We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep it in perspective” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keep it in perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

You have to review this hotel for what it is and where it is. Anywhere else a hotel charging this much with its deficits would get a 3, maybe a 4. (My actual rating would be a 4.5) But this is South Beach. Its a 70+ year old building so it doesn't have electrical outlets where you want them (charging up my phone and iPad in the bathroom isn't ideal). It's noisy, the walls are thin and the one elevator is slow during busy times. My TV never worked right. But it's also lovely, ideally located (close to the action but not too close), and very efficiently run. As everyone says, the staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. I never ate in the restaurant so can't comment on it, and the free drink wasn't to my liking, but it's a nice gesture and the pool bar is beautiful. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    334
    74
    39
    11
See reviews for
81
542
60
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I was absolutely blown away by the hotel. Its right within walking distance to all of the landmarks, including a stones throw from the beach. I was on a budget, so I had to go with a pretty modest price point (which the Hotel provided). The food was excellent, the drinks were even better. The roof top pool was incredible. But, we really appreciated the friendly and accommodating staff - all around. Everyone here was a joy to be around! Would definitely stay here again over and over!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

First time to South Beach and found this hotel online. I wasn't sure what to expect in terms of hotel noise, street noise etc. So lucky to have landed here. I asked for a quiet room and I got a very quiet room. There was construction going on outside but I wasn't in the room during the day. The Hotel is a stone's throw from the beach - it has great roof deck with pool and view of the beach and palm trees. And it isn't right on the strip - so all the night club bar noise and late night party people are far enough away. It is pretty pricey but it is February :) and frankly I didn't care since I needed to get out of frozen New England.

GREAT service - super nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked our room in September for being in the Miami Marathon in February and got a great rate. The accommodations were wonderful and the staff was outstanding and professional. Everyone was so friendly and knowledgable and gave us superb recommendations of surrounding restaurants and things to do. So many good places to eat and drink and be entertained close by. John, our concierge, was phenomenal and a valuable asset. Our room was small but acceptable and kept quite clean. The pool was wonderful and the rooftop sun was outstanding.Went to the beach everyday which was a convenient short walk.We love South Beach and would stay here again. Highly recommend interested parties check out their website and give them a chance. You'll have a good time and the location is in the heart of much to do.

Room Tip: Our room did not face the ocean so if you want that view please ask. We were on third floor and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Hotel of South Beach was fantastic - the location is perfect (a block away from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants/bars/clubs) and the service is awesome. They (very smartly) give each guest a complimentary drink- their very own "Spire" which is so delicious I ordered it at the lovely hotel bar at least once daily thereafter after my free sample.

Esteban- the concierge- was incredible and made our trip. He is jovial and friendly and helped us pick out restaurants each day; his recommendations were impeccable. He also recommended & booked a tour of Miami for us which was fantastic. He always greeted us with a smile and was beyond helpful. He is the crowning glory of this hotel and he truly made our trip go from okay to amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed two nights (Wednesday and Thursday) in one of their oceanfront suites. I had been for drinks at the Spire bar before and the beautiful pool area enticed me to finally make a stay of it.

The construction along Collins made getting there difficult, but the front desk staff was friendly. Getting self parking at the local garage was easy and close by. The walk from main building on Collins to their latest addition on Ocean was quick. The only issue is not having a more direct route within the building to do so, but that's impossible since an alley divides the two buildings. There was a second front desk person and the door is locked at night, which is reassuring. We were celebrating and there was champagne in the room, which was such a nice touch. The room itself was large, by SoBe standards, well appointed, sporting the Todd Oldham designs; however, two of the lights were burnt out and weren't replaced during our stay, but I hadn't mentioned it to anyone, so it would appear that the cleaning staff doesn't make it a common practice to check for these things.

Although called Ocean front, the room faces Ocean drive, but during the day, you can see the beach and ocean in the distance. You should note that on the corner units, the balcony lights stay on without automatically, but the black out drapes are as welcome to blunt some of the street sound as the sunrise that your room faces. I am a heavy sleeper, so the weekday noise (which is usually much much lighter than weekends, even with News Cafe right below) didn't bother me.

We didn't eat at Wish, but a bite at News Cafe was very convenient, standard fare, and fun people watching.

On this trip it was raining quite a bit, so we didn't get to enjoy the rooftop bar like we'd plan or the complimentary drinks we were offered on arrival.

In all, having been at other Ocean drive hotels, this has been a perfect mixture of boutique luxury and prime location. If you're going to splurge on the ocean front suite, ask for a high room if you're a light sleeper. Other options on Ocean might give you more luxury, but you'd be farther up near 14th with a partial view; or perhaps a smaller room w/out a view, or perhaps in one of the taller buildings with a view, but none of those have the beautiful rooftop pool and bar.

Room Tip: If you're going to splurge on the ocean front suite, ask for a high room if you're a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is well located on Collins Avenue. It is not a beachfront hotel, but rather one of the classic small art deco hotel properties that line the avenue. This hotel has a very beautiful rooftop pool. The rooms are average. Tastefully appointed (apparently designed by Todd Oldham) but quite small and they bleed a lot of noise from the hallway. My room faced the hotel next door, so there was a high level of AC and construction noise if the window was open. Also, the windows were frosted - presumably to block the unpleasant view of alleyway dumpsters or whatnot. The front desk staff were friendly and polite and the valet was not unreasonably slow. The wireless internet in my room would only work if I was in close proximity to the door of the room, which was annoying but not the end of the world. All in all it was a pleasant stay and is probably one of the better options if you choose to stay in the art deco district. Definitely one of the most beautiful pools in the neighbourhood though!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Collins Ave or the side street, avoid the other two sides of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.