We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid 4-star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking + 15% Off
Ranked #14 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A solid 4-star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I spent 5 nights at The Hotel with my mom. It is a friendly hotel with a warm atmosphere.

Reception staff: We felt welcome from the moment we arrived because the guy who checked us in talked to us, like whether it was our first time in Miami, and he made sure we got the room we wanted. He even showed us the room we had booked and one caregory higher because we had requested a king size bed. So already at check-in, we were treated as valued guests. No one at The Hotel just did their job, but always a bit more.

Concierge: In my job as a flight attendant I have seen many 4- and 5-star hotels around the world, and this Concierge called John was one of my favorite because he really knows it all.

Housekeeping: once the hotel ran out of small towels, so the housekeeper came by again in the evening with the missing towels and cleaned the whole bathroom again.

Check-out: we appreciated being served two complimentary glasses of water with ice and lemon while waiting for a taxi to the airport.

Self-parking: not a hassle at all. No need for valet.

I would maybe stay at this hotel again. I loved the colors of the rooms, the beds and the staff. But it is quite far from Lincoln Road. And because there are so many beautiful hotels in Miami Beach, I think I want to try out some of the others as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your very detailed and nice review!! We really appreciate it.
We are very glad you had such a nice stay. Our team will love to see you again.
Whenever you decide to come back, please let us know. Contact us through our reservations dept or directly through me. We will be delighted to continue extending our service to such special guests.

Have an amazing day, for you and your mom.

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Manager at The Hotel of South Beach - naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    303
    70
    39
    9
See reviews for
75
482
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel surpassed my expectations. They have an amazingly courteous staff.
The staff goes above and beyond to make sure guests are happy. The pool bartenders, especially Lares and Miro, provided exceptional service and delicious frozen drinks. Dirty Bananas!!! The Sunday night bartender at Wish, the hotel bar, had a wonderful sense of humor. We only meant to grab a cocktail there but ended up spending the evening there instead. Wonderful! David, Daniel, Christian and the others in the lobby and at the door gave excellent customer service and recommended wonderful places during our South Beach stay. They even set us up with great cabana massages for four at the rooftop pool for our Bachelorette Party.
Honestly, I'm a beach person but spent almost every day at the pool because of the staff there.
The rooms were clean and spacious. The location was ideal, one block from the beach. And the food at the hotel was delicious. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely visit again.
They made my stay worth every penny!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel for two nights, in a Designer Room. The room was nice and cleane and the staff friendly. The concierge, John Durham, was most helpful with suggestions on what do see and do, where to eat and shop. Big thumbs up! Would we stay here again? Sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel in Miami Beach for two nights and had a wonderful time. We reserved a standard grade room. It was a comfortable size with a king size bed, a desk, a dresser, and nice roller cabinet with flat screen on top and glassware and stocked beverage refrigerator. The bathroom was updated and the shower was great.
The pool area was wonderful, comfortable, and quiet, with a full bar. Lounge chairs are set up around the pool with covers and towels. One evening they had a bar-b-q by the pool. A very nice set up.
THE best part of the stay was the people who worked at The Hotel. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The folks that work around the front desk, the concierge, and bellmen were so gracious. Every time you exited the elevator or arrived back at the hotel they wanted to help with suggestions. If you need help with restaurants, shopping, or anything else, they will make excellent recommendations. Trust them! And when you get back they will ask you if you enjoyed yourself and hat did you order. Almost like family.
The charge for valet parking is $28 per day, kind of the going rate in SOBE. They also have a loyalty program you can sign up to after you have stayed with them once. It will provide you with upgraded rooms at no cost. If we are headed back to SOBE we will happily stay at The Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I reside in Fort Lauderdale but stayed one night at The Hotel, formerly The Tiffany, to spend time with friends from out of town who were also staying there. I was immediately impressed at check-in by the warm welcome from the staff and the follow-up phone call I received from the front desk about 30 minutes later to see if there was anything I needed.

I'm happy to report that my overall impression is very positive. My room was spacious, clean and stylishly decorated. The cushioned bench underneath the window was a nice touch. The rooftop pool area is beautiful and I loved the retro ambience that permeates throughout The Hotel thanks to designer Todd Oldham. The Hotel is in a great location just around the corner from The News Cafe, Ocean Drive and the beach. A special added bonus is that the nightly rate includes a lounge chair on the beach which is about an $18 savings.

Parking in SoBe can be very pricey but I managed to find a reasonable overnight rate of only $20 just one block away at the 7th St. public garage. The Hotel offers valet parking ($28/nt) for those who have more than an overnight bag and/or wish to come and go frequently.

A few slight negatives (and the reason I'm not giving The Hotel a 5 star rating) were that the hallways were very darkly lit in an eerie kind of way, both the Spire Bar and Wish Restaurant were closed and the window in my room had an opaque film on it which prevented any view to the outside (probably to conceal a poor view). I suspect that if I'd spoken up about the lack of view, the staff would have been happy to accommodate me in another room but I didn't feel it was worth mentioning since I was only staying one night and wouldn't be spending much time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siler City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay at South Beach; The Hotel was excellent. The room was clean, great service, the parking attendant met us out on the street to unload and park the car, loved the bathroom, free WiFi, great location and the rooftop pool and bar were awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very professional and accommodating. The hotel was chic, with beatiful colors in the room and a comfortable bed. Great location, just steps away from all the fun. I booked using their website, they have a great deal if you book in advance. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, Manager at The Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Our intention is to always leave our guests with the best feelings and great memories ever!
You can always contact us directly or book through our website as you did. Our great deals and promotions feature good discounts and values added!
Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Nara Azevedo, Sales Mgr, The Hotel of South Beach
naraa@goldmanproperties.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.