We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for South Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great value for South Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our 4 day stay at The Hotel! The location is within walking distance from all the attractions in South Beach.

Compared to other hotels in the area, The Hotel is well priced, but at the same time very clean and modern. The beach is very close and lounge chairs/towels are included in the price of the hotel (most hotels in the area charge about $25 per day).

The staff are amazing! We mentioned we were visiting for my birthday and were given vouchers for free drinks. The first night our air conditioning was making weird noises, keeping us up. We let the front desk know the next morning were moved (to an upgraded room!) within hours.

Only downside of The Hotel is that the walls are a bit thin. However, without a doubt I would stay again my next time in South Beach.

A tip - If you sign up for their Gold Membership on the website you are given complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    363
    77
    40
    15
See reviews for
87
598
66
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
morristown, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. Location is close to the beach. They provide free towel and lounge chairs on the beach. The roof top pool is a great place to while away some time. Location is one block from the madness, so you can take it or leave. South Beach is not exactly my cup of tea, but staying here made it very enjoyable. I would definitely go back here. Finally, on top of everything else I feel the cost was very fair compared to other hotels in South Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed at the property for a week. the hotel is very nice and well decorated. they kept the art deco style and truly adapted it to modern days.
The staff is very friendly and forthcoming. The location of the hotel is great and very convenient.
The parking of the hotel is very convenient.

Room Tip: do ask for a high floor and a room with a view. the rooms on the back have a blanked out window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here on golf trip with two friends. It's a superb location and such a fresh and modern hotel. Staff welcome you so well, and concierge knows his city!

Food is really good, very relaxed nothing too formal. Staff make you feel at ease and valets are great local knowledge. Rooms are exceptional.

Watch out for rooms down street, it's a few minute trek if you are expecting staying right in hotel.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms not directly in hotel, ask when booking. They are fabulous and closer to the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husbands request for his 50th birthday was to stay at South Beach, Miami in an Art Deco hotel... I chose The Hotel and it couldn't have been a better choice.
We flew in from the UK a little tired but very excited, we chose to valet park for convenience, slightly more unconventional than normal valet parking but the concierge assisted us and took our very heavy suitcases into the lobby.
Check in was very smooth, we received complimentary cocktail vouchers for my husbands birthday and I believe we received a better room than the one I booked. At check in the concierge, Esteban ( hope I spelt that correctly!) offered his services to locate a restaurant to fit our requirements.
Our room was lovely, everything we needed, the quirky bathroom was fun. The extractor was very weak and did not clear the condensation; because of this the full length mirror took a while to clear... Probably just a girl thing as I needed it!
Esteban met with us as we enjoyed cocktails at the bar, he talked through what we wanted for my husbands 50th birthday meal and then came over with several menus for us to browse. We went with his recommendation to Papa Ne Ro in Espanola Way. Esteban organised everything including a taxi , it was a perfect choice and we had a fabulous evening.
We used the pool, it's a small area and a small pool but it was lovely. The smallness and the bar helped us to meet others, so we had a great afternoon and my husband had lots of extra "happy birthday" wishes!
The hotel is very convenient to the beach, shops, cafes and restaurants; we liked The News Cafe.
We would happily return to this hotel again, we stayed mid week so we suffered no detriment by noise outside and the other guests may have tip toed around as we never even heard another door slam once!
Our room had a view of Kenneth Cole! The windows were not obscured and they opened!
I hope we can return soon and if possible I would love to share the experience with friends.
Thanks to Esteban, you made the stay even more special!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there as part of our honeymoon trip end Sep. Chose ocean view room directly above the news cafe, with terrace - no better location in South Beach. Service was great, staff always friendly, and pre-ordered champagne and flowers were delivered on time and perfectly set up. Room was clean, great design, modern bathroom, shower, and aircon working very well. Vs other reviews I have to say that the room is well isolated, noisy was no problem, despite ocean drive being live 24/7. Rooftop bar is nice in the evening for an aperitive, otherwise not a lot of people there and the restaurant was closed (disappointing as it had been highly recommended). Parking in a paring house close by worked very well - no need for paying the valet parking up charge. Overall, a fantastic week, will come again asap!!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I surprised my girlfriend for our 3 year anniversary with a trip to south beach. We are not big party people, so I had to do a lot of research to get that historical touch without having to deal with the spring break vibe. This was exactly that!

First off it's a great price, right in the middle of the pack when you compare it to other hotels in the areas. Second off it was an ideal location (and we took an art deco walking tour so we saw a lot of locations). It was right next door to the best shops in the area which was great for us. It was also very close to the beach and restaurants. Finally we loved it wasn't necessarily around all the party hotels that were making all the noise at night.

The room was perfect, we were in the Couture room and it looks exactly like the pictures on their site. Sometimes they show you a different picture, but I'm telling you it was so spot on I don't even need to post the pictures. It came with a cute window bench facing the courtyard and Kenneth Cole that my g/f loved. The room was a good size for the age of the hotel. It was also very colorful and fun, especially in the bathroom. It also has modern amenities like free WiFi and a flat screen in the room.

The Hotel itself is adorable with that classic white art deco look, but it goes even further. It has a rooftop pool that was amazing. The pool had a bar and when we first got there we were offered a glass of complementary champagne each from the hotel. The pool area has covered cabanas with leather couches that make you feel like a celebrity. The pool was a good size for a rooftop that was good for a quick dip. The best part was at the end of the roof where they put deck chairs so you had a straight shot view of the ocean. On the other side of the roof was the Tiffany sign (the original name of the hotel until they were threatened by the Tiffany's Jewelry co. so they dropped the name Tiffany but already had the sign in place and got permission to leave it.) That spot is great for views of the Miami skyline and the art deco buildings (which look even better at night lite up).

The staff was so great! The bellhop constantly talked to us and remembered things about us that it made us feel so special. Anytime we needed suggestions they were very helpful, especially when it came to making dinner reservations.

The only draw back were the thin hallway walls. The bedroom walls were very thick and kept the noise out. It is a 1930s hotel and if people are loud in the hallway you might hear it. Again we never had large amounts of noise because of how fast people made it to there rooms, but just making sure I tell you everything.

Overall this was the best part of the trip: it was historical, comfortable, centrally located, and helpful. We saw many hotels on our fabulous art deco tour and I'm telling you we would stay there every single time I go to South Beach hands down.

Room Tip: There are a limited number of beach view rooms, but even the other views are peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.