We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls and space at the bottom of the door” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking + 15% Off
Ranked #16 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paper thin walls and space at the bottom of the door”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Pretty terrible night's sleep. Staff were nice but the hotel was so noisy that couldn't sleep. Good location but not worth the price we paid. It does have interesting design but doesn't get right the main thing, somewhere to sleep.

Room Tip: Don't take 314 as it is also by a noisy laundry chute, suggest top floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    323
    72
    39
    11
See reviews for
78
528
59
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swift Current, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and i, mid 60's, stayed 4 nights at The Hotel South Beach prior to a cruise. We we met upon arrival by concierge and assisted to registration and then to our room. Everyone in the front of hotel were super friendly and helpful. Restautant is under new management and was very very good - waiter was friendly and lots of fun. Morning breakfast was excellent. We booked some tours through the concierge prior to our arrival and everything was 100% On checkout, they helped us by calling our car service to make sure they were coming. We would definitely stay again - room was clean, quiet, comfortable and all staff were great. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our second visit to The Hotel. I usually don't like to go the same place twice on vacation, but our experience last year was so great that I didn't hesitate to book here again.

I booked directly through the hotel website this time and signed up for the free Gold card. The card got us a discount on our room, and it also got us a complimentary breakfast for two every morning.

We checked in around noon, and our room wasn't ready until 2 PM. 3 PM is the check-in time, so that was not a problem. It was well worth the wait, because we were upgraded from a queen bed with no view to a king bed that had a big bay window overlooking Ocean Drive and the beach. This is a pretty big deal, because as with most South Beach boutique hotels, most of the rooms in this hotel just face another hotel. We were very thankful to the staff for this upgrade, it made for a very romantic trip to have such a wonderful room.

The hotel staff was very friendly as usual, and the housekeeping staff did a great job. The public areas of the hotel are maintained beautifully, and are also very clean. We didn't use the elevator on our last visit because we were on the first floor. This time, we were on a higher floor. There is one elevator, and it is not state-of-the-art. We once spent nearly five minutes getting from the third floor to the lobby because it kept going back up and down for the hotel staff. I would recommend that if you are able bodied and not carrying luggage, use the stairs whenever you can. There's nothing the hotel can do about this, it's to be expected in an older building.

This hotel gives each guest a complimentary chair and towel on the beach. The company that provides the chairs gives great service, and this amenity is a major draw for me as well.

One blemish on the trip was when we tried to bring some sandwiches from the deli across the street up to the pool so we could eat outside. A waiter quickly approached us and told us that only food ordered from the hotel restaurant was allowed at the pool, and that we would have to return to our room or leave the hotel to eat. It's one thing not to allow any food at the pool, it's another to only allow food from the hotel. There's obviously no other reason for such a policy other than to make a few extra bucks. The funniest part is that the sandwiches were from a deli where the hotel gold card gives you a 10% discount. Why would you encourage guests to eat somewhere else if you want them to eat at the hotel restaurant so badly? Aside from that little tangent, this was still a five star trip, I'm not the type to let a grumpy waiter spoil my fun.

Beautiful hotel, great people, great location, great service.

Room Tip: Get the gold card on the hotel website, this seems to give you a better chance of an upgrade. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Hotel is a four-floor boutique hotel that gets by on location and an attentive staff more than opulence and flash.

- Rooms are tight but unique, limited views in many and not lush or overly comfy. Good value for the price thought.

- Pool area is small and can get congested. Nice set-up, good use of space however.

- Restaurant and bar are high-end and cool. Nice wine list, above average selection by the glass. Food is good+ with a creative menu and fine service.

- Location puts you right in the middle of it all on Ocean. If you want peace and quiet stay elsewhere. if you want to be where the action is, you're in a great spot.

- Staff cares, really works hard to greet you, take an interest and accommodate your requests. Top shelf people.

- I'd stay again if budget was a consideration (it was this time as I was with several people for multiple nights) and wanted to be in the middle of the entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for one night at the start of a two week tour of Florida
Classic Miami South Beach -
Small clean and comfortable rooms
Good service
Central location for all the happenings on South Beach
Highlight is the pool on the roof, great views and very warm, perfect to get rid of the jet lag
Would recommend at no more than 200 USD per night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very well situated one over from Ocean (very busy) and one shy of Washington (slightly sleazy),a bijou, well appointed hotel with staff to complement the surroundings....Chef Luca and Esteban, take a bow!
The room was a good size, comfy bed and flyscreens as well as blinds, nice size bathroom and fantastic roof-top pool and bar!
Good value for money in an expensive part of the U.S.

Only downside was the toilet overflowing (once), got to the stopcock in time and the response from housekeeping (at 5am) was very swift!

p.s.all of SoBe seems to deem it ok to put a service charge of 18% on all your bills, with sales tax you need to add a quarter on to the listed price for, food, drink etc!!

Room Tip: corner rooms have more windows so more light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Hotel was clean and centrally located to everywhere and anything that you could possibly want to do or go in walking distance. The Staff was friendly and very responsive to my needs. I enjoyed returning back to the hotel each evening, they made me feel like family. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.