usually stay on Ocean Drive, but based on previous reviews, we tried The Hotel. It is a half a block from the beach. The location is great , with shopping and restaurants all around. We were extremely happy with basically everythig to do with the hotel.. The staff ( bell hops, front desk, concierge, maids ) were all very friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the second floor and was not very large, but it had plenty of storage for all of our things. The bed was very comfortable, although it was only a Queen..The bathroom was small, but I really liked the raindrop shower..The design of the room was really cool and I felt I could have stayed there for an extended period.
Another nice feature of the hotel, is an agreement they have with the chair rental people at the beach.. We loved the thick padded lounge chairs and umbrella that was complimentry. I think it saved us about $40 a day in rental fees..Finally, when we came off the beach, we headed for the rooftop pool with a great view of the ocean. We watched the cruise ships departing as the sun went down..It was awesome..
We will definately be back to " The Hotel" next time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We experienced very good service at the hotel, excellent restaurant recommendations, good advice regarding tours, enthusiastic and helpful staff, lovely art deco style, beautiful restaurant with good service, lovely rooftop pool area which is great to chill out on when recovering from jet lag, and an awesome location near the beach and shops on Collins.

The rooms were a little on the small side and not trendy in the least but were comfortable, and the bathroom was quite small. The bathrobes are rather fun and I would have liked one but at $100 I thought this a little steep.

As guests of the hotel you can benefit from the delux beach loungers which is a real bonus, and of course the fabulous beach is a stones throw from the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel for a good south beach experience in the heart of the action.

  • Liked — The staff were exceptional
  • Disliked — The room was a little dated
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We reserved a suite with 2 double beds but they had us booked in a king. There was no suite available with 2 beds, that said they handled it very well, very apologetic and made every effort to make it up to us, reducing our rate, offering free cocktails etc.

Everyone we had contact with was incredibly helpful and friendly, sevice was top-notch. We felt special and taken care of all weekend.

The room was adequate, the sink a little too splashy so water got everywhere, the rooftop pool bar is much smaller than it appears on the web site but it was perfect for our needs, after beach and before heading out for the night. The beds were super comfortable, and no noise to speak of, that said we got back to the room very late each night (or early AM!)

Location is great, one block to the beach, complimentary lounge chairs and umbrella - the most comfy lounge chairs!! we could walk to nearly everything or cab fare (when we didn't want to trek it in heels) was always less than $10

  • Liked — location, service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.