We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hidden charm of South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
New york NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The hidden charm of South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel looks like all the others on Collins ave. or Ocean drive. Once you enter the building you know it's not. The hotel was spectacular. From the front desk to the Bell guys. Everyone I mean everyone could not have been better. Who ever does the training and hiring does a great job. The room was spotless. The hotel even has night turn down service. They cleaned the bathroom and changed the towels every evening. Made me feel like I was in a vegas hotel or a cruise ship. The roof top pool was great. Open to 11 on the weekend and 8 during other days. Bartender pool attendant was real nice as well. I can't really find one negative thing to say about the hotel or staff. I just can't say enough of how great my time was at the hotel. I would definitely stay there again or recommend it to friends. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the south beach area.


Robert

Room Tip: I only had one room 225 i think it was a contour 2nd up from the bottom but it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nara A, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5 star review! It really makes us glad to have such compliments. Our hotel and staff is indeed a hidden gem in South Beach.
As you had mentioned, we are in the Art Deco District, where you find many well appointed historical buildings... but the difference does come across once you walk into The Hotel... From the chic and elegant touch of Todd Oldham's decoration until the sincerely happy and effective customer service from our staff.
Thank you for pointing that out as well.

And please, let us know of you next visit... we take very good care of our repeat guests too. Register as a Gold Card Member to receive more advantages, and contact us directly anytime.

Have a beautiful day!

Sincerely,

Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    272
    65
    34
    9
See reviews for
64
425
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Simply impossible to put into words the professionalism, flexibility, and relentless attention that the wonderful staff of "The Hotel" provides it's guest! By virtue of it's very name, we knew instantly that this hotel would forever live up to what it is called. "The" Hotel. Surely, there can be no other that provides this service, location, decor, and rolls it up in a experience that with remains as distinctive as the as warm South Beach Breezes. Each and every staff member, from management, to the service staff can't do enough to personalize the experience. We truly would have extended our stay if we could. The Staff's devotion to making sure that their guests are happy, more that compensates for the rates. The location could not be better, and within minutes we felt as if became part of the beautiful and relaxed vibe that surrounded us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton roads, va
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stay in South Beach twice a year and have come to expect tiny rooms with minimal interaction with staff at hotels. The Hotel was an entirely different and superb experience when it comes to hotel courtesy and friendliness. Each and every person employed there went out of their way to speak or smile. One of the guys at the front door even offered to run to the store for me at 4am for medicine! Add that to the fact that the pool is wonderful and relaxing and this hotel is a couple of blocks away from EVERYTHING and you have a real winner! This is our new place. The ONLY thing I could complain about is the poor lighting in the bathroom when trying to get ready.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

How great is it to be greeted with a complementary drink upon arrival?
Really Great!! This is my 2nd time staying at The Hotel and it exceeded all expectations. Great staff who are committed to you having a good time. Any request (ice) was quickly delivered. This is as close to a perfect location as it is right on Ocean Ave and across the street from the beach. The rooms are clean, funky and fun. We stayed overlooking Ocean Ave but they must have done extensive soundproofing as it was quiet despite the late night scene. The pool is on the roof and spectacular. They also have free reserved chairs on the beach.
If you are considering The Hotel (and have read this far) make the reservation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights in this hotel as a base for exploring South Beach. The hotel was easy to find, and there was space to leave the car in an alleyway whilst we checked in and enquired about the parking facilities. The carpark was a couple of blocks away, and quite easy to find – and reasonably priced at $18 per night. Valet parking was available for $21.

The bellboys were very helpful and eager to show us to our room, and gave us a thorough overview of the facilities. This was useful on arriving, but we soon grew tired of being constantly harassed by the bellboys every time we left the hotel – do we want a restaurant booking, would we like directions somewhere, would we like a nightclub experience, would we like museum recommendations... We ended up trying to leave the hotel discreetly to avoid the barrage of offers for help on most occasions! Whilst we understand that it is more the culture in the US to offer these services, and for guests to tip accordingly, it was a little overwhelming for two British tourists used to being left alone.

The hotel itself was lovely – the reception area and bars were (like a lot of SoBe) in an art deco style, very clean, well laid-out and well decorated. The room was comfortable and stylish, with some nice touches (umbrella for use during our stay, iPod dock, quality toiletries and complimentary cocktails on arrival). Gym facilities were available but we didn’t use them. We did use the rooftop pool, which was a little on the small side but perfectly big enough when it was quiet. The water was warm and the Jacuzzi jets nice and powerful. It started to rain, but there were some spacious covered seating areas on the roof too, and a small bar.

The hotel is extremely well located for the beach (and beach chairs were included in the price of the room – but parasols were not, and were available for $15 for the day). The beach is large, clean, open and generally very beautiful. The sea stays shallow for a long way, and was perfect for swimming. Although it was quite busy, it did not feel overly crowded and we had plenty of space for our beds, our things and our activities.

The hotel is about 20 minutes’ walk from the marina and the harbour, and it makes a nice evening stroll. There are innumerable bars and restaurants all around, and even my picky, vegetarian partner was able to find something to eat each night without difficulty. The world-famous News Café is one corner of the same building, and it is also the source of the hotel’s room service. There are also several museums and other sites of interest quite close to the hotel, but the main points of interest are the beach and the art deco architecture. We spent two nights there, and even without seeing a lot of the sights, there was so much to do and see within minutes of this hotel.

The overall stay was excellent, the staff always friendly and helpful. The hotel was Ocean Drive style without the hustle and noise of being on Ocean Drive itself – a perfect balance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were greeted with smiles right when we walked in. Awesome service!! It's rare to have good customer service in Miami. They are very attentive with anything you need. Roof top pool is small but it's heated which is a plus. They have a signature drink called spire which is very light and refreshing. Their shampoo and conditioner doesn't smell or feel cheap. What's really good about the hotel is that they have a shower upstairs where to pool is at. So if you have a late flight you can still enjoy the beach and pool all day and hop into the shower !! Don't need to worry about being dirty and nasty during your flight home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

From check in to check out it was a pleasure. Nice room and decor and well located to walk other places. Staff is friendly and quite helpful . Great area to sit and enjoy a conversation and a drink with others.

Room Tip: Do an upgrade from the basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach
Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.