We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking + 15% Off
Ranked #14 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Wonderful location in the heart of South Beach, excellent concierge services, easily accessible to the beach itself (with lounge chairs provided by the hotel). We enjoyed the art deco touches, particularly after we became more knowledgeable after our Art Deco Walking tour! It is a lovely hotel and we would be happy to return.
Room was large, clean and quiet. While the hotel had a restaurant for breakfast and dinner, we opted to eat on Ocean Ave. for breakfast, and then walked to Espanola way for dinner.
Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    306
    70
    39
    9
See reviews for
75
486
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I just stayed at this property from 3/17/14 to 3/18/14 and I have to say that when I booked online with Hotels.com i tough the property would be small, dirty, old hotel with rude employees. Wow, was I wrong... The property outside seemed clean and inviting. As soon I walked in to the front desk to check in a nice lady greeted us and right away she asked if I had bags and a car. And had a nice gentleman move my car somewhere safe and took care of my bags. At that moment I knew I was going to have a great stay. The property inside (lobby, elevators, hallways) seemed very nice & clean. The room was nice & clean. When I went to check out I received the same attention I received when I checked in. Wow, I have stayed in many properties and I have to say that this property will have me again & again.
They treated me like a king...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This medium-sized hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District and one block from Ocean Drive7 the beach is a great choice for a vacation. We didn't come for the beach but instead focused on all the great architecture, shops and food. The decor of the hotel is art deco, the rooms are good sized, there is pool on the roof and a wonderful outdoor patio for brunch, snacks and drinks. The quesadillas were best ever. The staff was very warm and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I recently stayed at The Hotel on a business trip and I was very happy with the experience. The location, right across the from the beach and in the middle of all of the shops and restaurants in the area, was great. The rooftop and pool was a great, quiet space with amazing views.

The hotel staff were fantastic - very helpful, friendly and responsive. I'm comfortable saying they are the nicest staff I've encountered at a hotel and I travel a fair amount for business and fun. Housekeeping was attentive and offered an evening turn-down service.

The hotel is a smaller, boutique hotel with two buildings. Originally the Tiffany hotel (the spire is on top), it has great Art Deco touches without feeling old or worn out - just comfortable. The main building hosting the restaurant, pool, lobby and most rooms. The other building is just around the corner above the News Stand with a few rooms. I saw a few rooms in the main building and they varied in size and layout, but they were all nicely decorated and clean. My room in the other building was large and bright with an amazing balcony that overlooked Ocean Ave. and the beach. It was loud at night, but worth using earplugs to have the balcony. I suspect the rooms in the main building were quieter.

I had a simple breakfast one morning at the hotel restaurant and, unlike so many hotels, it was good, freshly made and very reasonably priced. The outdoor seating area is great. Despite being right off the street, it is full of mature plants, lots of shade and seems much quieter. The food that the hotel provided during our business meetings was excellent. Our group had nothing but positive things to say about it and we tend to be picky. My only suggestion is to have a knowledgeable staff member available during meal times to answer questions about ingredients and preparation or have that information readily-available on the description cards. We had a few guests who were vegetarian or have other dietary issues and they weren't sure of everything they could eat and there wasn't someone available to assist.

Thanks for such a great experience!

Room Tip: If you're not in the main building, try to stay on the third floor (the highest) for less street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our 2nd stay and once again the Service, staff, facilities were wonderful, as is the location. Of all the hotels we have stayed in the world over this in its own way rates with the best we have stayed in.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the building facing Ocean Avenue, although the gym and pool are in the other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've stayed at the Hotel at least a dozen times always a wonderful amazing vacation. Staff there always makes me feel so welcomed. The roof top pool is my best feature, you are in heaven. If you need to relax and escape this is the place to come. Don't forget to try the Spire cocktail. Once again the concierge John is top notch.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here for work for three days. Location is ideal for south beach activities. Hotel staff very helpful. Rooms are cozy and view from roof is gorgeous. Hallway was a bit loud at night and you can hear the street noises sometimes but overall it was a comfortable stay. Meeting room was large and well furnished. Lunch provided was fantastic. I would be glad to attend another meeting held here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.