We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel in south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great hotel in great location central for the bars and clubs and of course the beach. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and made our stay comfortable. The pool area on rooftop was great and would definitely recommend the hotel's signature cocktail the spire!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    298
    69
    36
    9
See reviews for
74
475
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I celebrated my birthday weekend in Miami and booked The hotel. First impression was construction right in front of the hotel, Then Concierge Dan runs out and greets me by my full name. Weird but impressive!!!! Didn't have to touch a thing since I bumped into Dan. I then went to my room to find it was pretty small with no window. I shared my concern with front desk Anthony and he upgraded me to an amazing, amazing penthouse next to the roof top pool!!! Then to find a bottle of wine for my birthday!!!! Awesome staff!!!! Best experience I've had in Miami and worth every penny. Shout outs to Dan, Anthony and manager Tony P.

Room Tip: Special celebration? Do the pent house!!! Next to the pool and you have your privacy ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
HI Felicia, first and foremost, Happy Birthday!! We are glad to hear you had such an amazing stay with us!
We do apologize for the construction inconvenience throughout Collins Ave, but the city has been doing a great job to make our area even more attractive... And as you mentioned, the minute you walk in The Hotel, it is our pleasure and duty to do everything else possible to make your stay a memorable one.
So in the name of our staff, Thank you for your review, and Thank you for deciding on The Hotel to celebrate such an important date.

Please contact us directly for your future stays, through myself or through our Reservations Dept - reservations@goldmanproperties.com
We would love to see you back for many other special occasions too.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager, The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in Feb 2013

The room was big, decorated lovely and had lots of space.

We stayed in the extended part of the hotel and unfortunately didnt have much of a view from the hotel window so probably while checking where you are situated, although for me I spendt most of my trip out and about.

Staff were friendly and you are in the middle of the South Beach so very easy to get back whatever time of night you are out. The beach is right in front of you.

Lots of shops close by

I would happily return here...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi... Thank you so much for your review!!
We are indeed in a great location, walking distance to many restaurants, attractions, shops... And the beach, as you mentioned, steps away only...
Please let us know of your next visit and contact us directly. Our Ocean Front rooms have a balcony and direct breathtaking view of the ocean and Ocean Drive.
It will be a pleasure to have you stay with us again.

Have a great day!!

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager, The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I are visiting from Kansas and are staying at the south beach hotel. We headed out to the beach to get our complimentary chairs from Boucher brothers and were assisted by your friendly and kind staff Aldona, & Darious. They took great care of us instantly with our towels and were expedient about it. We will definitely recommend to our family and friends!! You have great staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Daniel, thank you so much for taking the time to write such nice review!!
What you have mentioned is indeed a great advantage that set us apart. We do provide the service at the beach and we don't charge anything for it. NO Resort Fees. Which is incredible! And aside from the lounge chairs and towels at a secured spot on the beach, Wi-Fi is also complimentary throughout the property, and Yoga class on our Roof Top pool every Saturday,... And much more...

Please let us know of your next visit, it will be a pleasure to book your reservation personally.

You can also contact us through reservations@goldmanproperties.com. We will again take very good care of you.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager, The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Friendly staff, great location. One block from the beach, Awesome rooftop pool and bar with some nice views of Miami. Victoria s secret right across the road. Plenty of shopping and restaurants surrounding hotel. Loved food at Larios On the Beach a few blocks from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! In a few words you captured exactly what we are. A great staff in an amazing hotel at the perfect location!!

We would love to see you again. Please contact us directly for our specials and package deals.
reservations@goldmanproperties.com

Have an amazing day. Hope to see you back in South Beach soon.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location, awesome view from rooftop pool, modern very clean Designer-rooms. Oceanfront rooms with balcony provide really great view at Ocean drive, park and beach and are not noisy as long as the windows are closed. Very friendly staff. We have been here twice and will come again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
It is so great to read reviews from our repeat guests... Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a note.
Its true that from our emerald-shaped pool floating serenely on our rooftop to our Designer or Ocean Front rooms in our new Ocean Drive building, Todd Oldham's signature once more boasts style and casual elegance custom designed and handmade exclusively for our guests. We are very glad to have you always stay with us..

Please send me an email or to our Reservations Dept. for your next visit.
Are you a Gold Card Member already? If not, please become one, so you can take even more advantage of all we offer.

Have a great week.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Many, many positives to this hotel. if you dont mind not having an outside bar that opens late, do not hesitate- book this hotel.

The good points:
Location: You can't beat the location for the price. I did lots of research & my final choice was The Hotel or The Raleigh & I think I made the right choice.
Rooms: The rooms are lovely & we had an ocean view with no noise.
Staff: The staff are great & make this hotel. John greeted me by name as we arrived at 1am after a plane delay which was a nice touch. Cesar (hope that's right) was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. I had a bereavement whilst there & he was so genuinely sympathetic.
Facilities: gym, pool etc can't be beat.
Cleanliness: second to none.
Personal attention: we had a bottle of champagne & fruit basket waiting in our room to congratulate us on our anniversary- wonderful.

Room for improvement:
Sometimes housekeeping are a bit patchy with refilling toiletries & coffee pods, cups etc. we had a frantic morning trying to get pods & then cups from reception because it was prior to housekeeping starting for the day & their supplies were locked up. The bell staff were helpful but not able to provide us with what we wanted. In retrospect, I assume that two coffees could have been provided from room service. However, this was a minor , tiny issue.

However,I like a night cap before turning in regardless of the time & I was really disappointed to find out the rooftop bar closes at 8pm. I had visions of sipping cocktails/ digestifs at the bar by the Tiffany sign but it was not to be. This seems to be a waste of a really good area of the hotel. It was never explained why this was the case & whether it was temporary or permanent. This would prevent me returning, as is quite an important part of a hotel for me, but that is personal choice.

The Hotel is fab & the manager & staff should be proud of the service they provide- thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Wow! We REALLY appreciate your review and the time to write all your thoughts on our hotel, staff and service.
We couldn't agree more with your description for location, rooms, staff.. Our attention to details makes us very proud. And we do want to make our guests' stays unforgettable.
Congratulations on your Anniversary!!
Thank you for your tip on refills. We are sure to address this situation immediately.
And in reference to our Spire bar on the roof top, we will reopen soon, as we were going through some changes. Please contact us directly for your future reservation. We are here for you!

Have an amazing day and once more thank you for your words.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Amex so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;