We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Location and Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I've been to Miami several times and am very particular about the hotel that I stay in; most importantly it has to be clean, close to (if not on) Ocean Drive, doesn't cost an arm and a leg, and a pool is an added bonus!

I stayed here in January with my sister and liked it so much that I'm brining my husband there before our cruise. The location is ideal, the rooms are updated and clean, and the pool upstairs isn't big but it's rooftop and you can see South Beach from your lounge chair. There is a small fitness center near the pool and there is also a facility where you can shower (if you've checked out and want to squeeze in more pool/beach time).

January isn't always super warm time of year in Miami, and if it's windy the beach maybe too chilly...which is why I like picking a hotel with a pool. The location is important because once you're near/on Ocean--you can walk to just about anywhere that you want to go. This hotel is ideal for what I'm looking for in South Beach!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    298
    69
    36
    9
See reviews for
74
475
53
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at The Hotel for 2 nights this December. I signed up for the Gold program. Great program! We had free continental breakfasts both mornings and they upgraded us to the Penthouse because we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. The penthouse is in the "older" section, but was wonderful! The pool, bar and fitness center were literally a couple steps away from our room. We had a view of the pool and the ocean. There is no resort fee like all the other hotels, the chairs on the beach were free and everyone was very helpful. The Hotel let us use the facilities (beach chairs for free and pool) after checking out. Parking at the 7th Avenue parking garage was only $15 a night through the hotel. Only bad thing was that the drinks are very pricey. We go into NYC all the time, and my hubby and I think The Hotel's drinks were pricier. But, hey you are in South Beach ~ everything is expensive. Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Join the Gold program for a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

room excellent, spacious, clean, staff very friendly and helpful. location great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Location is everything, especially in Miami. The hotel is located right off the beach - if God had chosen the location for his hotel this would be it! If that's not enough, the roof offers a fabulous pool with ocean view... so great.

Staff was friendly enough to give us free drinks in the pool because our room wasn't ready - nice and professional gesture.

The rooms was very ordinary and decorated with old furniture, from the inside this could be a bed&breakfast in any smallville across the US. I was very dissapointed with the room, and it was quite expansive.

I will not stay here again, but when I think of my stay I can't stop thinking about that pool....
(but seriously, stay somewhere else in the neigbourhood where you could get more value for your money)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our second time at THE HOTEL and once again it was amazing! This time we received complimentary breakfast which we had every day by the pool on the rooftop overlooking the ocean. The hotel is awesome, the service exceptional, the location amazing! Definitely returning back next year.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a small hotel on Collins Avenue with relatively spacious rooms, clean and with a friendly, helpful staff. It is convenient to shopping, Ocean Drive and other vacation hot spots,

Room Tip: Corner suites are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My bf and I stayed for 2 nights on Nov 26. The location of this hotel is great. It is very close to the beach and the shopping district on Collins. It takes about 15 - 20 mins to walk to Lincoln Rd.

The size of the room is considered spacious in Sobe. The room has everything we need. I love that the washroom has magnified mirror.

The staffs were super friendly. Always give us tips and advices, make sure we are taken care of which makes this hotel so much better than other hotels.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel

Address: 801 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1939, by master architect L. Murray Dixon, today the hotel encompasses 73 deluxe rooms and suites, a rooftop pool with panoramic ocean views and Spire Bar & Lounge – a chic hot spot located rooftop behind the historic Tiffany spire. The new oceanfront addition to The Hotel of South Beach offers 20 breathtaking deluxe rooms, located at 800 Ocean Drive, bringing The Hotel of South Beach’s rooms and suites down to the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Amex and Priceline so you can book your The Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Miami Beach
Miami Beach The Hotel
Hotel South Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.