We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Room and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and i, mid 60's, stayed 4 nights at The Hotel South Beach prior to a cruise. We we met upon arrival by concierge and assisted to registration and then to our room. Everyone in the front of hotel were super friendly and helpful. Restautant is under new management and was very very good - waiter was friendly and lots of fun. Morning breakfast was excellent. We booked some tours through the concierge prior to our arrival and everything was 100% On checkout, they helped us by calling our car service to make sure they were coming. We would definitely stay again - room was clean, quiet, comfortable and all staff were great. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    393
    80
    42
    16
See reviews for
95
650
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our second visit to The Hotel. I usually don't like to go the same place twice on vacation, but our experience last year was so great that I didn't hesitate to book here again.

I booked directly through the hotel website this time and signed up for the free Gold card. The card got us a discount on our room, and it also got us a complimentary breakfast for two every morning.

We checked in around noon, and our room wasn't ready until 2 PM. 3 PM is the check-in time, so that was not a problem. It was well worth the wait, because we were upgraded from a queen bed with no view to a king bed that had a big bay window overlooking Ocean Drive and the beach. This is a pretty big deal, because as with most South Beach boutique hotels, most of the rooms in this hotel just face another hotel. We were very thankful to the staff for this upgrade, it made for a very romantic trip to have such a wonderful room.

The hotel staff was very friendly as usual, and the housekeeping staff did a great job. The public areas of the hotel are maintained beautifully, and are also very clean. We didn't use the elevator on our last visit because we were on the first floor. This time, we were on a higher floor. There is one elevator, and it is not state-of-the-art. We once spent nearly five minutes getting from the third floor to the lobby because it kept going back up and down for the hotel staff. I would recommend that if you are able bodied and not carrying luggage, use the stairs whenever you can. There's nothing the hotel can do about this, it's to be expected in an older building.

This hotel gives each guest a complimentary chair and towel on the beach. The company that provides the chairs gives great service, and this amenity is a major draw for me as well.

One blemish on the trip was when we tried to bring some sandwiches from the deli across the street up to the pool so we could eat outside. A waiter quickly approached us and told us that only food ordered from the hotel restaurant was allowed at the pool, and that we would have to return to our room or leave the hotel to eat. It's one thing not to allow any food at the pool, it's another to only allow food from the hotel. There's obviously no other reason for such a policy other than to make a few extra bucks. The funniest part is that the sandwiches were from a deli where the hotel gold card gives you a 10% discount. Why would you encourage guests to eat somewhere else if you want them to eat at the hotel restaurant so badly? Aside from that little tangent, this was still a five star trip, I'm not the type to let a grumpy waiter spoil my fun.

Beautiful hotel, great people, great location, great service.

Room Tip: Get the gold card on the hotel website, this seems to give you a better chance of an upgrade. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Hotel is a four-floor boutique hotel that gets by on location and an attentive staff more than opulence and flash.

- Rooms are tight but unique, limited views in many and not lush or overly comfy. Good value for the price thought.

- Pool area is small and can get congested. Nice set-up, good use of space however.

- Restaurant and bar are high-end and cool. Nice wine list, above average selection by the glass. Food is good+ with a creative menu and fine service.

- Location puts you right in the middle of it all on Ocean. If you want peace and quiet stay elsewhere. if you want to be where the action is, you're in a great spot.

- Staff cares, really works hard to greet you, take an interest and accommodate your requests. Top shelf people.

- I'd stay again if budget was a consideration (it was this time as I was with several people for multiple nights) and wanted to be in the middle of the entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for one night at the start of a two week tour of Florida
Classic Miami South Beach -
Small clean and comfortable rooms
Good service
Central location for all the happenings on South Beach
Highlight is the pool on the roof, great views and very warm, perfect to get rid of the jet lag
Would recommend at no more than 200 USD per night

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shields
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very well situated one over from Ocean (very busy) and one shy of Washington (slightly sleazy),a bijou, well appointed hotel with staff to complement the surroundings....Chef Luca and Esteban, take a bow!
The room was a good size, comfy bed and flyscreens as well as blinds, nice size bathroom and fantastic roof-top pool and bar!
Good value for money in an expensive part of the U.S.

Only downside was the toilet overflowing (once), got to the stopcock in time and the response from housekeeping (at 5am) was very swift!

p.s.all of SoBe seems to deem it ok to put a service charge of 18% on all your bills, with sales tax you need to add a quarter on to the listed price for, food, drink etc!!

Room Tip: corner rooms have more windows so more light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Hotel was clean and centrally located to everywhere and anything that you could possibly want to do or go in walking distance. The Staff was friendly and very responsive to my needs. I enjoyed returning back to the hotel each evening, they made me feel like family. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to departing on a cruise. Previously, we have stayed at The Loews, The Ritz, The Pelican and The Marriott. All very nice places to stay. However, we found this hotel a very enjoyable place to stay. First off, the staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful. The pool on the top floor has a great view of the ocean with friendly bartenders who kept us refreshed with wonderful concoctions.

Our room was clean, a bit small, but decorated well. Bathroom was clean with a nice shower.

Our room faced 8th Ave and we did not encounter any noise issues on a Thursday or Friday night of our stay.

The hotel is one block from the beach, one block from The News Cafe, in the middle of a good shopping area, 7 blocks from a Starbucks.

We actually arrived at 9:30 am on a Thursday and both rooms in our group were ready!!!

Concierge staff was informed and very helpful.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.