We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I thought I was in Rio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I thought I was in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband chose this hotel based on reviews, and they were right. I am in love, and am already planning to return for a week next year. The decor is bright, gorgeous and I can't get enough of it. So fun. The roof top pool and bar is stunning, and the service throughout exquisite... The location is perfection....

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    494
    302
    72
    36
    9
See reviews for
74
472
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Me and my girlfriend just came back from staying 6 nights at "The Hotel". We have nothing bad to say about this place. The rooms are clean, the rooftop pool is great, and the service is amazing. For a first time visitor in South Beach like us, this was the perfect place to stay at. The room was very nice, and we lived right next to the beach. Event though our room was located on Ocean Drive (above the News Cafe which is open 24/7), we never had any problem getting a good night sleep. The food by the pool was very good, and reasonably priced.

We also have to give a special mention to our concierge John. He helped us with everything we needed. From booking trips, recommending good restaurants, and helping us get in to the nightclub Story. Which, by the way, was an awesome nightclub.

Big thanks to all the staff at "The Hotel" for making us feel extremely welcome and appreciated :)

/Erik & Kine (from Norway)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

From the moment I booked this trip I was in contact with the hotel with questions and queries as I wanted to make the most of our week in Miami. Nothing was too much trouble for John the concierge, he booked trips for us, upgraded our room when he heard it was our anniversary trip and my husband's birthday, he advised on how best to get from the airport and even contacted us on our arrival as although it was his day off he wanted to ensure we had arrived safely! Wow what service. Everyone was so lovely the pool bar staff the staff in the entrance and the cleaners. The glowing reviews that comment on the staff and their'over and above' service are sooooo true and certainly made this a great trip for us. The hotel itself is a delightful building with original deco design features. Having toured round most of Miami I am so pleased we chose this kind of hotel, this is what icame to Miami for and I was not disappointed. We had breakfast on our first day in the hotel, it was very tasty and served by a lovely guy. We didn'thave any other meals in the hotel but only because we wanted to try so many other places. The honest advice from John helped ensure we avoided tourist traps and enjoyed great food.
We would recommend:
The big bus tour
The Venetian pool
Little Havana
The Everglades trip
Visit some of the nearby state parks for quiet coves and safe swimming ( we hired a Harley for this)
The key west trip-especially fury's reef and Rita snorkelling!
And of course......stay at this hotel....The Hotel!!

Room Tip: We had room 300, we could see the sea and it was perfectly quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iselin, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We got back yesterday from a 3 day stay here. We originally picked this hotel due to the great location in South Beach. One block from the beach, with dozens of bars & restaurants in quick walking distance. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who took nice care of us. Our wasn't ready yet but they held our bags for us while we went out for lunch. Within 30 minutes they called our cell phone to say our rooms was ready. 90 minutes before actually check in time, i loved that. After we had lunch at Mango's around the corner we stopped in at Wet Wille's to get a drink, which is literally one block away (another thing we loved) and took it back to our hotel. When we got back we get our room keys, room 211, and they brought our bags up very quickly. We booked the "standard" room and it was just that, standard. But I was okay with it, the bathroom sink area was very very small.We had a desk in the room which was good because its almost impossible to blow dry your hair, put on make up or much of anything else in bathroom. A nice flat screen TV with as of channels. 2 tall built-in closets were good and the bed was comfort was okay. After we did a little unpacking we headed up to the rooftop pool where they had plenty of lounge chaises with fresh towels. The bartenders at the poolside bar were great. Get a frozen mojito, you won't be disappointed!! Pool was very clean, in fact the whole hotel was very clean. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to South Beach.
Pros:
-location
-clean
-friendly/helpful staff
-rooftop pool
Cons:
-small bathroom in room
-slow elevator
-thin walls/ceilings (heard the people walking above us, they were earlier risers too)

my restaurant suggestions are
Puerto Sagua (authentic Cuban, less then 2 blocks from hotel)
Joe's Stone Crab
Smith & Wollensky

Room Tip: Upgrade to a different room type if a small bathroom with hardly any sink area isn't for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We do several trips to SB every year. We are always on the lookout for a great SB property and The Hotel fills the bill. Clean, comfortable, great service and sweet rooftop pool (Rooftop pool waiter was outstanding). Rooms not huge but good size for a direct SB location. A little noisy but hey it is SB after all!!...cannot beat the location IF YOU WANT TO BE RIGHT IN THE OCEAN DRIVE ACTION....if you want quiet and serene then best to head to North Beach as you will not be happy here at 801 Collins Ave. One of the best value and service for the MANY properties we have stayed in SB and Miami in general including a number of the "5 star" facilities. Book this property with confidence.

Room Tip: Know in advance that the Ocean Front rooms are in the second building that is indeed right on Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I feel bad for taking so long to write this but as the lovely time I had here still pops into mind from time to time, I have not forgotten. My friend and I arrived in Miami a day before our cruise and decided to go to South Beach for the night. With suitcases in hand, we walked from where the taxi dropped us off and ended up in front of "The Hotel." The staff were fun and friendly and led us to the front desk where we were greeting by another smiling employee. After a few minutes of negotiating, we agreed on a price for our room and a complimentary drink at the rooftop bar. We headed up to the rooftop right away and were swept away by the relaxing atmosphere at the pool, where we spent most of our stay. We didn't make use of the adjacent fitness area but it was nice knowing it was there; meantime, my friend did yoga by the pool in the morning. Our room was clean and comfortable and we were able to walk everywhere from he hotel. The staff were all jovial and helpful and the hotel itself was visually appealing. The only criticism we had was the price of drinks at the rooftop bar... tasty but pricey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Here you go..you can add names etc..I can't remember anyones!

Stayed here for 5 nights in mid April & have been meaning to post this review since I arrived home. I was travelling to Miami with my fiance as part of his 30th Birthday celebrations & contacted the hotel prior to arriving. The staff went completely out of their way for me, decorating the room, giving us an upgrade on our original booking & a bottle of champagne on arrival..Can't thank them enough! A special thanks to Louis !!

The hotel staff are all amazing & went out of their way to make us feel valued & help with anything you need. The concierge John was fantastic, providing us with restaurant recommendations & making the reservations etc on our behalf, he listened to our likes/ dislikes and the recommendations he suggested were exactly as we had hoped. The hotel is one block from the beach & the luxury beach chairs and towel provided make the beach visit very relaxing!

I would most definitely recommend this hotel for your visit to Miami, right on the beach, close to Lincoln Drive and fantastic staff and accomodation!

Many thanks again to all the staff & look forward to seeing you again soon!

Amy and David

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.