We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking + 15% Off
Ranked #15 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding service, great location, definitely recommended! The rooms are clean and modern, Ocean Drive and the beach are less than half a block away, the rooftop pool looks out over the ocean and is equipped with a very cool bar. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you so very much for your words. It makes us glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us..

Please contact us directly for your next time. Either through me or through our Reservations Dept. reservations@goldmanproperties.com. South Beach and the staff at The Hotel are waiting for you!

Have an amazing week.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager - The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    306
    70
    39
    9
See reviews for
75
487
54
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just got back from my vacation in Miami. We stayed at The Hotel of South Beach. We had a great time and ALL the staff(thank you Esteban, Ricardo, and John) were fabulous! Everyone treated you like they were so happy to see you each time you came in; any request we had was taken care of quickly and efficiently. The roof top pool area was beautiful and the location in great. The Hotel is a stones throw from the action on Ocean and Washington Avenues without without being in the middle of it all.

We rented a room with double beds; there were three of us and I didn't feel crowded at all. The only VERY small drawbacks were the pools is not accessible 24hours and that there isn't a dresser per say, so for three women with all our primping products it was a little crowded putting our things on the desk that is in the room, but that's not something that I would ding them for. The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable and I LOVED the shower with the oversized shower head(rain maybe), I'm not sure what it is called, but I loved the color scheme that is used.

The ambiance of the hotel is what I would modern vintage, if that makes sense. You can tell that it is an older building, but I don't mean that in a bad way. I would say old Hollywood glamour meets south beach--very beautiful.

If you are wanting to do a Sobe vacation, book The Hotel. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Overall had a very nice stay at this hotel. it was very clean and they offered us complimentary drinks which was lovely. The staff was very nice and helpful. Except sometimes it felt forced and were pushy about doing certain things. When we would ask for suggestions for dinner just because we wanted to walk around and decide, they would INSIST and make reservations when we said no were okay. It made us feel as if their getting kick backs or something from the restaurant. Also they were a little pushy about doing tours or certain things in miami. It made it feel uncomfortable when we would said no really we don't want to do that. Other than that the employees were very nice. Also the food was awesome! We had sandwiches by the pool that were amazing. And the alcoholic drinks were not overpriced which is always a plus when you're at a hotel.

MY BIGGEST CONCERN was that money was stolen from my room by the maid service. I had cash in a bag as an emergency stash which I never needed to go to. Then when checking out that cash was gone. When I told the front desk their reaction was well why didn't you use a safe? to me thats an awful response I am in a very expensive and well rated hotel I shouldn't feel I NEED to use a safe. Further it was not thousands of dollars where I would take the precaution. The managers of the hotel did come to speak to us and handled it professionally, which was much appreciated. HOWEVER they didn't offer us a single thing. When cash is stolen from your room I thought they should have taken care of our charges to the room, or even a complimentary dinner on them or a drink, or EVEN a deal like stay on us for free in the future or at a discount. i don't care what but they should've offered SOMETHING. Also the head of the maintenance just responded something like "OH NO WASN"T US NO NO NO", and in my head I'm thinking how do you know that? And why would I lie? So I was quite disappointed that I couldn't trust the staff and they did not try to do anything to compensate me for my loss.

I would recommend this hotel but it is VERY clean, the staff is nice, the food is good, but I would advise if you don't want to be pushed to make reservations or do certain things don't go to the concierge and ALWAYS USE THE SAFE.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an awesome time from the arrival to the departure. Everyone caters to your needs from the front desk to house keeping and the people at the roof top where the pools at. I really would recommend to outsiders and friends. Be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 7th to 11th of August. On arrival we were greeted with iced water as we waited to check in. The concierge was wonderful.

It is located 1-2 minutes stroll from ocean drive. The rooftop pool is lovely and has the added bonus of vouchers for the hotels cocktail was a nice touch. There is also complementary loungers and towels on the beach for hotel guests.

The rooms are small but the beds are comfy and the shower room is very good.

They state that wifi is available everywhere on the premises but for us it never appeared available when in our room, only in the lobby or at the rooftop area.

All in all a nice hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The staff at The Hotel have been so attentive and amazing with me and my mom. From the staff in the front including Alexa, Mila, John to the upstairs pool area to the housekeeping staff everyone is wonderful. Thanks for making our stay memorable and we will definitely be making this our new south beach mainstay. -Mrs. Rivera and Mrs. Gonzalez.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the minute we walked in, we felt at home. The staff was consistently friendly and interested in being sure that we had what we needed and happy to make recommendations (all of which were great except the bus tour which was just plain HOT... yeah, I know it's Florida.) They upgraded our room without our asking and that room was wonderful. Housekeeping came in twice a day (the second to be sure we had dry towels).
While expensive, be sure to eat at Grazie and if you are looking for something to do with kids or just want a really entertaining adventure, go to Hector's for a jet-ski adventure. Hector himself is worth the cost.
Many thanks to the staff. We'll be back.

Room Tip: While the room we had was on the Collins Avenue side, and thus subject to late night partiers, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.