We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay, super friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking + 15% Off
Ranked #14 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay, super friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are an Art Deco fan this hotel is just the place to stay. They managed to preserve several of the original features, it's perfectly located in the mids of the Art Deco district, close to the beach and restaurants. The pool on the top floor is a nice touch: not to big, but nice for a swim in the afternoon and brilliant to watch the sunset over the ocean.
The room we had was on the 4th floor (highest where they have accommodation). Simple but nice. The bathroom was on the small side, but it did have nice Art Deco features. Two things bothered me: the vanity mirror in the bathroom was dirty (stained by water drops?) on the day we arrived and it was not cleaned throughout our 5-day stay; we like to take an afternoon nap and on two occasions it was impossible because of the rather loud chatter of the cleaning personnel.
What distinguished this place for me was the friendliness of the front desk staff and waiters - so incredibly helpful and kind. Loved the place and would warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    498
    308
    70
    39
    9
See reviews for
75
494
55
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The lobby area is no where near representative of what the room I was given looks like. As soon as the elevator doors opened I walked into a dimly lit hallway and to my room which reminded me of a dorm. The carpet is buckled and there are lots of visible stains on the fabric on the ottoman in the room. I didn't realize I needed shower shoes for the shower, which was a walk-in and had ants in it. The walls are also paper thin, so I could hear every conversation in the room next door and in the hallway. It is very close to the beach and the roof top pool is nice, but I had a better experience at Epic over the weekend at the same rate. Luckily I only have one more day here...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days as a precursor to our trip to the Dominican Republic. First, I'd like to say that I would stay here again, IF they get better wifi.

Pros: Customer Service was great. Anything we need they were responsive to our needs. House keeping did an excellent job with our room service. We had extra towels and pillows at a phone call. The location is GREAT GREAT GREAT! Right in the heart of the festivities and a walk away to anything is the south beach area. The room was small but comfortable; they had robes and slippers and chair and towel services for free on the beach.

Cons: My only and biggest con was the wifi. I require wifi wherever I go in order to work. The horrible wifi service made it a huge challenge to stay on top of work. If I were the owner I would invest in a better internet service. Usually wifi is best closest to the front desk. We were literally 50 feet from the front desk and still could not get a signal to save our lives. Also the wifi seemed to be more compatible with the computer (although not that great) than with our cellphones.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Pros: The location of the hotel, good toiletries, 2 robes, slippers and beach towel/chair service that hotel provides are great for a traveler on a budget.

Cons: hotel has really thin walls with no sound isolation. We could not sleep without having to use the earplugs because of the neighbors. Very noisy. When they vacuum upstairs, you can actually feel the vibration on the walls. When the neighbors have sex, you can hear every detail.

Pool: the first view we got upon arrival on August 2: several big ladies, clothed in tees and cover-ups eating, drinking and smoking right in the pool. Disgusting.

Thinking of canceling the remainder of our stay and finding another place.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel 4-5 hours earlier than check-in and got our rooms emmidiatly. The staff were very helpful; ordered cab for us if needed, and even made sure the driver understood where we were going. Great gym comparied to other hotels in SB. Good food and service in the restaurant. The rooftop pool was excellent with a great view to the beach. Complimentary chairs on the beach. The rooms were clean and spacey and clean. Everything was superb, this is definatly the place to stay in south beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is steps away from the beach. It is near many shops and restaurants. The staff was excellent! Booked a trip to the Everglades for us! The Hotel offers two beach chairs a day on the beach which is a great deal. Pool and pool bar were great! My only complaint is that the bathroom could have been cleaner.The rooms were very clean though. Overall it is a great hotel for a great price! Would consider staying there again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, one block back from the restaurants / bars / bustle of the busiest part of Ocean Drive, a couple of minutes walk from the beach and within a couple of hundred yards of one of the stops for the city bus tours. The rooms are standard size and layout you get in most hotels, but with some imagination having gone into the decor - the bathroom being particularly nice. As others have said, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The roof top pool was a little bit of a disappointment being smaller (narrower) than we'd expected from the photos and when used at the end of the day more like a warm bath than the cool dip we'd been hoping for. The bar / restaurant in the hotel were very quiet which was odd because only 100 yards away on Ocean Drive everything was jam packed. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel as a good base to stay when visiting Miami.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have frosted windows - ask for one which doesn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.